$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
856 out of 856
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RenoSteve
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 27, 2012

Nice Wedding Anniversary

We're local Reno residents who visit the casino and buffet at the Grand Sierra Resort at least once a month. So, I decided that I would surprise my wife with a 1 night stay in one of the hotel's suites. Our wedding anniversary happened to coincide with the dedication of the renovated hotel and casino. The casino, hotel lobby, elevators and hallways looked great. Although our room was nice and very comfortable, it had not been renovated. I had to call the front desk to have engineering come and fasten a utility plate in the bathroom. We had plenty of towels that were very large, but not very soft. We only had 1 wash cloth, but by the time this was noticed, we were ready to check out. We were in a non-smoking room, but we could smell a faint odor of cigarette smoke (maybe coming from the room next to or below ours). Although I expected more, my wife was very happy that we spent our anniversary night in our hotel suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPSnAMS
Business
Concord, CA
Aug 27, 2012

OK

Room was old, toilet dirty, walls falling apart, bathroom disgusting. Will not stay here again since room was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel shopper
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 26, 2012

BAIT and SWITCH!! Beware!

During our trip we stayed at 4 separate hotels to see which one we would recommend for a future conference. First of all, I booked based on the pictures advertised on their website. At check in, the desk clerk did not find my reservation. She eluded that 3rd party reservations sometimes get lost. I was patient and remarked that as long as I get a non-smoking room with a king bed, I would be fine. She then said that the hotel is overbooked and there are no king beds available. Again, I acquiesced, and proceeded to our room. When the elevator door opened on the 15th floor, I was stunned. I felt like I was thrown back to the 1970s. To say that the decor was dated is an understatement. The hallways were dreary and the stenciling on the wall paper made me nauseous. When I arrived to room 1577, I could not believe the beat up furniture and mouldy tiles I was greeted with. I immediately called down to the front desk to give them the opportunity to make this right. I explained what I purchased and what my expectations were. The woman on the phone said that I have a standard room and pushed the blame on our 3rd party reservation. She did not accept responsibility on behalf of the hotel who is partnered with them. I was never offered an upgrade at check-in, maybe because they could not find my reservation, but if I had been told at check-in what to expect, then the Bait and Switch may have been less of a shock. Since this hotel plays dirty, we decided not to patronize them during our 3 night stay and spent ALL our gambling, dining, drinking and spa money at other hotels. We checked out on Friday, August 24th. I was ready to tell the front desk clerk how my stay was, but she NEVER asked me about my stay! I could not believe it. Again, we stayed at 4 hotels in search of a worthy candidate for our 1500+ conference. We wanted to see how we would be treated as a typical guest. And this is the FIRST hotel that did not even care to ask about our experience with them. The clerk simply asked if I wanted a receipt and goodbye. This hotel is not interested in their clientele. They are making their money from offering their "resort" amenities to the general public. The pool called "The Beach", is monitored because it is open to the public for a fee. The entrance to the pool is off a side parking lot! There is no exclusivity here and they should not be charging $11 a night resort fee for amenities offered to the general public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Go elsewhere! This hotel is not ethical. They deceive you with beautiful pictures of modern rooms and give you a run down, beat up, outdated room that makes a roadside motel look luxurious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irvine Mike
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Irvine Mike

Great hotel! And they recommended a great last minute deal . I went on the WEB in the lobby using the hotels open Wi-Fi and got a half price deal for two rooms at 8:30PM! Was in the room in 45minutes after waiting for the hotels computer to update and catchup with the instantaneous WEB computers. Good food, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Biker
Business
Regina, SK, Canada
Aug 22, 2012

Hot August nights

booked the room a month in advance as I was biking across the western states. Had no idea that hot august nights was going on. desk staff was busy but efficient. Bar staff was really slow. I was travelling through on a Harley and the valet staff and the security staff helped me get preferred parking at the east entrance. Loved the place. Loved Hot August Nights - it was a treat for a tired traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Occassional Traveller 101
Business
San Ramon, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Beware of standard rooms

We had booked 2 standard rooms and were highly disappointed with the price / performance. There was nothing 4 star about these rooms, I won't give it any better than 2 star. The rooms were showing their age with old carpets and drapes. Even a coffee maker wasn't provided. Shampoo was there but no conditioner. I was later told that Summit rooms (17th to 26th floor) were the upgraded rooms with better in-room amenities. We were there just for 1 night and could have paid half the price to stay in a cheaper hotel and come down just for the resort amenities. Next time I will know better :) The 4*s for amenities are for the resort. GSR has plenty of things for families to do. We took advantage of the go karting and Skycoaster / rip cord and they were fun. On the previous Reno trip (Christmas 2009), we stayed at The Peppermill in their Tuscany tower and got a great package with resort credit and arcade credit to boot. That was one memorable trip. It's possible that Summit@GSR compares with Tuscany@Peppermill. But I may never find out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For a Vegas Strip like feel, I would recommend staying elsewhere since GSR is on the other side of the freeway and you can't walk down to Virginia Street where many of the other casinos are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HMO Pueblo
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 16, 2012

Close to the airport, good location

The place was better than we had expected. Will try again, we may upgrade the room to see the differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShellyShell
Business
San Jose,California
Aug 15, 2012

Reno's one stop shop

It was great.It had a pool,jacuzzi....a whole bother level for kids.It was great.The restaurants were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cantina has over 150 types of tequila!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super... mom
Business
SF
Aug 12, 2012

average

price is good, however, the hotel is a little too dark, not much food choices, the worse thing is no fridge...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun seeker
Business
Lodi, California
Aug 10, 2012

fun for all

if you want to have fun but be able to rest, this is the hotel for you. hot august nights celebrations in full force, mini race track, music concerts at night and car show, the noise never enter my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

bowling, great arcade room, miniature golf, pool, movies, shopping all in one hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top