Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
802 reviews
The New Weekend Getaway

It was our first stay at GSR....but definitely not our last! We had so much fun. The welcome center... See full review

  • Molly B.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Great casino and stay

Great location. Friendly staff. Clean beautiful rooms. Highly recommended See full review

  • Darylr
  • Dec 8, 2014
Holiday resort offering variety of leisure facilities in Reno-Tahoe
With $25 million in renovations underway, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe and features a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 new guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club (24 hours) and spa, headliner entertainment, exciting nightlife, Cineplex, 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.

At Grand Sierra Resort, diners can indulge on mouth-watering dishes for dinner at the award-winning steakhouse, Charlie Palmer Steak. Guests can also feast on antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes at Briscola, the family-style Italian restaurant. The Cantina offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine. The pan-Asian bistro Rim features specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand. Casual options include Elements Buffet, 2nd Street Express, Starbucks, Round Table Pizza, Port of Subs, and Cafierra. The resort also features seven bars, including a wine bar,  a country-western bar, and WET, a lounge bar featuring Happy Hour and live entertainment.

Recreation at Grand Sierra Resort & Casino includes a health spa (surcharge), bowling, golf and an amusement park that features go cart racing and miniature golf. The on-site shopping includes a variety of unique boutiques, gift shops and candy store.
Reasons To Stay
  • On-site casino, largest in northern Nevada
  • Numerous restaurants and bars on site including the lounge WET
  • Health Spa, Bowling Center and Amusement Park with go kart racing and miniature golf
  • Newest rooms in Reno
Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

This chic hotel offers the newest rooms in Reno, having 1,990 rooms, including 845 suites. Rooms at Grand Sierra Resort Casino boast ample space, stylish furniture, and sweeping views of the city. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and TV with pay-per-view movies are available in each room. Some units come with extra amenities such as mini refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, wet bar, and bathroom with walk-in closet. This property also offers connecting rooms and 178-slot RV Parking.

Dining

The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.

Things To Do
  • National automobile Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sparks Heritage Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Meadowood Mall (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Wild Island Family Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lakeridge Golf Course (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Reno Indoor Paintball (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Policies & Fees

  • The hotel charges a $10.00 resort fee which includes Wi-Fi access, in-room bottled water, access to fitness center, local calls, parking and airport transfers.
  • The hotel charges a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 USD per night. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.
  • Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older.

Pet Policy:

  1. There are designated pet floors that are only available in the entry price point, which at this time are GSR rooms only.
  2. Pets are not allowed in the GSR Summit.
  3. NON REFUNDABLE Pet fees per pet are $30 per night on weekdays and $40 per night on the weekends.
  4. All pets must visibly display the registered pet leash which requires a $25 refundable deposit upon check-in. This will be refunded upon return of the leash at check-out.
  5. The maximum weight for a pet is 50 lb, and there is a maximum of 2 pets per room.
  6. Unregistered pets will be charged a $150 non-registered pet fee in addition to the nightly pet fee.
  7. The following dog breeds are not allowed on the property: Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pincher, and Wolfdog or Wolf Hybrid.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment
Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

39.5219 -119.7787
Area served
Reno, Nevada.
Nearby airports
Reno Tahoe International.
Area description
Lake Tahoe, World Class skiing and golfing, Nevada Art Museum, kayak park, fishing, hiking, biking

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Dining

Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.
WET
Reno's premiere ultra lounge and bar features a mixture of club ambience and the intimate lounge experience with private lounge-style seating. Featuring an irreplaceable Happy Hour, live entertainment, and handmade martinis, WET is the ultimate hotspot.
Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.
Briscola
TThis family-style Italian restaurant created by Charlie Palmer serves antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes. It is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (802)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
802 out of 802
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
butterfly8900
Business
California, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Not worth the value

