$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
803 out of 803
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato,Ca
Mar 25, 2010

4 star hotel-NO coffee pot in the room

I was there with 18 family member to celebrate my Mothers 80th birthday and tried our luck on card game and slot machine. We had dinner at briscoli and the food were not good at all. We had TOUGH VEAL PORTERHOUSE, BLAND DUCK BREAST, BUFFU?, CHICKEN PARMESAN WITH UNMELTED RUBBERIZED CHEESE ON TOP, THE CONFUSED RABBIT AND LUKE WARM SOUP. There were other food that the family ordered but I never heard anyone rave about any of the food. And YES! no coffee pot in the room. Even cheap Motels have coffee pot in the room. Sorry, but most people and me like Hot coffee in the morning before anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 17, 2007

Big disappointment

This hotel us undergoing major rennovation. They are now selling Condos at this property. Some of the rooms are still under rennovation, so the room that I was put in was lacking some of the ammenitites. As for the pool area...it is leased by an outside company, and has loud music and topless dancers on Friday and Saturday nights, So it mainly caters to young adults in their 20's. I actually saw a picture someone had took of one of the topless dancers. The hotel cannot enforce anything as they do not run the pool. Henceforth, not a place to bring young children. If you are looking for a place to relax by the pool, do not stay at the Grand Sierra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Noisy room

This was our first time staying at Grand Sierra Resort. The public areas are much nicer and still undergoing renovations. The problem was the noise from the pool party. This party is ongoing on Friday and Saturday nights and lasts until 4 am. We came during Hot August Nights so the hotel was full. On Thur and Fri night we were on the 15th floor facing the pool area. Don't be fooled by the distance to the pool, the music was so loud in our room that we couldn't fall asleep until it stopped after 4 am. On Saturday morning I went to the front desk and complained to a supervisor. ( I wasn't the only one down there complaining, they had their hands full) They moved us into a studio condo for Sat and Sun nights. The condos do not face the pool area. Beware a lot of the standard rooms face the pool area. The bedding in the standard room leaves a lot to be desired. On the king bed there are 3 very small pillows that are very hard. On Fri morning I called housekeeping and asked for 2 more pillows, soft ones if possible. They did bring two more pillows, 1 was softer and 1 was the same as the ones on the bed both the same small size. Bedding was much more comfortable in condo. Big fluffy pillows, down comforter and pillow top mattress cover. We will not stay there again and chance getting a bad room, not worth the risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coit Tower
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 10, 2014

Needs just a little more

This was our second stay with GSR and we really wanted to like GSR but it just misses the wow factor. First of all, the bed was not comfortable at all and gave us a bad back the next day. Bathroom's dark brown granite gave it a spooky feel with the dim lighting, and the noisy bathroom fan didn't help the situation. Left a note and a generous tip for the housekeeper to leave more towels and tissue and took the tip but didn't bring the requested items. Dined at Charlie Palmer's and found the food and service to be excellent. Next day, we dined at the Grand Cafe and the food came cold and service was okay; waitress was overworked and restaurant was short-staffed. Therefore, the open-faced turkey sandwich was served cold and gravy gelatinous. Overall GSR is an okay place to stay but could improve some aspects to make it into a wow status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Charley Palmer's is an excellent dining choice and the service is top notch. If you can, ask for Angelina and Erweyn to be your servers, they are awesome! Both are very professional, attentive without being overbearing and were very knowledgeable about the food and menu. They made our Anniversary dinner very special and memorable.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chowchilla, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Won't Recommend

Way over priced for a room with a stained carpet, beds falling apart, sheets didn't fit bed, pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Took my child so he'd have something to do. $14 for he was able to bowl two games.. the game room was a joke. He received tickets and the prizes were even a bigger joke. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pinecone has a good buffet.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GUNDOCTOR
Business
DAYTON, NV.
Nov 16, 2009

THE BAD AND UGLY

DID NOT WANT TO STAY. BUFFET WAS HORRIBLE. ROOMS DIRTY AND YOU COULD TELL THEY WERE CUTTING BACK TO SAVE MONEY. NEVER AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 4, 2009

Grand Sierra Resort sucks big time

Even though I checked before I left for the trip I was not able to check in early. A Hotel with 27 floors had NO ROOMS available until 3pm Someone with a magic wand waved it and all the rooms in the hotel became free all at the same time. Very poor customer relations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Santa Clause
Business
San Diego
Dec 27, 2010

Good price,, deferred maintenance

Family Xmas destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Coffee bar by the elevators

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 16, 2007

Rooms are not comfortable

We were told at check-in that there was a pool party that started at 11PM and ended around 4AM. That there would be alot of noise and therefore the Kingsize bed room would be noisy. We got a room with two small uncomfortable beds and a loud group in the next room. Because of the connecting door we could hear them like they were in our room. It is obvious that the hotel is spending a lot of money in the lobby but they should be working on the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Casinos are nearby

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 28, 2008

downstairs was very nice

Room had no coffee pot, pillows had plastic covers and there were no robes or conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

nice casino

Back to menu Return to top