$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
814 out of 814
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Mom 2003
Family
East Bay, California
Mar 17, 2014

Family Friendly

Rooms are well equipped with mini fridge and microwave. Best was super Wal-Mart across the hotel. So don't go spending money in restaurants if you don't mind buying stuff and warming it in the microwave. but overall if your with family this is a good place to go. But mind you rooms are being renovated which it don't say online. Don't have much channels for kids to watch only cartoon network..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr.Don
Business
Seattle
Mar 26, 2014

smelled cigarette smoke all night

So much for a non-smoking room. I still woke up frequently overnight to the smell of cigarette smoke. Bulb in lamp on bed was burned out - left note for housekeeping and nothing happened. Discarded items from a previous guest were on the floor under the desk and in the closet. Stopper in bathroom sink could not be closed so the sink could only be filled with water by plugging with a washcloth. Wish there had been a Best Western within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe and Sandy
Couples
Boise, Idaho
Apr 8, 2014

Wedding & R&R

We were on the 12 floor, walking in we loved how spacious the room was. I loved the deco, looked like it needed another piece of furniture or something. Didn't look finished.There wasn't any body wash & when we asked for some housekeeping said, they only put it in the higher level rooms. The hand & face towels looked very worn. The lighting in the bathroom and the room itself was terrible. In the evening the space closes to the window was dark. It needed a floor lamp or ceiling lights. We made the bast of it & had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveltime22
Couples
Michigan, USA
Oct 18, 2011

okay

Whole hotel quite smokey- even my non smoking room. Restaurants were very good as well as all the wait staff that we encountered. Bed was comfy, old tv, old worn out furnishings, bathroom not updated, no coffee maker... overall disappointed with the room. The strip if Reno is a $10 cab ride away- not walking distance. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ Johnson
Couples
Tacoma, WA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Comps

Well lets see how I can put this the Hotel was beautifull but the prices were high to eat. The comps were slim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cal neva for breakfest or The eldorado for comps

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
56GMC
Family
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

First time at the GSR

I liked that there were a lot of restaurant choices. The room had comfortable beds and a great view of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Starbucks is a great way to start the morning. Roundtable pizza is our favorite.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanK
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 9, 2012

Good value

Pretty good overall. I was there on business, so didn't spend time in casino other than watching bands perform. They were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnRomer
Single
Reno, NV, USA
Jan 31, 2012

An average place at best...

I would like to tell you that the reviews I read for this hotel were not good. They stated a lot a problems with staff. However it was my personal experience that the problem was not the staff but the hotel. The hotel is old and very very dirty. So when you do get a room please keep in mind you will probably be staying in with couple of spiders and you should probably ask for new sheets and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ECSIV
Family
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Furniture Missing

My wife and I upgraded to a suite so we had extra room to accommodate family members stopping by to visit. Upon entering the room, there was a bed, two small chairs, TV and nothing else. It was a big room, but a couch and desk were obviously missing. We called the front desk, but were told all rooms were sold out and there was nothing they could do. To make matters worse, the room next to us was the location of a loud party. Calls to the front desk were met with assurances that the party would be broken up. After the third call (at 2 a.m.), we gave up on getting any sleep. I guess we expected more with this hotel. The upgrades were not worth it and we were very disappointed with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a break from the smokey casino, take a short walk along the Truckee River, which is located right next to the hotel.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olle52
Single
Columbia, KY 42728, USA
Apr 3, 2012

nice hotel

The location and in general a good place to stay. the registration desk needs people that will help guest a little more in as far as requests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top