$44 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
770 reviews
Better than Downtown

This resort stay was the best stay I have ever had in Reno. Much better than any of the downtown... See full review

  • jerryt
  • Sep 9, 2014
Very nice

Quick stop in Reno en route to BRC. Arrived after midnight so the shuttle wasn't running, but the... See full review

  • Dewb
  • Sep 3, 2014
Holiday resort offering variety of leisure facilities in Reno-Tahoe
With $25 million in renovations underway, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe and features a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 new guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club (24 hours) and spa, headliner entertainment, exciting nightlife, Cineplex, 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.

At Grand Sierra Resort, diners can indulge on mouth-watering dishes for dinner at the award-winning steakhouse, Charlie Palmer Steak. Guests can also feast on antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes at Briscola, the family-style Italian restaurant. The Cantina offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine. The pan-Asian bistro Rim features specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand. Casual options include Elements Buffet, 2nd Street Express, Starbucks, Round Table Pizza, Port of Subs, and Cafierra. The resort also features seven bars, including a wine bar,  a country-western bar, and WET, a lounge bar featuring Happy Hour and live entertainment.

Recreation at Grand Sierra Resort & Casino includes a health spa (surcharge), bowling, golf and an amusement park that features go cart racing and miniature golf. The on-site shopping includes a variety of unique boutiques, gift shops and candy store.
Reasons To Stay
  • On-site casino, largest in northern Nevada
  • Numerous restaurants and bars on site including the lounge WET
  • Health Spa, Bowling Center and Amusement Park with go kart racing and miniature golf
  • Newest rooms in Reno
Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

This chic hotel offers the newest rooms in Reno, having 1,990 rooms, including 845 suites. Rooms at Grand Sierra Resort Casino boast ample space, stylish furniture, and sweeping views of the city. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and TV with pay-per-view movies are available in each room. Some units come with extra amenities such as mini refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, wet bar, and bathroom with walk-in closet. This property also offers connecting rooms and 178-slot RV Parking.

Dining

The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.

Things To Do
  • National automobile Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sparks Heritage Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Meadowood Mall (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Wild Island Family Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lakeridge Golf Course (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Reno Indoor Paintball (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Policies & Fees

  • The hotel charges a $10.00 resort fee which includes Wi-Fi access, in-room bottled water, access to fitness center, local calls, parking and airport transfers.
  • The hotel charges a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 USD per night. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.
  • Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older.

Pet Policy:

  1. There are designated pet floors that are only available in the entry price point, which at this time are GSR rooms only.
  2. Pets are not allowed in the GSR Summit.
  3. NON REFUNDABLE Pet fees per pet are $30 per night on weekdays and $40 per night on the weekends.
  4. All pets must visibly display the registered pet leash which requires a $25 refundable deposit upon check-in. This will be refunded upon return of the leash at check-out.
  5. The maximum weight for a pet is 50 lb, and there is a maximum of 2 pets per room.
  6. Unregistered pets will be charged a $150 non-registered pet fee in addition to the nightly pet fee.
  7. The following dog breeds are not allowed on the property: Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pincher, and Wolfdog or Wolf Hybrid.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5219 -119.7787
Area served
Reno, Nevada.
Nearby airports
Reno Tahoe International.
Area description
Lake Tahoe, World Class skiing and golfing, Nevada Art Museum, kayak park, fishing, hiking, biking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Sierra Resort Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment
Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Dining

Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.
WET
Reno's premiere ultra lounge and bar features a mixture of club ambience and the intimate lounge experience with private lounge-style seating. Featuring an irreplaceable Happy Hour, live entertainment, and handmade martinis, WET is the ultimate hotspot.
Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (770)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impatient Lisa
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Horrible customer service

I received very bad customer service from this hotel during Valentines Day weekend. However, the Keno front desk lady was friendly. When we checked into the hotel on Valentines Day night, we werent happy to discover that the non smoking King bed room we reserved was unavailable. We were placed in a standard smoking 2 Queen beds room. The bathroom was very modern, clean, and nice. Our room was painted in grey with red polka dot carpet. The room felt gloomy and tacky. Thumbs down. The next morning, we called room service to order breakfast. We ordered eggs benedict and strawberries with cream to share. We called at 10:01 and was told that the wait was about 45 minutes to an hour. After breakfast, we had planned to check out the hotel gym before meeting friends for lunch. An hour passed by and our room service still didnt arrive. I called the room service lady and told her that an hour passed by.. it was 11:00am at that time . She answered and said, "it hasnt been quite one hour yet. You ordered at 10:01am". Are you kidding me? She was being smart and technical with me over one minute yet she estimated the incorrect time from the start. Anyways, our breakfast arrived an hour after that. Our total wait for breakfast was 2 hours. Suggestion: DONT ORDER ROOM SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL. I also called the manager of the hotel while waiting for our breakfast and she was unable to offer us a solution or a reason to stay at this hotel again. WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN! Maybe Peppermill next time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ex travel agent mom
colton, california
Jul 7, 2012

