$43 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
760 reviews
lovely room

Spacious room and very clean. Price was great for a Thursday night. See full review

  • kp1234
  • Aug 17, 2014
great stay

I was pleasantly surprised. Hotel rooms were very clean. Only 45 minutes from Lake Tahoe :) See full review

  • EVALUV
  • Aug 11, 2014
Holiday resort offering variety of leisure facilities in Reno-Tahoe
With $25 million in renovations underway, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe and features a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 new guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club (24 hours) and spa, headliner entertainment, exciting nightlife, Cineplex, 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.

At Grand Sierra Resort, diners can indulge on mouth-watering dishes for dinner at the award-winning steakhouse, Charlie Palmer Steak. Guests can also feast on antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes at Briscola, the family-style Italian restaurant. The Cantina offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine. The pan-Asian bistro Rim features specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand. Casual options include Elements Buffet, 2nd Street Express, Starbucks, Round Table Pizza, Port of Subs, and Cafierra. The resort also features seven bars, including a wine bar,  a country-western bar, and WET, a lounge bar featuring Happy Hour and live entertainment.

Recreation at Grand Sierra Resort & Casino includes a health spa (surcharge), bowling, golf and an amusement park that features go cart racing and miniature golf. The on-site shopping includes a variety of unique boutiques, gift shops and candy store.
Reasons To Stay
  • On-site casino, largest in northern Nevada
  • Numerous restaurants and bars on site including the lounge WET
  • Health Spa, Bowling Center and Amusement Park with go kart racing and miniature golf
  • Newest rooms in Reno
Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

This chic hotel offers the newest rooms in Reno, having 1,990 rooms, including 845 suites. Rooms at Grand Sierra Resort Casino boast ample space, stylish furniture, and sweeping views of the city. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and TV with pay-per-view movies are available in each room. Some units come with extra amenities such as mini refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, wet bar, and bathroom with walk-in closet. This property also offers connecting rooms and 178-slot RV Parking.

Dining

The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.

Things To Do
  • National automobile Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sparks Heritage Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Meadowood Mall (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Wild Island Family Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lakeridge Golf Course (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Reno Indoor Paintball (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Policies & Fees

  • The hotel charges a $10.00 resort fee which includes Wi-Fi access, in-room bottled water, access to fitness center, local calls, parking and airport transfers.
  • The hotel charges a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 USD per night. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.
  • Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older.

Pet Policy:

  1. There are designated pet floors that are only available in the entry price point, which at this time are GSR rooms only.
  2. Pets are not allowed in the GSR Summit.
  3. NON REFUNDABLE Pet fees per pet are $30 per night on weekdays and $40 per night on the weekends.
  4. All pets must visibly display the registered pet leash which requires a $25 refundable deposit upon check-in. This will be refunded upon return of the leash at check-out.
  5. The maximum weight for a pet is 50 lb, and there is a maximum of 2 pets per room.
  6. Unregistered pets will be charged a $150 non-registered pet fee in addition to the nightly pet fee.
  7. The following dog breeds are not allowed on the property: Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pincher, and Wolfdog or Wolf Hybrid.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5219 -119.7787
Area served
Reno, Nevada.
Nearby airports
Reno Tahoe International.
Area description
Lake Tahoe, World Class skiing and golfing, Nevada Art Museum, kayak park, fishing, hiking, biking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Sierra Resort Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment
Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Dining

Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.
WET
Reno's premiere ultra lounge and bar features a mixture of club ambience and the intimate lounge experience with private lounge-style seating. Featuring an irreplaceable Happy Hour, live entertainment, and handmade martinis, WET is the ultimate hotspot.
Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (760)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 760
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jlsreno
Reno, NV
Dec 3, 2013

