$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
802 reviews
The New Weekend Getaway

It was our first stay at GSR....but definitely not our last! We had so much fun. The welcome center... See full review

  • Molly B.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Great casino and stay

Great location. Friendly staff. Clean beautiful rooms. Highly recommended See full review

  • Darylr
  • Dec 8, 2014
Newest Rooms in Reno!

Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club and spa, headliner entertainment, a Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.



Featuring a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno, The Summit's 845, newly renovated suites are perched on the top eleven floors of the Grand Sierra Resort and include VIP check-in and a private elevator bank. As part of the Grand Sierra's $25 million renovation, each suite now features brand new furniture, pillow top beds, upgraded linens, spa-inspired bathrooms, signature products and a butler pantry with stainless steel appliances.

Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older

Effective August 1st, 2012 Grand Sierra Resort welcomes well-behaved pets up to 50lbs for a $50 daily fee on designated pet-friendly floors which do not include the Summit. Guests with non-registered pets will be assessed $250 cleaning fee, PLUS the applicable daily fee of $50 USD.

All room type levels have a $10.00 resort fee which includes wifi, bottled water in the room, local calls, parking and access to the fitness center Upon arrival, a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 per night is required. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Sierra Resort Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment
Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Dining

Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.
WET
Reno's premiere ultra lounge and bar features a mixture of club ambience and the intimate lounge experience with private lounge-style seating. Featuring an irreplaceable Happy Hour, live entertainment, and handmade martinis, WET is the ultimate hotspot.
Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (802)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 802
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
butterfly8900
Business
California, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Not worth the value

Stayed there for New years, the hotel didn't have any facilities,no coffeemaker, not even a microwave (neither in room nor at the floor level)! We tried to order breakfast at 10am and even that had a 50mins wait... Well, we ordered the breakfast next day and that was not good either, the orange juice tasted like it was mixed with water, omelet was undercooked and fruits were not so fresh!! Lobby restaurant had stale chicken in our chicken sandwich which we had for lunch! Even the shower was unpredictable, my spouse went for a bath and in the middle of bath the shower started pouring unusually hot water for 2mins.....it was freaking annoying!!! Wi-fi was included in resort fees ($11) but that was very very slow...to sum up we wished we could have stayed somewhere better than paying $200+ per night at this hotel...disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
papa rich
Business
kewanee ill
Mar 20, 2012

wouldn't stay again

this is the most god awful place to stay the staff was un friendly from the desk clerk when we check in to the people that were suppose to take care of you lightbulbs were missing out of the lights in our room there was no hot water in the mornings we should of move to a different hotel but we had three rooms during march maddest it would have been impossiable this place was only friendly to the locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

stay and play downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DaytonaBill
Business
Ocean Shores Washington
Dec 4, 2013

Won't stay again

Was there for 6 nights and will not stay there again was on the 23rd floor and was kids running up and down the hall and people above us beating on something moved to the 27th floor and was all night partying smoke came into the room both floors day and night staff did not care if we were there or not moved to The Peppermill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mall and Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wesson
Business
reno,Nevada
Jun 6, 2014

excellent

Everything good ,service great staff friendly excellent slots and food.comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Bad Customer Service for Disabled

We called the hotel directly the day before arriving to make sure that our room was handicapped accesible--with a roll in shower or proper shower chair. They assured us that our room would be ready. When we arrived they informed us that they had no room for us. After going through 4 Supervisors and 45 minutes of agony we still had no room and were told that it would be 2 hours until we could get our room. (We arrived at approximately 4:30) Our plan were to get ready and have dinner in their Italian restaurant and go to Reno Events for a Show scheduled to start at 8:00 p.m. My sister was with us and had her own room so we were forced to go to her room to get ready, (3 women in one bathroom). Needless to say we missed our dinner reservation and went to the event with out dining. We were in my sisters room with all of our bags when magically they left us a message that our room was ready but by that time we did not have time to transfer my daughter and our bags to our room and still make the Ron White Show. When we finally got our room in the tower it was a very nice and clean room but the shower chair they provided was not for a disabled person and I had to assist my daughter or she would of fallen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

TGIF close by--had a nice meal at reasonable price. The place had a great wait staff and gave us great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MotoMa
Business
California
Jan 9, 2011

Cheap is not always a bargain.

Girls weekend for wedding dress shopping, fun and relaxation. Dress shopping successful, fun, no...relaxation, no. Shops downstairs flooded and stinky. Old wing with peeling wallpaper, thin walls and full of squealing babies and kids through the late hours. Best things, nice casino and restaurants, comfortable beds. Worst things, mold in the shower, thin walls, horrible pillows, no coffee maker...really?, no coffee? Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining was very handy with plenty of great choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Nothing Grand about this hotel!

The hotel looks very nice from the outside and so does the lobby, however once you step inside the hotel room it's a whole different story. The carpet was dirty and so was the bathroom floor. My socks turned black just from walking around the room. Everything was dusty. The bed was VERY UNCOMFORTABLE and so were the VERY THIN pillows. I could feel the springs in my back. The pillows gave me no neck support at all and when I woke up in the morning I had a stiff and painful neck. The box spring of the bed had holes in it. The bed did not even have a fitted sheet. They simply put a sheet over the bed and when we woke up in the morning we found ourselves sleeping on the mattress. This was disgusting I immediately had to take a shower. There was definately nothing Grand about this hotel. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is away from the Reno strip. We went here for Hot August Nights and didn't have to deal with all the craziness that goes on in downtown Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 28, 2009

Terrible Customer Service

We booked 2 rooms, preferring 2 double beds vs 1 king bed for 1 night only. We were offered, 2 rooms, 1 king bed offered at check-in, OR 1 King bed + 1 double bed (but will not be ready till 4.) So we chose that, and came back at 5 to pick up the keys for it. The lines to check-in... is like waiting for space mountain at Disneyland. When we finally got to the front at 5:30, we were told that the room was not cleaned yet, and is not ready. And they do not know when it WILL be ready. (now what right?). We were offered to check back later - I am furious by now. So they offered a room with 1 king bed somewhere else on that floor.. - even more angry now. So I asked for an upgrade. We were upgraded to the Summit rooms in room number 2424, the worst possible number in the entire building if you are superstitious. Still, just one king bed. But we got a rollaway. Both the upgraded and regular room was moderately nice, acceptably clean, and spacious. Probably not worth the price you pay though. We think our room was haunted.. but we'll leave that up to you. The cleaning staff was nice. Everyone else looked like they either wanted to kill you, or themselves. I would suggest trying to get a room at one of the hotels downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Jun 21, 2011

Could Have been better.

Most activities that would be fun for older kids were only open on the weekend. It was expensive to eat or do anything at the resort. There was no coffee pot in the room and the mattress on the bed was very worn out. We didn't care for the smoke in the casino/restarunt area. It's just not a good place for a family to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat some place else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ex travel agent mom
Business
colton, california
Jul 7, 2012

Family getaway

The picture is so deceitful. We got a very standard room with dump capet. Found Many leftover linen from laundry in the blanket. No fridge or microwave. I paid extra to have small old fridge in the room. I think with a little bit more buck, I can get a better room in other room. Staff also not friendly. When I asked for fridge, the lady in housekeeping dept. Explained the charge of rent with no friendly manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The show viva la cirque is great show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top