$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
838 out of 838
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
straydog
Business
minnesota
Dec 28, 2010

mad in the morning

not a bad place my room was large and clean but well used. the one thing that might not get me to stay there again is when i woke up in the morning i discovered there was no coffee pot, my room was almost to the end of the hall so it was a long walk to the elevator which i didnt mind till i needed coffee, to get my morning coffee i had to get in a line at the in house starbucks that was so long it went far into the lobby. Needless to say it was an ok visit but if i have to go threw that to get a lousy cup of coffee when i get out of bed i can take my busness elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
silver
Business
Turlock, ca
Jun 8, 2011

Getaway

the service at one of the restaurants was horrible, and room service took an hour when we were told 35 min. Food was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bombay Jimmy
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Grand Sierra Resort

My stay at GSR was average at best. My room was semi-clean, but there was mold in the grout of the shower. The shower was an annoying dribble-shower, so good luck rinsing the shampoo out of your hair. Limited channels on the TV; plus no complimentary coffee pot; no in-room microwave or fridge and no in-room safe either (which I found really odd at a casino). If you're not gambling the place is going to nickel and dime you to death. Since there is not a coffee pot in your room you be forced to order room service at close to $12 for an 8 cup pot of coffee OR you'll have to leave your room and go down to the main floor and buy a cup of coffee there. If you're not gambling a beer at the bar will cost you $4+. I also found the restaurants and the buffet REALLY expensive when compared to other casinos in the Reno area. The pool area is also expensive and kind of chaotic (not a real good place to relax). I order 2 Diet Cokes while pool side and it cost $4.50 for 2 cups of ice with a dash of soda. There are probably nicer casino/hotels in the Reno area that are a better value when it comes to food, drink and entertainment. I know there is, because I left GSR on a few of the nights that I was there. I spent my money elsewhere AND I got a much better value for my dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to another restaurant or casino for dinner. You'll get better food at a better price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveltime22
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 18, 2011

okay

Whole hotel quite smokey- even my non smoking room. Restaurants were very good as well as all the wait staff that we encountered. Bed was comfy, old tv, old worn out furnishings, bathroom not updated, no coffee maker... overall disappointed with the room. The strip if Reno is a $10 cab ride away- not walking distance. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ Johnson
Business
Tacoma, WA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Comps

Well lets see how I can put this the Hotel was beautifull but the prices were high to eat. The comps were slim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cal neva for breakfest or The eldorado for comps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
56GMC
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

First time at the GSR

I liked that there were a lot of restaurant choices. The room had comfortable beds and a great view of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Starbucks is a great way to start the morning. Roundtable pizza is our favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanK
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 9, 2012

Good value

Pretty good overall. I was there on business, so didn't spend time in casino other than watching bands perform. They were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnRomer
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Jan 31, 2012

An average place at best...

I would like to tell you that the reviews I read for this hotel were not good. They stated a lot a problems with staff. However it was my personal experience that the problem was not the staff but the hotel. The hotel is old and very very dirty. So when you do get a room please keep in mind you will probably be staying in with couple of spiders and you should probably ask for new sheets and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ECSIV
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Furniture Missing

My wife and I upgraded to a suite so we had extra room to accommodate family members stopping by to visit. Upon entering the room, there was a bed, two small chairs, TV and nothing else. It was a big room, but a couch and desk were obviously missing. We called the front desk, but were told all rooms were sold out and there was nothing they could do. To make matters worse, the room next to us was the location of a loud party. Calls to the front desk were met with assurances that the party would be broken up. After the third call (at 2 a.m.), we gave up on getting any sleep. I guess we expected more with this hotel. The upgrades were not worth it and we were very disappointed with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a break from the smokey casino, take a short walk along the Truckee River, which is located right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olle52
Business
Columbia, KY 42728, USA
Apr 3, 2012

nice hotel

The location and in general a good place to stay. the registration desk needs people that will help guest a little more in as far as requests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top