SHANGHAIED THEN VERY DISAPPOINTED

My wife and I and a group of friends made a dinner reservation at the Grand Sierra to dine before attending a sold out concert. Reservation was made 2 days ahead. We arrived at the Briscola restaurant on time at 6 PM. We were then told that the restaurant was closed and they shuffled us over to the Grand Sierra’s high dollar restaurant, Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. We advised the hostess that we had tickets to the 8 PM show. In the next 10 minutes we were greeted by 3 waiters, had our drink orders taken and served. We ordered our meals and waited an hour for our salads, which were served without salad forks. At 7:15 PM, our entree items were no where in sight and we asked for our waiter. Fifteen minutes later with no waiter and still no food, we asked to speak to the manager. After waiting another15 minutes, we prepared to leave. On leaving the restaurant we spoke to the manager, John. He was very apologetic for the poor service, but offered no reason for the delay. We are Reno residents who dine out frequently and will never again return to this property to dine. There are many excellent casino restaurants in Reno. Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse is not one! My wife and I and a group of friends made a dinner reservation at the Grand Sierra to dine before attending a sold out concert. Reservation was made 2 days ahead. We arrived at the Briscola restaurant on time at 6 PM. We were then told that the restaurant was closed and they shuffled us over to the Grand Sierra’s high dollar restaurant, Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. We advised the hostess that we had tickets to the 8 PM show. In the next 10 minutes we were greeted by 3 waiters, had our drink orders taken and served. We ordered our meals and waited an hour for our salads, which were served without salad forks. At 7:15 PM, our entree items were no where in sight and we asked for our waiter. Fifteen minutes later with no waiter and still no food, we asked to speak to the manager. After waiting another15 minutes, we prepared to leave. On leaving the restaurant we spoke to the manager, John. He was very apologetic for the poor service, but offered no reason for the delay. We are Reno residents who dine out frequently and will never again return to this property to dine. There are many excellent casino restaurants in Reno. Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse is not one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HappyGuy
Bay Area
Jun 25, 2009

Ridiculous, the worst experience.

The staff is rude and unhelpful, lying and non-professional. I booked a non-smoking room with two double-beds. I was refused to get the non-smoking room. Plus, I had to argue for more than an hour to get a room with two double beds! (even though I ordered that). What I was offered is a room with a single bed and one rolling bed - huh? I got two double-beds after a fight. After getting the smoking room, I start to head away from the counter and overhear another clerk asking next customer if they wanted a smoking or non-smoking room - what a bunch of clowns! The smoking room I got was on the ground floor, with window overlooking outside nightclub - extreme noise level from 9pm to 4am. And then some pothead was smoking weed right outside of my room door. The room was dirty, smelly and ugly. Worst experience ever. 1 star for nice (and expensive) restaurant downstairs. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 30, 2009

Getting old but not mature

Old hotel showing signs of age everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonbonjoy
Alameda, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Just blah.

I stayed here to be able to attend a concert. The staff were great. The room was grungy and dingy. It wasn't worth the $100, more like $50. I probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanessa408
San Jose, Ca
Jul 15, 2014

4th of July Weekend

Stayed in the past with no issues. This time I arrived to be told my reservation had been cancelled. Then told it was reserved for the previous month. Ended up being resolved but the front desk person who I dealt with was horrible. Rude, though it was funny that my reservation had been "cancelled." Wouldn't give us a coupon for a magic show that was going on at the hotel. Again, never had a bad experience in the past but this time it was just one thing after the other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
msy
Sep 23, 2010

great

the beautiful view of a wall was not very appealing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockyRaccoon
Stanford
Jan 15, 2014

GSR

Charlie Palmer Steakhouse was the highlight of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Charlie Palmer's Steakhouse is incredibly good!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greeneyedlady
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 14, 2012

Gambling getaway

The food was good although there was not that much to choose from and buffet was closed one day. Place was empty. We had to go to other casinos to play poker. No night life. The staff did not leave water or soap after the room was cleaned and we had to call for towels, soap after checking in since one of our rooms had none. Toilet paper was very cheap and did not last. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Good weekend

The Hotel and room were very nice. Only complaint was Ice and vending machines on our floor did not work for the four days we were there. Hotel staff was Great and food was asume.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great tourist atractions within a 1/2 hour drive.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ricsite
Washington, DC metro area
Jun 14, 2013

A great experience!

Enjoyed the stay! A fabulous experience. A nice place to get together with family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

You'll never have to leave the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search