$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
856 out of 856
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daddynewk
Business
Dallas, TX
May 11, 2014

Overnight stay

Hotel is conveniently close to airport. It has a choice of restaurants from low cost to expensive. Rooms are large and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel has a very nice Facebook facility. Casino has good choice of slots and is not crowded together. Parking is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Very clean. Good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbf
Business
portland, or
Jun 19, 2009

gsrc

The people at the hotel were great. There was quite a bit of renovation going on in the restraurant area, so all of the restraurants were not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Good weekend

The Hotel and room were very nice. Only complaint was Ice and vending machines on our floor did not work for the four days we were there. Hotel staff was Great and food was asume.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great tourist atractions within a 1/2 hour drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 9, 2007

Good Place to Stay

The Grand Sierra Resort Casino was a decent place to stay. The room was fine for two and clean with no problems. They were doing renovations to the casino area but I don't gamble much. The hotel did have a restaurant or two which was open quite late. The parking can be a bit far so if you carry your own bags; they should have wheels to roll. You also may have to go up a few stairs so you should be able to drag them up a couple outside. There probably should be some ramps close by but I really did not look. The hotel is away from downtown but the area is safe. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington
Jul 13, 2011

gsr

Room was neat and clean. Hotel staff were pleasent and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 7, 2009

Shuttle driver sours the Reno experience

I had pleasant experience staying at the Grand Sierra last fall, and was pleased to return to this (supposedly) pet-friendly hotel, until I climbed on the airport-hotel shuttle. Even before climbing the stairs onto the bus, the driver sniffed my cat's crate to see if she smalled of urine, and asked the other passengers if they were okay with having a cat on the shuttle. As many of them were also bringing cats, there was no issue about my bringing Balimoor Belle Starr on board. The return trip was a replay of the driver's rude behavior. It is excusable ONLY IF HE BEHAVES THE SAME WAY ABOUT A CHILD with a dirty or urine soaked diaper. For shame, Grand Sierra!!! You can bet I won't bet in your facility in the future. Susan C. Sehn, M.S, M.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Peepers
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 20, 2011

Grand Sierra was more than expected

I wanted to go to Vegas, but my girlfriend wanted to try something new. We found a good deal on [...], so we flew up. The Grand Sierra exceeded my expectations! It is close to the airport, but it wasn't a disturbance. We requested a high room and they gave us the top floor (27th) with a great view of the mountains and downtown. They waived the $10 per day resort fee without us even asking, so I suggest request the fee waived if you stay. We were in the grand suite II which was very quiet and spacious. There was a separate shower and bath/shower, a mini kitchen with fridge and microwave, a flat screen tv, free wifi, and two large comp bottles of water daily (which really came in handy). There were plenty of excursion deals, but my ankle was sprained and my girlfriend was sick, so we mostly stayed in the hotel/casino. I had a massage and enjoyed the spa, which was excellent and not too expensive for a resort. There were tons of great places to eat, I really liked Roundtable Pizza and buffet. The casino table games were nice and clean without a bunch of shady people loitering around. The poker room had a few good games, but was a bit small. The slots selection was great with a lot of updated and fun games. The sports book was great. There's a huge bowling alley, mall, and movie theatre in the hotel. The negatives were: it was really dark in the hallways, had to take a cab to get anywhere ($10 to downtown), thermostat was inconsistent (it was either way too hot or way too cold), a few weird or unhelpful dealers (most were great though)We went downtown Reno one day but it was not nearly as nice. We made a great choice by staying at the GS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free airport shuttle twice per hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Great Stay!

We had a great stay! The room was good sized and comfortable. The beds were comfy, and the amenities were great. We'll stay there again another time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Had a great time at the driving range, the arcade, the movie theater, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Mar 1, 2010

Nice location with many activities.

Resort is convenient because of variety of food and entertainment all under one roof. Staff was friendly. [...]. The movie theater, bowling alley, candy store, and many shops were reasonably priced and well maintained. Our standard room was spacious and the cleaning service was cordial. Shuttle bus to/from airport was courteous and convenient. You can book virtually any Nevada activity at the office on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 8, 2007

Interesting Place to stay

Sierra Grand is where I stayed in Reno... I don't care if their is a starbucks in the lobby... Its a long walk to get their in Morning... NOT HAPPY --Its an older hotel still needing to update furniture for the price... The casino was good.. But I don't gamble that much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

What isn't it near.. everything is close by either by freeway Food, shopping, entertainment.. Its Reno

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top