$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 16, 2015 Check-out: Feb 18, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
822 reviews
GSR rocks

We like this place. Fairly priced, great concert venue and all night bowling. I would stay here again. See full review

  • Michael C.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Excellent!!!

The Grand Sierra is just an excellent hotel! I can't wait to go back and see it after all the... See full review

  • Gregory N.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Holiday resort offering variety of leisure facilities in Reno-Tahoe
With $25 million in renovations underway, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe and features a level of luxury and sophistication unprecedented in Reno. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,990 new guest rooms, 845 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, 10 distinct restaurants, health club (24 hours) and spa, headliner entertainment, exciting nightlife, Cineplex, 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, and aqua golf driving range. Grand Sierra is the largest casino north of Las Vegas.

At Grand Sierra Resort, diners can indulge on mouth-watering dishes for dinner at the award-winning steakhouse, Charlie Palmer Steak. Guests can also feast on antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes at Briscola, the family-style Italian restaurant. The Cantina offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine. The pan-Asian bistro Rim features specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand. Casual options include Elements Buffet, 2nd Street Express, Starbucks, Round Table Pizza, Port of Subs, and Cafierra. The resort also features seven bars, including a wine bar,  a country-western bar, and WET, a lounge bar featuring Happy Hour and live entertainment.

Recreation at Grand Sierra Resort & Casino includes a health spa (surcharge), bowling, golf and an amusement park that features go cart racing and miniature golf. The on-site shopping includes a variety of unique boutiques, gift shops and candy store.
Reasons To Stay
  • On-site casino, largest in northern Nevada
  • Numerous restaurants and bars on site including the lounge WET
  • Health Spa, Bowling Center and Amusement Park with go kart racing and miniature golf
  • Newest rooms in Reno
Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

This chic hotel offers the newest rooms in Reno, having 1,990 rooms, including 845 suites. Rooms at Grand Sierra Resort Casino boast ample space, stylish furniture, and sweeping views of the city. Iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and TV with pay-per-view movies are available in each room. Some units come with extra amenities such as mini refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, wet bar, and bathroom with walk-in closet. This property also offers connecting rooms and 178-slot RV Parking.

Dining

The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.

Things To Do
  • National automobile Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sparks Heritage Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Meadowood Mall (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Wild Island Family Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lakeridge Golf Course (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Reno Indoor Paintball (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Policies & Fees

  • The hotel charges a $10.00 resort fee which includes Wi-Fi access, in-room bottled water, access to fitness center, local calls, parking and airport transfers.
  • The hotel charges a refundable security and incidental fee of $50 USD per night. This can be authorized on any major credit card. Please allow 5-7 days for refund to take effect.
  • Guests staying in the concierge level rooms must be 21 years of age or older.

Pet Policy:

  1. There are designated pet floors that are only available in the entry price point, which at this time are GSR rooms only.
  2. Pets are not allowed in the GSR Summit.
  3. NON REFUNDABLE Pet fees per pet are $30 per night on weekdays and $40 per night on the weekends.
  4. All pets must visibly display the registered pet leash which requires a $25 refundable deposit upon check-in. This will be refunded upon return of the leash at check-out.
  5. The maximum weight for a pet is 50 lb, and there is a maximum of 2 pets per room.
  6. Unregistered pets will be charged a $150 non-registered pet fee in addition to the nightly pet fee.
  7. The following dog breeds are not allowed on the property: Pitbull, Bull Mastiff, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pincher, and Wolfdog or Wolf Hybrid.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Sierra Resort Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Sierra Resort Casino Rooms

