$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
770 reviews
Better than Downtown

This resort stay was the best stay I have ever had in Reno. Much better than any of the downtown... See full review

  • jerryt
  • Sep 9, 2014
Very nice

Quick stop in Reno en route to BRC. Arrived after midnight so the shuttle wasn't running, but the... See full review

  • Dewb
  • Sep 3, 2014
Holiday resort offering variety of leisure facilities in Reno-Tahoe
With $25 million in renovations underway, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe and features a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 new guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club (24 hours) and spa, headliner entertainment, exciting nightlife, Cineplex, 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.

At Grand Sierra Resort, diners can indulge on mouth-watering dishes for dinner at the award-winning steakhouse, Charlie Palmer Steak. Guests can also feast on antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes at Briscola, the family-style Italian restaurant. The Cantina offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine. The pan-Asian bistro Rim features specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand. Casual options include Elements Buffet, 2nd Street Express, Starbucks, Round Table Pizza, Port of Subs, and Cafierra. The resort also features seven bars, including a wine bar,  a country-western bar, and WET, a lounge bar featuring Happy Hour and live entertainment.

Recreation at Grand Sierra Resort & Casino includes a health spa (surcharge), bowling, golf and an amusement park that features go cart racing and miniature golf. The on-site shopping includes a variety of unique boutiques, gift shops and candy store.
Reasons To Stay
  • On-site casino, largest in northern Nevada
  • Numerous restaurants and bars on site including the lounge WET
  • Health Spa, Bowling Center and Amusement Park with go kart racing and miniature golf
  • Newest rooms in Reno
Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

This chic hotel offers the newest rooms in Reno, having 1,990 rooms, including 845 suites. Rooms at Grand Sierra Resort Casino boast ample space, stylish furniture, and sweeping views of the city. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and TV with pay-per-view movies are available in each room. Some units come with extra amenities such as mini refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, wet bar, and bathroom with walk-in closet. This property also offers connecting rooms and 178-slot RV Parking.

Dining

The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.

Things To Do
  • National automobile Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sparks Heritage Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Meadowood Mall (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Wild Island Family Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lakeridge Golf Course (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Reno Indoor Paintball (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Policies & Fees

  • The hotel charges a $10.00 resort fee which includes Wi-Fi access, in-room bottled water, access to fitness center, local calls, parking and airport transfers.
  • The hotel charges a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 USD per night. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.
  • Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older.

Pet Policy:

  1. There are designated pet floors that are only available in the entry price point, which at this time are GSR rooms only.
  2. Pets are not allowed in the GSR Summit.
  3. NON REFUNDABLE Pet fees per pet are $30 per night on weekdays and $40 per night on the weekends.
  4. All pets must visibly display the registered pet leash which requires a $25 refundable deposit upon check-in. This will be refunded upon return of the leash at check-out.
  5. The maximum weight for a pet is 50 lb, and there is a maximum of 2 pets per room.
  6. Unregistered pets will be charged a $150 non-registered pet fee in addition to the nightly pet fee.
  7. The following dog breeds are not allowed on the property: Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pincher, and Wolfdog or Wolf Hybrid.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.5219 -119.7787
Area served
Reno, Nevada.
Nearby airports
Reno Tahoe International.
Area description
Lake Tahoe, World Class skiing and golfing, Nevada Art Museum, kayak park, fishing, hiking, biking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Sierra Resort Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment
Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Dining

Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.
WET
Reno's premiere ultra lounge and bar features a mixture of club ambience and the intimate lounge experience with private lounge-style seating. Featuring an irreplaceable Happy Hour, live entertainment, and handmade martinis, WET is the ultimate hotspot.
Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (770)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashebaba
Fallon, NV
Dec 30, 2013

Overnight for concert

Room was large. Bed was uncomfortable. Appeared to be unfinished from refurbish. Room too hot and no way to change the temperature. Parking was awful with no valet available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Many choices for dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kidsnthings
Orange County ca
Jul 8, 2014

Hotel needs a lot of attention.

I paid for an upgraded renovated room. The first room we were placed in had an air conditioning unit that didn't work. The next room we were put in had old very poor quality mattresses. One bed had a mattress that was concave in the center. The furniture was very banged up. I was surprised that these newly renovated rooms were in such poor condition. I spoke with the front desk manager many times. She didn't do a whole lot to accommodate us. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rezilution
Sacramento, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Disapointment, thy name is Grand Sierra

My wife and I stayed here on our Wedding night. To be honest we had high expectations, being that we had chosen to get a deluxe room with a jacuzzi tub. We were told at the front desk that there were none left, so they put us in a handycapped suite (same layout and decor, no jacuzzi). We figured, fine we are here and exhausted so let's make the best out of this. An hour later we were awoken by partying and cops banging on the neighbors door, this happened at least 4 times over two days, and somehow this kept happening in the same room. The hotel staff told me that they wouldn't ask them to leave! The resort had booked an electronica/techno act in their arena and as a result the entire time the hotel was full of over-caffinated, drugged out ravers. There were 15 minute lines for the elevators, which were constanly filled with cigarette butts, beer bottles, and vomit. The hotel staff seemed to act as if this was business as usual. At this point my wife and I decided to remain in the room. The room was relatively nice, nothing that I would call a deluxe accomadation for the price we paid. I would only have this advice, be aware that this hotel offers decent food and table games, but they do not care a wit about security and the safety of the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonbonjoy
Alameda, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Just blah.