Stayed there for New years, the hotel didn't have any facilities,no coffeemaker, not even a microwave (neither in room nor at the floor level)! We tried to order breakfast at 10am and even that had a 50mins wait... Well, we ordered the breakfast next day and that was not good either, the orange juice tasted like it was mixed with water, omelet was undercooked and fruits were not so fresh!! Lobby restaurant had stale chicken in our chicken sandwich which we had for lunch! Even the shower was unpredictable, my spouse went for a bath and in the middle of bath the shower started pouring unusually hot water for 2mins.....it was freaking annoying!!! Wi-fi was included in resort fees ($11) but that was very very slow...to sum up we wished we could have stayed somewhere better than paying $200+ per night at this hotel...disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
papa rich
Business
kewanee ill
Mar 20, 2012

wouldn't stay again

this is the most god awful place to stay the staff was un friendly from the desk clerk when we check in to the people that were suppose to take care of you lightbulbs were missing out of the lights in our room there was no hot water in the mornings we should of move to a different hotel but we had three rooms during march maddest it would have been impossiable this place was only friendly to the locals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

stay and play downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul's Honey
Business
Henderson, Nevada
Jul 3, 2012

Completely dissatisified!!!!

My husband and I wanted a nice quiet getaway, unfortunately upon our arrival, he became sick, we had a reservation , but could not check in till 3pm. We were told that the hotel was booked the night before and they had nothing available till 3. Asked the hotel manager if there was anyplace to go that would be quiet so my husband could rest and we were told to sit in the lobby.Very unsatisfified with that,this hotel with such great reviews and customer service , we were appalled. We finally checked in at 1:10 after many complaints to the staff, . Kids were running in the halls past 11pm, room service never picked up the phones , front desk never picked up the phones, vending machines didn't work. My husband and I checked out the next day and returned to Vegas where the accommodations are suitable and customer service is held in high regard. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice quiet getaway.Definitely needs alot of upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel shopper
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 26, 2012

BAIT and SWITCH!! Beware!

During our trip we stayed at 4 separate hotels to see which one we would recommend for a future conference. First of all, I booked based on the pictures advertised on their website. At check in, the desk clerk did not find my reservation. She eluded that 3rd party reservations sometimes get lost. I was patient and remarked that as long as I get a non-smoking room with a king bed, I would be fine. She then said that the hotel is overbooked and there are no king beds available. Again, I acquiesced, and proceeded to our room. When the elevator door opened on the 15th floor, I was stunned. I felt like I was thrown back to the 1970s. To say that the decor was dated is an understatement. The hallways were dreary and the stenciling on the wall paper made me nauseous. When I arrived to room 1577, I could not believe the beat up furniture and mouldy tiles I was greeted with. I immediately called down to the front desk to give them the opportunity to make this right. I explained what I purchased and what my expectations were. The woman on the phone said that I have a standard room and pushed the blame on our 3rd party reservation. She did not accept responsibility on behalf of the hotel who is partnered with them. I was never offered an upgrade at check-in, maybe because they could not find my reservation, but if I had been told at check-in what to expect, then the Bait and Switch may have been less of a shock. Since this hotel plays dirty, we decided not to patronize them during our 3 night stay and spent ALL our gambling, dining, drinking and spa money at other hotels. We checked out on Friday, August 24th. I was ready to tell the front desk clerk how my stay was, but she NEVER asked me about my stay! I could not believe it. Again, we stayed at 4 hotels in search of a worthy candidate for our 1500+ conference. We wanted to see how we would be treated as a typical guest. And this is the FIRST hotel that did not even care to ask about our experience with them. The clerk simply asked if I wanted a receipt and goodbye. This hotel is not interested in their clientele. They are making their money from offering their "resort" amenities to the general public. The pool called "The Beach", is monitored because it is open to the public for a fee. The entrance to the pool is off a side parking lot! There is no exclusivity here and they should not be charging $11 a night resort fee for amenities offered to the general public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Go elsewhere! This hotel is not ethical. They deceive you with beautiful pictures of modern rooms and give you a run down, beat up, outdated room that makes a roadside motel look luxurious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob123456789
Business
Hayward, California
Nov 5, 2012

What a Joke

The room was dirty found used Q-Tips and dirty tissues in the room. They gave me two double beds when I requested 1 King and I even offered to pay extra. The service was terrible and the place was an overall dump. The picture is an absolute joke and looks nothing like it. You would get better value at a Motel at least the rooms and carpet would be clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cjdeporter
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 6, 2012

Awful Experience

Not too many things are more alarming that loud screaming pipes at 5:30-6:00 AM! The room smelled very moldy, the bathroom was barely clean. The grand Sierra is pretty far from most things. Customer service was great. Almost forgot the random puddles of water all over the carpets and furniture... Not the best experience, definitely NOT guaranteed satisfaction!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Overnighter
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Disappointed...

