$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
856 out of 856
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 30, 2009

Getting old but not mature

Old hotel showing signs of age everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Jul 20, 2007

Staff Don't Care

I wasn't able to sleep with roller coaster sound coming from elevators. I was there for a one night stay over,so sleep before my 10:00am meeting was important.A room change at 2:00 or 3:00am didn't seem like it would of given' me any more sleep,just more stress.The worst part came at check out.When I mention my problem to the front desk agent, his tone was one of indifference. He offered no apology and only said Oh ya the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weary road traveler tg
Business
reno
Jun 24, 2014

road warrior

Dirty room and requested king bed wasn't' even a queen size. Cannot rate this better than 3 star at best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Charlie Palmer Steak House excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kidsnthings
Business
Orange County ca
Jul 8, 2014

Hotel needs a lot of attention.

I paid for an upgraded renovated room. The first room we were placed in had an air conditioning unit that didn't work. The next room we were put in had old very poor quality mattresses. One bed had a mattress that was concave in the center. The furniture was very banged up. I was surprised that these newly renovated rooms were in such poor condition. I spoke with the front desk manager many times. She didn't do a whole lot to accommodate us. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cheloni
Business
johannesburg
Sep 4, 2014

Dirty room and hotel staff didnt care

Room wasn't clean when we checked in. Sheets had blood stains, blankets were dirty, towels had green stuff stuck on them on the corners. The bathtub was clogged and took 45 minutes for someone to unclogg it. Every year i have stayed there it keeps going further downhill...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mcarp
Business
Nevada
Oct 2, 2014

Not impressed

Reserved a room with King bed. Arrived at 4 PM, desk clerk stated there were no king rooms ready. When asked when they would be ready, clerk said we will put a rush on it and should be about 45 mins. Stated they would call when ready. Gave them my phone number and double checked they had the correct number. 1 !/2 hours later, no phone call. Went back to the desk and 4 clerks standing around deciding on who was going to go on break. Interrupted them and asked if my room was ready. One clerk checked at said yea its ready. The mattress in the room was one of the worst I've slept on in a hotel in a very long time. Comforter was thin. Bathroom door was very hard to close and open, needed adjustment. Definitely not worth the cost of a weekend night. However on a positive note..did win $100 on a slot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jenn was there
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 8, 2014

Wished I would have stayed somewhere else

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. The hotel was average and reeked of smoke in the lobby. Our room was large, but the decor was very dark, especially in the bathroom. We did use the spa, which was nice. We ate at the steakhouse in the hotel and for it to be ranked so highly we thought it would have been good. Two entries, two sides, and $100 later we were less than impressed with the food or the price. That night the AC didn't work properly in our room. We called and the staff said the AC units are old and need updating. Needless to say it was a hot night in the room. I would not chose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelin man 1
Business
lakewood, ca
Dec 31, 2013

nice hotel for the money

Nice rooms. Loved the driving range over the water with targets. Bring your clubs to play a game of virtual golf downstairs. Waiting in line for 45 minutes to check in was not good, nor the 60 min. Wait for the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Virginia city is a great day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cpharris1
Business
Denver Co
Jan 5, 2014

Holiday Travel

Overall the Sierra is trying to do a good job. My reservation was not in the system at checkin. Then they gave me an overflow room that had never been occupied before their renovation and furniture was missing. They did waive the daily hotel fee. More kids than I have ever seen in a casino. Food prices were expensive. 9 dollars for pancakes with fruit. The price was right thru online booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the dancing blackjack dealers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dufftastic
Business
New York, New York
Jan 11, 2014

Casino Hotels are Cheap, Noisy

For around $30 a night, I can't complain about my experience at Grand Sierra, but I knew what I was getting into. Casino hotels are always cheap, but if you don't gamble, don't expect an upgrade... or a mini-fridge, or for the lingering stink of cigarettes and disinfectant to ever fully dissipate. Grand Sierra is super close to the airport, has plenty of parking, and the beds are comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top