Concierge Grand Suite
The Concierge Suites are perched on the top floors of the resort with exclusive elevator access and offer guests a higher level of luxury, views, amenities and services. Extending the Summit standard level of luxury and comfort these suites are feature rich colors,including a King size bed a 42" flat-screen HD TV, butler pantry, and spa inspired marble bathroom.Concierge enhanced features are Special secure elevator access, Fiji Bottle Water, Starbucks Coffee, 5 star rated Centium Satin Tuxedo Stripe bed linen, Centium Core Technology bath towels for unsurpassed comfort and superior softness, Access to the Concierge 25 VIP Lounge
Concierge Grand II Suite
Located on the exclusive top Concierge floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. In-room Amenities include King size bed or Two Queens, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress,Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Grand II Suite
Located on the upper floors with breath taking views, this suite is decorated in a sophisticated palette of colors that exudes contemporary style without sacrificing comfort. A pillow top mattress, flat-screen HD TV, and butler's pantry are just some of the amenities that make up this renovated room. Make this your choice of hotel in Reno, Nevada.King size bed, 558 square feet of lavish furnishings, Exclusive pillow top mattress, Parlor expanse with separating curtain, Pull-out sofa, 42" flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Marble bathroom with glass enclosed shower, Butler's pantry with coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, Complimentary In-room safe, Smoke free environment
Standard Room
With almost 500 square feet, our guest rooms offer considerably more living space than many hotels. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.
GSR Hotel Room
This newly renovated guest room offers comfortable living space, up-to-date furnishings, bright colors, luxurious bedding, and updated bathrooms. Accommodation options include one king bed or two queen beds.425 square feet of upgraded furnishings, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, Flat-screen HD TV with premium HD channels, Pay-per-view movies, Writing desk with ergonomic chair, Remodeled bathroom with shower-tub combo, Smoke free environment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 0.4 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 1.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 1.9 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.9 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 2.5 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 2.6 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 2.7 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 2.8 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 3.3 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 4 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 9.9 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 11.1 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12.1 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 14.6 mi
  • Animal Ark: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 200,000 square feet of convention and meeting space.

Dining

Rim
This pan-Asian bistro featuring specialties from Japan, China, Korea, and Thailand serves sushi bar, sakes, specialty cocktails for lunch and dinner.
Crystal Lounge
Take in the cozy atmosphere of this relaxing lounge, nestled in the heart of Restaurant Row. Table seating and comfortable chairs encourage extended visits, and the nightly sounds of a live piano player smoothly blend with sophisticated spirits. Within earshot of our finest restaurants, the Crystal Lounge makes a marvelous place to enjoy a drink should you have to wait for a table.
Briscola
TThis family-style Italian restaurant created by Charlie Palmer serves antipasti, fresh pastas, chicken, veal, and other meat dishes. It is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday.
Cafe Sierra
This family-friendly coffee shop serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Mustangs Dancehall and Saloon
Wild horses will not be able to drag visitors away from this dynamic venue featuring live music from local country bands, up-and-coming country acts, western legends and celebrity deejays Tuesday - Saturday nights. Sexy cowgirl servers will perform custom dance routines every half hour including sultry moves on top of the bar. Spectacular drink specials and honky-tonk cocktails make Mustangs Dance Hall and Saloon the wildest watering hole in Reno.
2nd Street Express
This 24-hour fast food venue, serves breakfast specialties, pastries, delicious salads and hot sandwiches, hot soups and homemade gelato.
Cantina
Cantina, offers over 115 tequilas to choose from. Friendly servers deliver entertainment along with delicious authentic Mexican small plate cuisine you'll love.
The Elements Buffet
The Elements Buffet is Reno's newest buffet, featuring a cozy atmosphere, a spectacular array of foods, and exciting action cooking stations. Chefs are at attention to serve up hot carved meats, pizzas right from the oven, and fresh tossed salads. There's a pasta station with hot sauces prepared before your eyes, a south of the border station with enchiladas, and more. At the Elements Buffet, diners can also enjoy foods from around the world at the international station as well as the ever popular seafood station filled with fresh cooked shrimp and crab. Be prepared to save room for desert with the fully stacked pastry bar, featuring a make-your-own sundae station.
Starbucks
Start your day off with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, or specialty drink of your choice. Starbucks also offers a fantastic pastry selection, juices and sandwiches for your pleasure.
Charlie Palmer Steak
Charlie Palmer Steak - Celebrity chef Charlie Palmer created this award-winning steakhouse. Specialties include Porterhouse for Two, Kansas City Rib-Eye, Blue Cheese-Crusted Top Sirloin, T-Bone Steak, and West Coast wines. It is open for dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (822)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
822 out of 822
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steveair57
Business
Greenville, SC
Sep 16, 2012

Would Stay Again

We came for the Reno Air Races and I just wanted a reasonable room. We did a casino crawl last night and I would say this is close to the best pace to stay in Reno if not the best. Lots of restaurants, driving range, bowling, nice pool-you could stay here and not ever have to druve anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tahoe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShellyShell
Business
San Jose,California
Sep 14, 2012

Ok...