Family getaway

The picture is so deceitful. We got a very standard room with dump capet. Found Many leftover linen from laundry in the blanket. No fridge or microwave. I paid extra to have small old fridge in the room. I think with a little bit more buck, I can get a better room in other room. Staff also not friendly. When I asked for fridge, the lady in housekeeping dept. Explained the charge of rent with no friendly manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The show viva la cirque is great show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ryan4481
Grand Sierra, Reno
Oct 3, 2013

Grand Sierra dirty

I reserved a standard non smoking room with a single king size bed. When we checked we were told that the room we reserved was not avalible. So they up graded us to a suite. I thought that was nice. We got to the room and there were stains all over the carpet and the room smelled like smoke. Over all I thought the room was dirty. It was nice to be upgraded but for $200 a night the room should be clean. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 17, 2007

Big disappointment

This hotel us undergoing major rennovation. They are now selling Condos at this property. Some of the rooms are still under rennovation, so the room that I was put in was lacking some of the ammenitites. As for the pool area...it is leased by an outside company, and has loud music and topless dancers on Friday and Saturday nights, So it mainly caters to young adults in their 20's. I actually saw a picture someone had took of one of the topless dancers. The hotel cannot enforce anything as they do not run the pool. Henceforth, not a place to bring young children. If you are looking for a place to relax by the pool, do not stay at the Grand Sierra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
powerstroke 54
mansfield,pa.
Nov 10, 2012

visiting

i would not stay there again. we were very disappointed in the room. we had no idea there was no ammenities such as coffee maker, fridge, or microwave. it was almost like buying a new car, everything was an option. did not understand what a resort fee is. no pool, jacuzzi, exercise room etc .unless you paid to go to spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Noisy room

This was our first time staying at Grand Sierra Resort. The public areas are much nicer and still undergoing renovations. The problem was the noise from the pool party. This party is ongoing on Friday and Saturday nights and lasts until 4 am. We came during Hot August Nights so the hotel was full. On Thur and Fri night we were on the 15th floor facing the pool area. Don't be fooled by the distance to the pool, the music was so loud in our room that we couldn't fall asleep until it stopped after 4 am. On Saturday morning I went to the front desk and complained to a supervisor. ( I wasn't the only one down there complaining, they had their hands full) They moved us into a studio condo for Sat and Sun nights. The condos do not face the pool area. Beware a lot of the standard rooms face the pool area. The bedding in the standard room leaves a lot to be desired. On the king bed there are 3 very small pillows that are very hard. On Fri morning I called housekeeping and asked for 2 more pillows, soft ones if possible. They did bring two more pillows, 1 was softer and 1 was the same as the ones on the bed both the same small size. Bedding was much more comfortable in condo. Big fluffy pillows, down comforter and pillow top mattress cover. We will not stay there again and chance getting a bad room, not worth the risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2007

Casino Hotel Experience

The room was comfortable, although the windows do not open and it felt a little stuffy. The elevators took 5-10 minutes to open as the waiting area was packed with people. At dinner, I went to Chevys and ordered an ala carte item and it took 45 minutes to be served my food. I tried 4 times to receive an email through the business center and they had problems with their email service and I never received an important email for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Daughter
Susanville, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Hmmm

We stayed in the regular part of the hotel, not the "Summit," because my mom was there for a medical procedure not because of the casino or Hot August Nights. Everything about the fifth floor seemed out-dated and old. The ice machine was broken and we had to go to the 6th floor for that, the towel racks in the room were loose, the tub was clogged, there was no coffee maker in the room, pillows were lumpy, etc. So, we will probably not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rim restaurant in the hotel is awesome, by the way. I will go there to eat but not to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BAYAREAFKS
OAKLAND, CA
Dec 31, 2009

It's OK

hoping the room would provide at least a refrigerator & a coffee maker in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cargo DelRio
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 7, 2012

When it's cheaper than Motel 6 - stay here !

Actually, since GSR charges a $10 "resort fee" it wasn't really cheaper than Motel 6, but it was way better. At $46 (room + 'resort fee') it's a good value. I just needed a room for a quick overnight business trip. If I had paid more, like I'm used to in most major cities, I would have been REALLY disappointed and considered the room REALLY tired. That said - don't expect a coffeemaker but do expect an ancient Phillips tube TV, with limited cable channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop nearby Sierra Trading Post for terrific deals on clothing and accessories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search