$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
898 out of 898
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPSnAMS
Business
Concord, CA
Aug 27, 2012

OK

Room was old, toilet dirty, walls falling apart, bathroom disgusting. Will not stay here again since room was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
college parent 2012
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 10, 2012

UNR visit

Hotel needs a makeover. Wall paper peeling in bathroom. Toilet would not flush. Carpet disgusting throughout rooms and hallways. Cocktail waitresses few and far between. Fitness center had numerous out-of-order machines and did not provide water. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
powerstroke 54
Business
mansfield,pa.
Nov 10, 2012

visiting

i would not stay there again. we were very disappointed in the room. we had no idea there was no ammenities such as coffee maker, fridge, or microwave. it was almost like buying a new car, everything was an option. did not understand what a resort fee is. no pool, jacuzzi, exercise room etc .unless you paid to go to spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Axe'm Jack
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 18, 2012

False Advertising

To start, the pictures available online are not accurate as to what the room actually looked like. The room was not renovated, the electrical outlets shocked me (multiple times) when pluging in my cell phone and laptop, and (despite multi complaints with staff) persons smoking ( and selling) narcotics in a hotel room were not even spoken to. This is by faaaaaaaar the worst hotel expierence that I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the club in the hotel/casino was the only good thing about the stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuckinreno
Business
houston
Dec 14, 2012

could do better

the rooms are blah. nothing special. it gets old quickly. could be a better value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the buffett get old after awhile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
prize
Business
alaska
Dec 26, 2012

not good

handicapped parking inconveniently located, downhill, not close to entrance. heating not easily regulated. hotel puts $50 hold on credit card in addition to daily resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaeNSee
Business
Close to Reno, Nevada
Feb 20, 2013

Overnight stay.

I live close to Reno,but far enough away i stay there at the occasional hotel. GSR seems a bit over priced for what you get. The cheapest room was still almost $70 when all was said and done, so what did i get for my money. The check in lines was an out rageous wait two clerks for the regular rooms, summit and vip had thier own rooms, it took 15-20 mins. Parking without a special membership, valet, or enterprise rental car was also a hassle or a long walk. So the first room they gave me was on the 2nd floor. It smelt horrible, had the last guest dirty socks on the floor and hairs in between the sheets. So after another 15 min wait the Front desk manager gave me a new room an "upgrade". The smell was better, the sheets were clean, no dirty clothes and the window wasnt facing a brick wall. It wasnt the greatest room only what i would expect from a hotel and it was an upgrade. Ive slept in better for less, but i hope experience is different then mine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several all you can eat sushi places just a short drive from gsr, they have a better selection and you can save about $7 bucks per person versus the place inside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matty707
Business
Dixon ca
May 25, 2013

My room

This was my time to stay here.... I had to switch room twice for the smell and the mold The maid throw away a envelope that had all my work Receipts in it there was not salf in any of the room on that floor along with the room I first went in to.... I will no stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ryan4481
Business
Grand Sierra, Reno
Oct 3, 2013

Grand Sierra dirty

I reserved a standard non smoking room with a single king size bed. When we checked we were told that the room we reserved was not avalible. So they up graded us to a suite. I thought that was nice. We got to the room and there were stains all over the carpet and the room smelled like smoke. Over all I thought the room was dirty. It was nice to be upgraded but for $200 a night the room should be clean. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chamadog
Business
Paradise, CA
Sep 29, 2013

Great Place - If You Don't Mind a Little Pigeon Dung

We chose this hotel for two reasons: 1) we were seeing a concert that was playing at the hotel, and 2) everything else was booked. We go and stay in Reno quite regularly. This is the second time we have stayed at the Grand Sierra in ten years and there's a reason for that. First, the location of the Grand Sierra is not really close to anything else that's happening in Reno. That's not a bad thing if the hotel has lots of things to do, which the Grand Sierra does. Our disappointment in this location has nothing to do with being entertained. The issue last time, and this time, was our room. For the amount of money spent on booking this room, I would expect a clean room. Walking into the newly updated Grand Sierra, I would also expect a room with updated amenities. At first glance, the room was fine. Nothing fancy. But then we started to notice that things weren't quite right. We had a Phillips television, circa 1999. Again, that would be okay, but the television couldn't seem to tune in all the channels. The wifi never worked. The bathroom decor was outdated. Which would have been okay had there not been wallpaper peeling off the wall, if there hadn't been some sort of caked-on funk on the light switch, and had the grout in the tub/shower actually been clean. The room was clean with the exception of the phone, which seemed to have been attacked with the same case of funk that had infected the light switch in the bathroom. The a/c never seemed to work and the windows don't open (which I would soon find out was a blessing in disguise). The room was very stuffy and overly warm. We turned the a/c down to 50 and the fan ran all evening, yet the room never seemed to cool off. At all. To add to the charm and character, our room was located on the bottom floor. We assumed this was because we had requested a smoking room. Imagine the joy and delight of opening the curtains to check out our view to find a view of some sort of roof caked with bird dung. At about 5pm or so, the producers of that dung came in to roost. There were probably 50 or so of the fattest pigeons I have ever seen that apparently make their home right outside of room 168 at the Grand Sierra. I love animals, but this was both disconcerting (Tippy Hedron ala The Birds) and a bit gross. Understand - had the room been up to par (and not so darn hot) the pigeons would have been no big deal. We could have closed the curtains (and did) and would never have thought twice about it. However, given the state of the room, the Pigeon Dung view just sort of summed up the whole experience. I would stay here again if I were seeing a show because it's very convenient, but if I was just visiting Reno for some fun I would stay somewhere else. Grand Sierra wouldn't even be on my radar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top