$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
838 out of 838
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellis Dean
Business
Napa, CA
Oct 13, 2014

A vast improvement over what it used to be...

As someone who has either visited or lived in Reno over the past 30 years, I have to say that the Grand Sierra Resort is leaps & bounds better than the former incarnations at this site. Since the purchase of the old Reno Hilton, the ownership has renovated just about everything; the casino, the rooms, the restaurants, the lower level shops...just about everything has been either changed or spruced up (the exceptions being the bowling alley, the Round Table Pizza, the movie theater, and the arcade). The location is still really good for the traveler who wants convenient access to Reno's sights, but isn't looking for a casino crawl; the GSR is a 10 minute drive from downtown. The casino area isn't loud at all, so it's actually sort of relaxing. There is also a non-smoking area close to the front desk. The pool has a "sand beach" which is really cool, and cabana rental (both at an affordable and slightly more expensive "VIP" rate). There really isn't a "deep end", so it's good for kids. The crowd is pretty varied, so again...good for families. No party scene here. We only had the breakfast buffet at the GSR, which was passable. Nothing particularly special, but we didn't get sick and the service was good, so that's good enough when you're talking buffet. The staff was extremely friendly; it was perhaps the easiest check-in experience I've had in years. The arcade is probably the only part of the GSR that could use a little improvement; the variety of games isn't very impressive and many of them were out of order. That's sort of a bummer because my six year-old son could really only find two or three games that he could enjoy...and that's a bummer for GSR because he has a Dad that likes video games too, but if there isn't much variety, I'm not going to spend a lot. In short, it was a good stay, particularly if you are traveling with your family and you want more to do than just gamble. It was nice to have the option of seeing a movie, playing some skee-ball, bowling, or going to the pool, all within reach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

On the corner of Mill & Kietzke (less than a mile away) is an excellent restaurant called Thai Nakorn. Best Thai food in Reno, period.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laina83
Business
Sacramento, ca
Oct 9, 2014

perfect romantic getaway

We were upgraded for free and our room was really nice. We also got comped passes to the nightclub which was surprisingly a good time. The only problem we had is that we got there later 10:30 pm and the nicer restaurants were closed. Otherwise we had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you don't try to go out to dinner too late because only the cantina will be open.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hithereee
Business
Orlando
Oct 3, 2014

Good hotel

Overall my stay was good. You can play casion whole day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mcarp
Business
Nevada
Oct 2, 2014

Not impressed

Reserved a room with King bed. Arrived at 4 PM, desk clerk stated there were no king rooms ready. When asked when they would be ready, clerk said we will put a rush on it and should be about 45 mins. Stated they would call when ready. Gave them my phone number and double checked they had the correct number. 1 !/2 hours later, no phone call. Went back to the desk and 4 clerks standing around deciding on who was going to go on break. Interrupted them and asked if my room was ready. One clerk checked at said yea its ready. The mattress in the room was one of the worst I've slept on in a hotel in a very long time. Comforter was thin. Bathroom door was very hard to close and open, needed adjustment. Definitely not worth the cost of a weekend night. However on a positive note..did win $100 on a slot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Reno traveler
Business
N. NV
Sep 29, 2014

Family trip getaway

This is one of our favorite Reno, NV hotel destinations because it is so conveniently located, has undergone significant remodeling without being disruptive to hotel guests and all of the key amenities. Worth a repeat visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mhgjd
Business
madison, Wi
Sep 25, 2014

definitely use it again for price and convenience

We stayed one night on our way to the airport the next morning and glad we did. It was inexpensive, room was clean and very nice, had an excellent meal in the hotel, and it's practically next door to the airport, perfect for making our 6 am flight. easy check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cris86
Business
Reno nv
Sep 14, 2014

Fun night out

Me and some girl friends stayed here for a night to go to the new club Lex. The room was clean and nice. The club was nice but drinks are way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jen1120
Business
Dixon Ca
Sep 11, 2014

Great

Easy freeway access, everything you need is located in the hotel. Room was very clean and smoke free. Bed was comfy, room service was good, frozen yogurt store was yummy. I always choose to stay here when I am Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jerryt
Business
Cupertino, CA
Sep 9, 2014

Better than Downtown

This resort stay was the best stay I have ever had in Reno. Much better than any of the downtown hotels. Food, Service, Players Comps, and friendly staff made it a pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Players get great Comps on in Hotel Dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni36624
Business
Hanford, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Great casino vacation

If you're looking for a nice hotel for it's value in Reno, the GSR is the place for you. Great size casino, good eats and friendly staff. There were however a couple things missing from our room which would have been nice - no microwave, no refrigerator, and no extra blankets in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top