$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
838 out of 838
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimeTraveller
Business
Bay Area, CA
Sep 20, 2011

Well taken care of

After a slightly long delay due to a booking error between Orbitz and the Hotel, we were well taken care of. The room was nice, newly renovated and had a great view. The onsite golf range was an interesting amenity, and more fun than I had expected. The buffet was good and had a good variety. Overall - very satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duckier
Business
Reno, NV
Sep 15, 2011

Great Time!

It was a good experience. It was a little more pricey than the last time we stayed there. The breakfast menu was a priced higher than the other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tooz
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Nice suite, great price, wasn't ready though

We used a special promotion to get a really great rate on a suite, so the quality of the room for the price was outstanding. Nice furniture, comfortable beds, and lots of space. The main drawback was our room was not ready when we arrived. Check in is 3pm, we arrived at 9:30pm. Went up to our room, and it clearly had not been cleaned yet, with trash and towels from the previous guests. We were pretty tired and had to wait an additional hour before we could go up to our room, which was a bummer. Other than that, nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bombay Jimmy
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Grand Sierra Resort

My stay at GSR was average at best. My room was semi-clean, but there was mold in the grout of the shower. The shower was an annoying dribble-shower, so good luck rinsing the shampoo out of your hair. Limited channels on the TV; plus no complimentary coffee pot; no in-room microwave or fridge and no in-room safe either (which I found really odd at a casino). If you're not gambling the place is going to nickel and dime you to death. Since there is not a coffee pot in your room you be forced to order room service at close to $12 for an 8 cup pot of coffee OR you'll have to leave your room and go down to the main floor and buy a cup of coffee there. If you're not gambling a beer at the bar will cost you $4+. I also found the restaurants and the buffet REALLY expensive when compared to other casinos in the Reno area. The pool area is also expensive and kind of chaotic (not a real good place to relax). I order 2 Diet Cokes while pool side and it cost $4.50 for 2 cups of ice with a dash of soda. There are probably nicer casino/hotels in the Reno area that are a better value when it comes to food, drink and entertainment. I know there is, because I left GSR on a few of the nights that I was there. I spent my money elsewhere AND I got a much better value for my dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to another restaurant or casino for dinner. You'll get better food at a better price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larry J
Business
Olympia, WA, USA
Aug 31, 2011

fun getaway

The room was better than expected. The casino was fine, too much smoke in the air. The cafe messed up our bill 2 days in a row. The casino had lots to offer. The casino was very convenient to freeways and other casinos. We used the location to jump over to Lk Tahoe and Virginia City. Very close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sharon from Ks
Business
Meriden,Ks
Aug 28, 2011

Great Girl Trip

I was a little disappoined that there were no coffee machines in each room.....also, we had no one dust a lamp shade that was over a table that we used as a dining table-Everything else was great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McQue
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Comfort in Reno

Our room was one of the most comfortable we have ever had. Staff was courteous and friendly. The food was very good at every restaurant we frequented in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for an upgrade. Our room was spacious and linen was so comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveldd
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2011

Close to airport. Good size room.

Just passing through and needed a bed. Rate was good. Free shuttle to and from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blonde Rapunzel
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2011

A Nice Couples Getaway

We loved the Grand Sierra Resort, it had all right on the premises (from the restaurants, movie theatre, bowling alley, outdoor pool, casino, great game room w/billards, etc & aqua driving range.)The hotel location was perfect; it was situated by itself but convenient to the highway. We drove to see the "city" section & I was glad I wasn't staying there! Plenty to see & do here in nice surroundings. Good range of restaurants depending on your price preference. Even had evening band entertainment & country line dancing. You can't go wrong staying here & saved $ w/Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There is a full gym on the lower level that is free to hotel guests. I didn't see this listed in any of the hotel information and stumbled across it our last day. It's not open 24 hours so be sure to check for availability.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cbridges22
Business
Tangent, OR, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Great for couples or familys.

We enjoyed everything about this hotel.If you are a smoker don't ask for a smoking room.They are out dated and stink.We ask for one and got there and they stunk,the whole floor did.I went back to the desk and they moved us with no problem.You can smoke outside and at some of the bars so it is worth not having a smoking room to get the great views on rooms higher up.I can't say enough about the pool,you thought you were at the beach.And if you go to the Spa ask for Frank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top