We flew into Reno Airport and were happy to see it was a short 5 minute cab ride to the hotel. We waited in line 10 minutes to check into our room. We spent the evening in the hotel casino where there was a large assortment of thing to do. Around midnight, we decided to eat. There was only one cafe open so we decided to go there. Across the hall from the cafe was a loud and noisy nightclub. The music was blaring so loudly we could barely talk to each other at our table throughout our meal. After eating, we went to our room. This was the first time I noticed the hair and pieces of toilet paper on the floor. There wasn't even a trash can in the bathroom. We tried to sleep, but the pillows were like the pillows I throw out after 2 years of use. We requested a smoking room, (my wife smokes but I don't). The room smelled like a stale ashtray, like it had never been cleaned. I tried to sleep that night, but between the pillows hurting my neck and the partying people in the hallways and in the room next to me, sleep was not going to happen. Maybe 30 years ago I would have enjoyed the trip, but now, all I want is a clean room, comfortable bed, and a little quite. I did not get that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Four legged road warrior
Business
Doggy rep
Nov 4, 2013

Soooo disappointed

I have been staying here for work and pleasure and have had great experiences. However, this time I found my relaxing bath tub full of black hairs and some missing make up. And when I first arrived to my room on the concierge floors, my door was left propped open after a maid left. When I nicely called and to tell them what had happened they were very apologetic and said they would remove the charges for the resort fees. HOWEVER, that didn't happen. My final bill was emailed to me and the charges were still there. I so loved staying here but now I am really grossed out and disappointed. Will look for another option next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
no thabks
Business
Tahoe
Nov 29, 2013

worst night in my entire life

did not sleep…there was way too much partying by young, drunk punk rockers all over the hotel. Several dozen were in several of the rooms adjacent to ours who did not care about anything but partying all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jlsreno
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 3, 2013

SHANGHAIED THEN VERY DISAPPOINTED

My wife and I and a group of friends made a dinner reservation at the Grand Sierra to dine before attending a sold out concert. Reservation was made 2 days ahead. We arrived at the Briscola restaurant on time at 6 PM. We were then told that the restaurant was closed and they shuffled us over to the Grand Sierra’s high dollar restaurant, Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. We advised the hostess that we had tickets to the 8 PM show. In the next 10 minutes we were greeted by 3 waiters, had our drink orders taken and served. We ordered our meals and waited an hour for our salads, which were served without salad forks. At 7:15 PM, our entree items were no where in sight and we asked for our waiter. Fifteen minutes later with no waiter and still no food, we asked to speak to the manager. After waiting another15 minutes, we prepared to leave. On leaving the restaurant we spoke to the manager, John. He was very apologetic for the poor service, but offered no reason for the delay. We are Reno residents who dine out frequently and will never again return to this property to dine. There are many excellent casino restaurants in Reno. Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse is not one! My wife and I and a group of friends made a dinner reservation at the Grand Sierra to dine before attending a sold out concert. Reservation was made 2 days ahead. We arrived at the Briscola restaurant on time at 6 PM. We were then told that the restaurant was closed and they shuffled us over to the Grand Sierra’s high dollar restaurant, Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. We advised the hostess that we had tickets to the 8 PM show. In the next 10 minutes we were greeted by 3 waiters, had our drink orders taken and served. We ordered our meals and waited an hour for our salads, which were served without salad forks. At 7:15 PM, our entree items were no where in sight and we asked for our waiter. Fifteen minutes later with no waiter and still no food, we asked to speak to the manager. After waiting another15 minutes, we prepared to leave. On leaving the restaurant we spoke to the manager, John. He was very apologetic for the poor service, but offered no reason for the delay. We are Reno residents who dine out frequently and will never again return to this property to dine. There are many excellent casino restaurants in Reno. Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse is not one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top