I stayed here to be able to attend a concert. The staff were great. The room was grungy and dingy. It wasn't worth the $100, more like $50. I probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chowchilla, CA
Jul 13, 2008

Won't Recommend

Way over priced for a room with a stained carpet, beds falling apart, sheets didn't fit bed, pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Took my child so he'd have something to do. $14 for he was able to bowl two games.. the game room was a joke. He received tickets and the prizes were even a bigger joke. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pinecone has a good buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eikoozdog
Stockton, CA
May 8, 2013

2 star room at 4 star hotel

The hotel itself is great, however the room was obviously pretty old décor with rust and broken tiles around the faucets in the bathroom. Something that you would see in a much cheaper motel. The hotel is currently remodeling, but it seems to me that the rooms you are going to get thru ztibrO at their low price are going to be the older rooms. Don't be fooled by the pictures that the hotel provides. Those rooms are going to be in the $150+ per night. The $60 per night rooms are not that nice. They are adequate for the price, but when you see the pictures of the rooms, you think you got some amazing deal, then you get the average motel room and realize you always get what you pay for. :( Other than that, the hotel was great the staff was friendly and the place was clean with plenty of things to do and see ... just in the lobby. I would stay there again, but I'd pay for the nicer rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bar Man
Ca
Jun 7, 2010

nice hotel, rip off bartenders

The hotel was nice, but my wife and I got ripped of by one of the bartenders. Being a bartender myself, I know when im getting ripped off. we ordered the same drink twice (not happy hour either) and got 2 different prices, and the drink was terrible anyways. Also, the bartender was a jerk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Diamond Springs, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Sleepless in Reno

Attended a business conference there. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable meeting facilities, good variety of restaurants available. Nice pool and fitness facilities(you pay extra for this) My only complaint is the beds are not very comfortable. It's not the worst hotel bed I have ever slept on, but it's certainly not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 16, 2007

Hotel in transition

We stayed at the Grand Sierra Resort Casino in June 2007, and it was clear that the new owners have great plans to make the hotel a modern, luxury hotel / resort in Reno. It was fine for our purposes, and the 24 - hour bowling alley was a great plus for when we got sick of the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is very close to the Reno Airport, and the highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eugene, OR
Nov 3, 2009

Mother - Daughter Weekend

The Grand Sierra Resort is located only about five minutes from the airport I flew in to. I found my 12th floor room to be large and the furniture comfortable. But, I didn't like that it was located at the very end of the longest corridor in the building ... approximately 200 steps from the elevator, ice machine, and vending machines. Also, the corridor was very dimly lit, making me feel a bit anxious regarding my safety when going to my room late in the evening. The view from my room was poor ... consisting of the flat roofs of other lower parts of the building and a back parking lot. There was no cold water in my bathroom when I first arrived ... Not in the sink, not in the shower, and none for the toilet. Maintenance personnel got it working in about an hour.The bathroom amenities were not great, consisting of one plastic ice bucket (no tray), two glasses (not plastic wrapped), two soaps, one tiny shampoo and one tiny hand lotion. There was no coffee maker.There were several channels available on the large television (good color), but no channel guide.There were several nice shops, a well stocked candy store and a gift shop that I enjoyed. I found none of the live entertainment scheduled during my stay, Saturday thru Monday, of any interest to me. Therefore, I loved the fact that there was a movie theater located on the Arcade level playing new releases for only $3.I ate mainly at The Cafe Sierra due to their varied menu and reasonable prices. The food was quite good. But, after I returned home from my trip and again checked The Grand Sierra Resort website, I discovered that The Cafe Sierra gave seniors 55+ a 50% discount on all meals. As I am 61 and ate there four times, I am disappointed that this discount was not offered to me. I also tried Johnny Rockets, but they were out of the chicken strips I wanted. So I ended up ordering a hamburger, the patty of which I found to be dry and tough and which tasted pre-cooked. Although I was not impressed with my meal, I found the waiter there to be amiable and funny. At the resort's spa I had a Swedish massage and facial. I found the atmosphere relaxing, the prices reasonable and the staff courteous and professional. I came away feeling quite refreshed.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Although all of the fine dining restaurants were close together on the casino level, the casual dining restaurants were scattered between casino level and the lower arcade level and were very far apart from each other. Plus, the two coffee shops were directly across the main corridor from each other. Perhaps a bit too close together.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search