$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
915 out of 915
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chenga
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 28, 2012

Stressful Stay

I was really excited about getting this hotel since I've heard great reviews from friends and family. Unfortunately, I did not have the same experience as everyone else. When we got to our requested non smoking room, it was clear that it was not a non smoking room even thought the front desk stated it was. Since we got there at 3:30AM and had to wake up in about 4 hours, I decided to just ask for a room change in the morning. When requesting a room change, the front desk was understanding and said they would have a room ready by 1PM (when we would get back). The thing that kind of upset me was that she asked us to take out our bags so that they could use that room for someone else. Since we didn't really unpack too much, I agreed to that request and we all took our bags to the car. When returning at 1:45PM, I went to the front desk and the lady (not the same one) was extremely rude and told us that the room was not ready. At this point we were all tired from our kayaking trip and only running on 4 hours of sleep after a long drive. I asked her when they would be ready and she said she didn't know and told us to call them in a few hours. So we went back to our old room that still smelled of smoke and decided to take a nap. Half an hour later, housekeeping came knocking on the room asking to clean the room and we explained the situation. I called the front desk and hour later and they kept saying that it was not ready. Finally at 3:30PM, it was the last straw. Housekeeping came again (I didn't blame it on them) and I called the front desk and the lady said she can put us in another room (not the one that the originally blocked out for us). Now, why couldn't she do that in the first place? Why did they waste all of our time and also none of my friends and I were able to settle in peacefully and just relax! Went downstairs and got the key from the rude front desk agent and made a complaint to the manager who was nice enough to give us a free meal. Although that was a nice gesture, I have never had such a bad experience with just getting a room. Other than that, the rooms were spacious and decently clean. Our first bathroom clogged when showering and our second room's bathroom smelled a little like urine when we first got in. The pool was extremely large and the resort itself was very family friendly (non smoking section of a casino, arcade, gym, various activities outside as well).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The ELEMENTS buffet in the hotel was not bad. There were crab legs and shrimp for the sunday brunch!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShellyShell
Business
San Jose,California
Sep 14, 2012

Ok...

Our Grand Suite was great, but it took a while for them to find our resrvqtion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cantina has awesome food, and wonderful tequila!

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junior23
Business
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Oct 10, 2012

Service needs some work

Our stay started off not so great. I paid for the room upgrade on or bitz, but was checked into a standard room. After dinner, I decided that I should speak up. The standard rooms are not work anything over $50 per night. The Summit was very nice and clean. You've done a great job with the remodel. The service was very disappointing throughout our stay. Only one person at the front desk, staff at buffets do not know what type of food they are serving, service staff in restaurants very inattentive, casino staff rude when my 3 year old walked over to the slot machines (i was right there to tell him no, a 3 year old sees pirates and fish and blinking lights, they don't understand they are adult games) (move the machines farther than 2 ft from the front desk line if you dont want kids on the carpet). Finally, the smoking is such a turn off. I guess I'm a California girl and can't stand the stuff. Even the non-smoking rooms smell of smoke cause it infiltrates the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The movie theater is a nice amenity. Not new, but the couches are great and so are the prices of the movies.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mangy
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 19, 2012

Recent Stay

Hotel had decent furnishing and amenties. Nothing stood out as being above average, except very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glen E
Business
Northern CA
Oct 27, 2012

Convenient to airport

Disappointed that they don't offer stay, park, fly services. Need to have more staff for check in/out. Up to 12 people in line and one front desk person. This has been the case every time we check in/out at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yisrael66
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Fun for the family, loud room

We enjoyed the stay at the hotel, there's lots to do. But our room was connected by a door to another room of angry yelling family, and there was no sound barrier at all, made for a long night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greeneyedlady
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 14, 2012

Gambling getaway

The food was good although there was not that much to choose from and buffet was closed one day. Place was empty. We had to go to other casinos to play poker. No night life. The staff did not leave water or soap after the room was cleaned and we had to call for towels, soap after checking in since one of our rooms had none. Toilet paper was very cheap and did not last. We will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Oregon man
Business
Oregon
Nov 22, 2012

Great value for the price!

Everything was great except for the mold in the tub and the 40 year old TV!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawthorne's Super Trucker
Business
Hawthorne, NV
Dec 7, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Overall, the hotel was okay. However, check in was backed up and took a while to get through, understaffed. The room was ok, and was quiet. The resort was a disappointment. None of the good restaurants open early, including the buffet, so we ended up eating at Johnny Rockets because we were hungry. That was a pleasant surprise, food was good, staff friendly, and very helpful. Johnny Rockets shouldn't have to be the highlight of a so-called "Resort". I think there are better values in Reno, with much better services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Johnny Rockets was a plus, but the other restaurants were limited on hours. Very disappointed.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lare Bear
Business
Newberg, Oregon
Dec 27, 2012

Average Stay

The hotel was average. Nothing to write home about, yet nothing to really complain about either. The restaurants were quite good and very reasonably priced. The shopping was fun as well as the arcade area for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top