Our Grand Suite was great, but it took a while for them to find our resrvqtion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cantina has awesome food, and wonderful tequila!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Sally
Business
Fairfield ca
Sep 14, 2012

Couple day get away

Great hotel casino was nice to me as well . Resourceful staff. Will be back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Best to go downtown always lost of things to do and people to meet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom OOO
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2012

vacation trip

Driving throygh the area and enjoyed the time at the hotel. They were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winterpegger
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Sep 12, 2012

A perfect stay at a very reasonable price

We checked in for only one night, but enjoyed it so much, we booked in for another night. Their amenities were super. They had a movie theatre onsite, and lots to do, for both adults and children. They had a huge pool and hot tub (and very clean). The front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. We loved staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are a lot of dining options right in the hotel. We ate at the buffet, and they had very good meal choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Lauren
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Fun and comfortable

We came to the Grand Sierra after a week of camping. We rented one of the junior suites in the Summit. The room was beautifully decorated. The beds are excellent (posturpedic, or some good brand - I forget) (my boyfriend thought they were too soft, but I loved them.) The pillows are down and fluffy. Super comfey! The food downstairs at the buffet is not bad, but The Cantina is ecellent. Lots of fun stuff to do - pool party with DJs, great music headliners if you got the money. $3 movie theatre. Bowling alley. Lots of fun! Oh and I won $50 on my first dollar played in the slot machine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
college parent 2012
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 10, 2012

UNR visit

Hotel needs a makeover. Wall paper peeling in bathroom. Toilet would not flush. Carpet disgusting throughout rooms and hallways. Cocktail waitresses few and far between. Fitness center had numerous out-of-order machines and did not provide water. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burning Man Virgin No Mor
Business
New York, NY
Sep 5, 2012

Post Burning Man Recoup and Relaxation

This place is MASSIVE but it has a very boutique feel, the moment you walk through the impressive glass and brass entrance. A helpful representative greeted me warmly and directed me to the main desk for check in. And while there was quite a line for check in, the wait was minimal and process was seamless - within about two minutes of reaching the desk agent, I had my room key. And about my room. . .a massive grand suite on a high floor that had everything from a perfect marble and glass bathroom to panoramic views of Reno and the surrounding areas. I had dinner in the hotel three times and was blown away each time. Service was perfect, attentive, and professional. I'd definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food, excellent value, perfect service is all an elevator ride from you room. Sushi, Steak, and just about anything else you could ask for is right there. . .oh and please check out Wet - the hotels ultra sheik bar on the main level.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
family vacation of five
Business
Oregon
Sep 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay here again

Very clean view. Beautiful view of the Sierras. The room was very clean and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chenga
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 28, 2012

Stressful Stay

I was really excited about getting this hotel since I've heard great reviews from friends and family. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience as everyone else. When we got to our requested non smoking room, it was clear that it was not a non smoking room even thought the front desk stated it was. Since we got there at 3:30AM and had to wake up in about 4 hours, I decided to just ask for a room change in the morning. When requesting a room change, the front desk was understanding and said they would have a room ready by 1PM (when we would get back). The thing that kind of upset me was that she asked us to take out our bags so that they could use that room for someone else. Since we didn't really unpack too much, I agreed to that request and we all took our bags to the car. When returning at 1:45PM, I went to the front desk and the lady (not the same one) was extremely rude and told us that the room was not ready. At this point we were all tired from our kayaking trip and only running on 4 hours of sleep after a long drive. I asked her when they would be ready and she said she didn't know and told us to call them in a few hours. So we went back to our old room that still smelled of smoke and decided to take a nap. Half an hour later, housekeeping came knocking on the room asking to clean the room and we explained the situation. I called the front desk and hour later and they kept saying that it was not ready. Finally at 3:30PM, it was the last straw. Housekeeping came again (I didn't blame it on them) and I called the front desk and the lady said she can put us in another room (not the one that the originally blocked out for us). Now, why couldn't she do that in the first place? Why did they waste all of our time and also none of my friends and I were able to settle in peacefully and just relax! Went downstairs and got the key from the rude front desk agent and made a complaint to the manager who was nice enough to give us a free meal. Although that was a nice gesture, I have never had such a bad experience with just getting a room. Other than that, the rooms were spacious and decently clean. Our first bathroom clogged when showering and our second room's bathroom smelled a little like urine when we first got in. The pool was extremely large and the resort itself was very family friendly (non smoking section of a casino, arcade, gym, various activities outside as well).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The ELEMENTS buffet in the hotel was not bad. There were crab legs and shrimp for the sunday brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top