$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
898 out of 898
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KEtraveler
Business
Redmond, OR
May 29, 2014

Disappointed

We were very disappointed in our stay at the Grand Sierra. We were told we were given the last king bedroom, probably a room at the discount price we paid through this site. Our room was the very last room on the 3rd floor. It was suppose to be a nonsmoking room, but it smelled so heavily of stale cigarette smoke it was hard to believe it had ever been a nonsmoking room. The bathroom wasn't very clean, particularly around the toilet and the electrical outlet had a coating of dirt on it. No bath mat and no place to hang towels. Loud music, we assumed from the pool area, went on too late into the night and we woke up much too early to what I assumed was construction noise. It seems at a hotel that type of noise shouldn't be going on as early as 6:30 a.m. The staff was friendly enough and check-in and check-out was speedy. We enjoyed a fun dinner at Johnny Rockets-yummy hamburgers and malts and very friendly staff. Despite those positives, they are not enough for us to return to the Grand Sierra. A good night's sleep in a clean, pleasant smelling room is more important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Run749
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 4, 2014

A near miss

The remodel here is pretty well done, but there a few problems that keep this from being an acceptable hotel. The sheets do not fit the beds, so the mattress covers and mattresses were exposed on both queen beds in our room. That's pretty tacky. The front desk was ALWAYS understaffed, so just trying to get a key that worked in my door, which was a problem 3 times, took 20 minutes of standing in line to get a new key. ALL of the restaurants in the hotel were disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GandCm
Business
Australians
Jul 26, 2009

Dont Bother. Try somewhere else. Theives

Where do I start. 1. Non smoking room STANK of old smoke. Clearly non smoking room not enforced or its in the air con. Putrid. 2. Room complimentaries not changed day 2.?! No new body wash, shampoo etc. Cheap A*%e even for good price. 3. Tiny area for no smokers - a bit like weeing in a pool & not expecting urine to spread the urine to rest of pool. 4. DOGS & Children everywhere. Cafes, poker areas, foyers.... everywhere. Disgusting. 5. Pulled $100.04 out of poker machine which printed .04c receipt. Basically told it was our problem even if they review CCTV and find culprit. No comps or refund offered. Staff RUDE (Hispanic pokie mechanic said to me when I asked about cameras; "Oh really, I never noticed that Miss..." NEVER EVER WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS STINKY PLACE. RESEARCH AND FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE CHEAPER AND FAIRER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sunnyvale, CA
Jan 4, 2010

used to be great

this used to be our great place to stay, good rates when avaible, great pool in the summer, in the casino they used to have a good filtration system for smoke and now a extra 10$ a day per room "Resort Fee" for two bottles of fiji water and use of the fitness center which we did not use and wifi we do not use. the old rooms have the worst beds my body ached by the third night! carpet was worn and stained and i can't understand why a big place like this has horrible tv channel selections we will not be going back to this place time for a new one. wine bar has bottles with no descriptions and the person working there Pleese! stick with beer! no coffee pot in room as well as no refridg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, fl
Jul 10, 2011

Wouldn't go barefoot in the bathroom

Probably a good place for bachelor parties. Hall smelled like urine. Our bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned. Could use a good paint job. Beds were comfortable and and the staff was very pleasant. It did have great night life and many differt types of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great pool with beach. Fun for golfers. Pet friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato,Ca
Mar 25, 2010

4 star hotel-NO coffee pot in the room

I was there with 18 family member to celebrate my Mothers 80th birthday and tried our luck on card game and slot machine. We had dinner at briscoli and the food were not good at all. We had TOUGH VEAL PORTERHOUSE, BLAND DUCK BREAST, BUFFU?, CHICKEN PARMESAN WITH UNMELTED RUBBERIZED CHEESE ON TOP, THE CONFUSED RABBIT AND LUKE WARM SOUP. There were other food that the family ordered but I never heard anyone rave about any of the food. And YES! no coffee pot in the room. Even cheap Motels have coffee pot in the room. Sorry, but most people and me like Hot coffee in the morning before anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 17, 2007

Big disappointment

This hotel us undergoing major rennovation. They are now selling Condos at this property. Some of the rooms are still under rennovation, so the room that I was put in was lacking some of the ammenitites. As for the pool area...it is leased by an outside company, and has loud music and topless dancers on Friday and Saturday nights, So it mainly caters to young adults in their 20's. I actually saw a picture someone had took of one of the topless dancers. The hotel cannot enforce anything as they do not run the pool. Henceforth, not a place to bring young children. If you are looking for a place to relax by the pool, do not stay at the Grand Sierra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Noisy room

This was our first time staying at Grand Sierra Resort. The public areas are much nicer and still undergoing renovations. The problem was the noise from the pool party. This party is ongoing on Friday and Saturday nights and lasts until 4 am. We came during Hot August Nights so the hotel was full. On Thur and Fri night we were on the 15th floor facing the pool area. Don't be fooled by the distance to the pool, the music was so loud in our room that we couldn't fall asleep until it stopped after 4 am. On Saturday morning I went to the front desk and complained to a supervisor. ( I wasn't the only one down there complaining, they had their hands full) They moved us into a studio condo for Sat and Sun nights. The condos do not face the pool area. Beware a lot of the standard rooms face the pool area. The bedding in the standard room leaves a lot to be desired. On the king bed there are 3 very small pillows that are very hard. On Fri morning I called housekeeping and asked for 2 more pillows, soft ones if possible. They did bring two more pillows, 1 was softer and 1 was the same as the ones on the bed both the same small size. Bedding was much more comfortable in condo. Big fluffy pillows, down comforter and pillow top mattress cover. We will not stay there again and chance getting a bad room, not worth the risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coit Tower
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 10, 2014

Needs just a little more

This was our second stay with GSR and we really wanted to like GSR but it just misses the wow factor. First of all, the bed was not comfortable at all and gave us a bad back the next day. Bathroom's dark brown granite gave it a spooky feel with the dim lighting, and the noisy bathroom fan didn't help the situation. Left a note and a generous tip for the housekeeper to leave more towels and tissue and took the tip but didn't bring the requested items. Dined at Charlie Palmer's and found the food and service to be excellent. Next day, we dined at the Grand Cafe and the food came cold and service was okay; waitress was overworked and restaurant was short-staffed. Therefore, the open-faced turkey sandwich was served cold and gravy gelatinous. Overall GSR is an okay place to stay but could improve some aspects to make it into a wow status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Charley Palmer's is an excellent dining choice and the service is top notch. If you can, ask for Angelina and Erweyn to be your servers, they are awesome! Both are very professional, attentive without being overbearing and were very knowledgeable about the food and menu. They made our Anniversary dinner very special and memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chowchilla, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Won't Recommend

Way over priced for a room with a stained carpet, beds falling apart, sheets didn't fit bed, pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Took my child so he'd have something to do. $14 for he was able to bowl two games.. the game room was a joke. He received tickets and the prizes were even a bigger joke. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pinecone has a good buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top