$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
900 out of 900
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New to Reno
Los angeles
Jan 6, 2013

Very nice

The room was great. Bring your own pillow the ones in the room are too big. The restaurants are good. The buffet food is good, not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Sally
Business
Fairfield ca
Sep 14, 2012

Couple day get away

Great hotel casino was nice to me as well . Resourceful staff. Will be back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Best to go downtown always lost of things to do and people to meet!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom OOO
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2012

vacation trip

Driving throygh the area and enjoyed the time at the hotel. They were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winterpegger
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Sep 12, 2012

A perfect stay at a very reasonable price

We checked in for only one night, but enjoyed it so much, we booked in for another night. Their amenities were super. They had a movie theatre onsite, and lots to do, for both adults and children. They had a huge pool and hot tub (and very clean). The front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. We loved staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are a lot of dining options right in the hotel. We ate at the buffet, and they had very good meal choices.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Lauren
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Fun and comfortable

We came to the Grand Sierra after a week of camping. We rented one of the junior suites in the Summit. The room was beautifully decorated. The beds are excellent (posturpedic, or some good brand - I forget) (my boyfriend thought they were too soft, but I loved them.) The pillows are down and fluffy. Super comfey! The food downstairs at the buffet is not bad, but The Cantina is ecellent. Lots of fun stuff to do - pool party with DJs, great music headliners if you got the money. $3 movie theatre. Bowling alley. Lots of fun! Oh and I won $50 on my first dollar played in the slot machine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
college parent 2012
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 10, 2012

UNR visit

Hotel needs a makeover. Wall paper peeling in bathroom. Toilet would not flush. Carpet disgusting throughout rooms and hallways. Cocktail waitresses few and far between. Fitness center had numerous out-of-order machines and did not provide water. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
Business
New York, NY
Sep 5, 2012

Post Burning Man Recoup and Relaxation

This place is MASSIVE but it has a very boutique feel, the moment you walk through the impressive glass and brass entrance. A helpful representative greeted me warmly and directed me to the main desk for check in. And while there was quite a line for check in, the wait was minimal and process was seamless - within about two minutes of reaching the desk agent, I had my room key. And about my room. . .a massive grand suite on a high floor that had everything from a perfect marble and glass bathroom to panoramic views of Reno and the surrounding areas. I had dinner in the hotel three times and was blown away each time. Service was perfect, attentive, and professional. I'd definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food, excellent value, perfect service is all an elevator ride from you room. Sushi, Steak, and just about anything else you could ask for is right there. . .oh and please check out Wet - the hotels ultra sheik bar on the main level.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
family vacation of five
Business
Oregon
Sep 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay here again

Very clean view. Beautiful view of the Sierras. The room was very clean and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chenga
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 28, 2012

Stressful Stay

I was really excited about getting this hotel since I've heard great reviews from friends and family. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience as everyone else. When we got to our requested non smoking room, it was clear that it was not a non smoking room even thought the front desk stated it was. Since we got there at 3:30AM and had to wake up in about 4 hours, I decided to just ask for a room change in the morning. When requesting a room change, the front desk was understanding and said they would have a room ready by 1PM (when we would get back). The thing that kind of upset me was that she asked us to take out our bags so that they could use that room for someone else. Since we didn't really unpack too much, I agreed to that request and we all took our bags to the car. When returning at 1:45PM, I went to the front desk and the lady (not the same one) was extremely rude and told us that the room was not ready. At this point we were all tired from our kayaking trip and only running on 4 hours of sleep after a long drive. I asked her when they would be ready and she said she didn't know and told us to call them in a few hours. So we went back to our old room that still smelled of smoke and decided to take a nap. Half an hour later, housekeeping came knocking on the room asking to clean the room and we explained the situation. I called the front desk and hour later and they kept saying that it was not ready. Finally at 3:30PM, it was the last straw. Housekeeping came again (I didn't blame it on them) and I called the front desk and the lady said she can put us in another room (not the one that the originally blocked out for us). Now, why couldn't she do that in the first place? Why did they waste all of our time and also none of my friends and I were able to settle in peacefully and just relax! Went downstairs and got the key from the rude front desk agent and made a complaint to the manager who was nice enough to give us a free meal. Although that was a nice gesture, I have never had such a bad experience with just getting a room. Other than that, the rooms were spacious and decently clean. Our first bathroom clogged when showering and our second room's bathroom smelled a little like urine when we first got in. The pool was extremely large and the resort itself was very family friendly (non smoking section of a casino, arcade, gym, various activities outside as well).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The ELEMENTS buffet in the hotel was not bad. There were crab legs and shrimp for the sunday brunch!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RenoSteve
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Nice Wedding Anniversary

We're local Reno residents who visit the casino and buffet at the Grand Sierra Resort at least once a month. So, I decided that I would surprise my wife with a 1 night stay in one of the hotel's suites. Our wedding anniversary happened to coincide with the dedication of the renovated hotel and casino. The casino, hotel lobby, elevators and hallways looked great. Although our room was nice and very comfortable, it had not been renovated. I had to call the front desk to have engineering come and fasten a utility plate in the bathroom. We had plenty of towels that were very large, but not very soft. We only had 1 wash cloth, but by the time this was noticed, we were ready to check out. We were in a non-smoking room, but we could smell a faint odor of cigarette smoke (maybe coming from the room next to or below ours). Although I expected more, my wife was very happy that we spent our anniversary night in our hotel suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPSnAMS
Business
Concord, CA
Aug 27, 2012

OK

Room was old, toilet dirty, walls falling apart, bathroom disgusting. Will not stay here again since room was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top