$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
899 out of 899
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impatient Lisa
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Horrible customer service

I received very bad customer service from this hotel during Valentines Day weekend. However, the Keno front desk lady was friendly. When we checked into the hotel on Valentines Day night, we werent happy to discover that the non smoking King bed room we reserved was unavailable. We were placed in a standard smoking 2 Queen beds room. The bathroom was very modern, clean, and nice. Our room was painted in grey with red polka dot carpet. The room felt gloomy and tacky. Thumbs down. The next morning, we called room service to order breakfast. We ordered eggs benedict and strawberries with cream to share. We called at 10:01 and was told that the wait was about 45 minutes to an hour. After breakfast, we had planned to check out the hotel gym before meeting friends for lunch. An hour passed by and our room service still didnt arrive. I called the room service lady and told her that an hour passed by.. it was 11:00am at that time . She answered and said, "it hasnt been quite one hour yet. You ordered at 10:01am". Are you kidding me? She was being smart and technical with me over one minute yet she estimated the incorrect time from the start. Anyways, our breakfast arrived an hour after that. Our total wait for breakfast was 2 hours. Suggestion: DONT ORDER ROOM SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL. I also called the manager of the hotel while waiting for our breakfast and she was unable to offer us a solution or a reason to stay at this hotel again. WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN! Maybe Peppermill next time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mayflower234
Business
san jose
Feb 20, 2014

disgusting stains on towels

yellowish blackish stain on bath towel, as big as 1 feet diameter. So disgusting. Then we checked all our other towels, and found a smaller and similar color stain on another bath towel. Wonder how they could miss this while folding it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harvalho
Business
South Lake Tahoe
Mar 18, 2014

Stay elsewhere

Location is terrible - by a freeway with absolutely nothing around it. Activities described (karting, pool, golf etc) were all closed. Other hotels offer restaurants / bars near by - not here! Very long q at check in. Much better hotels can be found for the same price, wish we'd stayed elsewhere - try Atlantis, Peppermill (prettiest), Harrahs (good location) all similar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Outback steak house (opposite Atlantis casino) is amazing - try Victoria Fillet

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Bad Experience

My wife and I have stayed at the Grand Sierra many times however this time the staff was unbelievable rude / smart-alecky. The reservation supervisor, which I am not sure how her name was spelled because of her heavy accent, [...] was absolutely as rude of a person I have encountered in a longtime. My wife and I work in public service and understand that it can be trying and difficult to work with the public but this person needs to get out of this line of work. [...] I was just another number and not a good way to treat people. What has happened to the customer comes first? [...] Overall the worst hotel experience I have had in Reno in years. I travel to Reno on the average of once a month and this was as bad as it gets. Thanks for ruining my entire weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rezilution
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Disapointment, thy name is Grand Sierra

My wife and I stayed here on our Wedding night. To be honest we had high expectations, being that we had chosen to get a deluxe room with a jacuzzi tub. We were told at the front desk that there were none left, so they put us in a handycapped suite (same layout and decor, no jacuzzi). We figured, fine we are here and exhausted so let's make the best out of this. An hour later we were awoken by partying and cops banging on the neighbors door, this happened at least 4 times over two days, and somehow this kept happening in the same room. The hotel staff told me that they wouldn't ask them to leave! The resort had booked an electronica/techno act in their arena and as a result the entire time the hotel was full of over-caffinated, drugged out ravers. There were 15 minute lines for the elevators, which were constanly filled with cigarette butts, beer bottles, and vomit. The hotel staff seemed to act as if this was business as usual. At this point my wife and I decided to remain in the room. The room was relatively nice, nothing that I would call a deluxe accomadation for the price we paid. I would only have this advice, be aware that this hotel offers decent food and table games, but they do not care a wit about security and the safety of the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonbonjoy
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Just blah.

I stayed here to be able to attend a concert. The staff were great. The room was grungy and dingy. It wasn't worth the $100, more like $50. I probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cargo DelRio
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 7, 2012

When it's cheaper than Motel 6 - stay here !

Actually, since GSR charges a $10 "resort fee" it wasn't really cheaper than Motel 6, but it was way better. At $46 (room + 'resort fee') it's a good value. I just needed a room for a quick overnight business trip. If I had paid more, like I'm used to in most major cities, I would have been REALLY disappointed and considered the room REALLY tired. That said - don't expect a coffeemaker but do expect an ancient Phillips tube TV, with limited cable channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop nearby Sierra Trading Post for terrific deals on clothing and accessories.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ex travel agent mom
Business
colton, california
Jul 7, 2012

Family getaway

The picture is so deceitful. We got a very standard room with dump capet. Found Many leftover linen from laundry in the blanket. No fridge or microwave. I paid extra to have small old fridge in the room. I think with a little bit more buck, I can get a better room in other room. Staff also not friendly. When I asked for fridge, the lady in housekeeping dept. Explained the charge of rent with no friendly manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The show viva la cirque is great show

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubicon Mom
Business
Oroville , California
Jul 9, 2012

Family Fun

Personell at check in were very nice and helpful, There is lots to do for the kids, Our only issue was the cleanliness, this was not a 4star room, more like 2 star. Tables looked dirty, comforters hadn't been cleaned for awhile, and my son even found the lid to someone priors coffee still in the room on the floor. Beds were comfortable as long as you didn't use comforter. Honestly I was afraid to walk around with no shoes on. I'm hoping that next visit will be in a cleaner nonsmelling room. Not that I would visit there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James503
Business
Salem OR.
Jul 14, 2012

The arrival

After flying all day to come see my grandchildren, i checked in and was sent to a room on the 7th floor. Upon arrival i found the room a complete disaster. House cleaning had never been there. I called the front dest, who told me to come back down, sweaty from the trip and the Reno heat, all my bags in tow, to get another room. Once there i was given a room on the 10th floor, and was told that i have been upgraded. Well, i'm not sure what their definition of an upgrade is, but it was the clone of the room on the seventh...though at least this time it was clean. The rest of my stay was uneventful, but the ice machine never worked on my floor until my last night, and there was the constant inconveinence of having to go to the basement and take the moving stairs back up...though that was only a minor issue. My stay was fine after this initial problem, but it has left a bad taste in my mouth for this particular hotel... James McDonald

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top