$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
814 out of 814
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harvalho
Couples
South Lake Tahoe
Mar 18, 2014

Stay elsewhere

Location is terrible - by a freeway with absolutely nothing around it. Activities described (karting, pool, golf etc) were all closed. Other hotels offer restaurants / bars near by - not here! Very long q at check in. Much better hotels can be found for the same price, wish we'd stayed elsewhere - try Atlantis, Peppermill (prettiest), Harrahs (good location) all similar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Outback steak house (opposite Atlantis casino) is amazing - try Victoria Fillet

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonbonjoy
Friends
Alameda, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Just blah.

I stayed here to be able to attend a concert. The staff were great. The room was grungy and dingy. It wasn't worth the $100, more like $50. I probably won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cargo DelRio
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 7, 2012

When it's cheaper than Motel 6 - stay here !

Actually, since GSR charges a $10 "resort fee" it wasn't really cheaper than Motel 6, but it was way better. At $46 (room + 'resort fee') it's a good value. I just needed a room for a quick overnight business trip. If I had paid more, like I'm used to in most major cities, I would have been REALLY disappointed and considered the room REALLY tired. That said - don't expect a coffeemaker but do expect an ancient Phillips tube TV, with limited cable channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop nearby Sierra Trading Post for terrific deals on clothing and accessories.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ex travel agent mom
Family
colton, california
Jul 7, 2012

Family getaway

The picture is so deceitful. We got a very standard room with dump capet. Found Many leftover linen from laundry in the blanket. No fridge or microwave. I paid extra to have small old fridge in the room. I think with a little bit more buck, I can get a better room in other room. Staff also not friendly. When I asked for fridge, the lady in housekeeping dept. Explained the charge of rent with no friendly manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The show viva la cirque is great show

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubicon Mom
Family
Oroville , California
Jul 9, 2012

Family Fun

Personell at check in were very nice and helpful, There is lots to do for the kids, Our only issue was the cleanliness, this was not a 4star room, more like 2 star. Tables looked dirty, comforters hadn't been cleaned for awhile, and my son even found the lid to someone priors coffee still in the room on the floor. Beds were comfortable as long as you didn't use comforter. Honestly I was afraid to walk around with no shoes on. I'm hoping that next visit will be in a cleaner nonsmelling room. Not that I would visit there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James503
Family
Salem OR.
Jul 14, 2012

The arrival

After flying all day to come see my grandchildren, i checked in and was sent to a room on the 7th floor. Upon arrival i found the room a complete disaster. House cleaning had never been there. I called the front dest, who told me to come back down, sweaty from the trip and the Reno heat, all my bags in tow, to get another room. Once there i was given a room on the 10th floor, and was told that i have been upgraded. Well, i'm not sure what their definition of an upgrade is, but it was the clone of the room on the seventh...though at least this time it was clean. The rest of my stay was uneventful, but the ice machine never worked on my floor until my last night, and there was the constant inconveinence of having to go to the basement and take the moving stairs back up...though that was only a minor issue. My stay was fine after this initial problem, but it has left a bad taste in my mouth for this particular hotel... James McDonald

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPSnAMS
Couples
Concord, CA
Aug 27, 2012

OK

Room was old, toilet dirty, walls falling apart, bathroom disgusting. Will not stay here again since room was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
college parent 2012
Couples
Fresno, CA
Sep 10, 2012

UNR visit

Hotel needs a makeover. Wall paper peeling in bathroom. Toilet would not flush. Carpet disgusting throughout rooms and hallways. Cocktail waitresses few and far between. Fitness center had numerous out-of-order machines and did not provide water. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
powerstroke 54
Couples
mansfield,pa.
Nov 10, 2012

visiting

i would not stay there again. we were very disappointed in the room. we had no idea there was no ammenities such as coffee maker, fridge, or microwave. it was almost like buying a new car, everything was an option. did not understand what a resort fee is. no pool, jacuzzi, exercise room etc .unless you paid to go to spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Axe'm Jack
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 18, 2012

False Advertising

To start, the pictures available online are not accurate as to what the room actually looked like. The room was not renovated, the electrical outlets shocked me (multiple times) when pluging in my cell phone and laptop, and (despite multi complaints with staff) persons smoking ( and selling) narcotics in a hotel room were not even spoken to. This is by faaaaaaaar the worst hotel expierence that I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the club in the hotel/casino was the only good thing about the stay

Back to menu Return to top