$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
814 out of 814
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Jenks
Family
Pleasanton, CA
Jun 18, 2012

baseball trip

We had a great stay until my son had $20 stolen from his wallet that he left in the room. He has learned a difficult life lesson...never leave your wallet in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

the Lodge had a great buffet breakfast.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrlucky
Couples
Florida
Jun 15, 2012

Good time had by all

Found the hotel staff to be right on the mark. Would go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Elderado holtel

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harold Chun
Couples
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2012

Grand Sierra Resort, Reno

When I checked in at the Grand Sierra Resort on June 4, 2012, they did not have my reservation. I had to show them my paperwork although I did not have a confirmation number. The reservation desk had to check with the manger and they then gave me a room. I don't know why they didn't have my reservation on file. Grand Sierra Resort is a very nice hotel/casino but their hallways leading to the rooms are dingy and horrid. It's the ugliest I've seen. and it does not match the elegance of the casino. The dark green base boards, chair rails, corner trim and door trims, the green, orange-red vertical doors, and ugly carpet have to to go. The hallways looked very cheap. I suggest the hotel get a good interior designer to re-do the hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Damon Green
Couples
California
May 31, 2012

Awesome Staff, Great Value, Nice Rooms.

The staff at the Grand Sierra were very friendly and pleasant. The price was unbelievable and the rooms were fantastic. This hotel has lots to offer in the way of food and fun. I absolutely reccomend this hotel for all ages. Couldn't get better in any way. If you're looking to have a good time at an affordable price in Reno the Grand Sierra is deffinitley the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Grad
Family
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Quick get-a-way

They had everything I needed to keep busy. Movie theater, bowling alley, and lots of restaurants. Even a little 24 hour pizza shop. Shuttle to & from the airport was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$3 seats at the theater. Woo Hoo!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business from New York
Business
New York
May 15, 2012

Close to Airport - not 4 stars

May be 4 stars for Reno, but don't be expecting a "normal" 4 star hotel in terms of room and amenities. Lots of restaurant options and good effort in planning and organizing nightlife events. 5 min from the airport a huge plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Mac
Family
San Jose, CA
May 14, 2012

The Total Package

I went only needing a hotel room -- but I ended up enjoying all the other features to the resort -- Restaurant Row provided many options to dine, the casino area was very comfortable, and the staff super nice and helpful. I wlll definitely stay at the GSR again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daron
Friends
Texas
May 9, 2012

Pretty decent for the price

Very close to the airport. You could probably walk to it, but it's not so close you hear planes or anything. For the most part the GSR is pretty dated, meaning "old" looking. The exterior, the hallways to the rooms, and the rooms all appear untouched for 30 years. The casino part is nice, not a ton of variety for gambling, but we're not big on that. What adds a lot to the hotel are the golf driving range, the virtual golf room, the go carts, bowling alley, and I think they have a movie theater and arcade. Other than that it has a touch of ghetto. The only food we had in the casino was the breakfast buffet once. It was limited and horrible. Take a cab to a local place and it will be much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the breakfast buffet in the casino. For less money you can take a cab to the Stone House Cafe and have much better food.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rockel
Couples
Klamath Falls OR
May 8, 2012

PRICE WAS GOOD!

The price was great and we should have known there was a reason for it. Cannot complain about the bed, it was very comfortable and nice linens, however very disappointed with older TV, hardly any channels and dirty chalking around the tub, (creepy). An out dated shower with low water pressure. NO coffeemaker or refrigerator in room and ice is located on the casino floor, not convienent! Tried to find something stating if there was a coffeemaker in the room before booking and nothing would come up. If sleeping is all you are going to do in the room then it's worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cargo DelRio
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 7, 2012

When it's cheaper than Motel 6 - stay here !

Actually, since GSR charges a $10 "resort fee" it wasn't really cheaper than Motel 6, but it was way better. At $46 (room + 'resort fee') it's a good value. I just needed a room for a quick overnight business trip. If I had paid more, like I'm used to in most major cities, I would have been REALLY disappointed and considered the room REALLY tired. That said - don't expect a coffeemaker but do expect an ancient Phillips tube TV, with limited cable channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop nearby Sierra Trading Post for terrific deals on clothing and accessories.

Back to menu Return to top