$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Grand Sierra Resort Casino

4 stars
View map of 2500 E. Second St., Reno, NV 89595

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
814 out of 814
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marybeth Super Momma
Couples
Reno, NV
Jan 12, 2013

GSR Grand Suite

Baller room, great value, good service. Rad. For real, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
celeb
Family
Missouri
Oct 28, 2014

n/a

Nice place, easy to get to, close to airport..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessicaK
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Oct 23, 2014

amazing getaway!

My husband and I had such a great time at GSR. We will definitely come back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

golf range

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMHS
Family
Utah
Oct 15, 2014

Great pitstop

Location was great if you had other places to go in reno besides downtown. Close to freeway. Was a bit hard to find entrance. Also parking and check-in wasn't easy. Roads were blocked off and the only place you could pull up to drop your bags off was the valet and vip area. Not easy if you didn't want to valet your car. Room was clean and comfortable. Great view. Only problem was the sink in bathroom wouldn't drain. Gym was really nice compared to other hotel gyms.Not easy to find breakfast with little kids though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellis Dean
Family
Napa, CA
Oct 13, 2014

A vast improvement over what it used to be...

As someone who has either visited or lived in Reno over the past 30 years, I have to say that the Grand Sierra Resort is leaps & bounds better than the former incarnations at this site. Since the purchase of the old Reno Hilton, the ownership has renovated just about everything; the casino, the rooms, the restaurants, the lower level shops...just about everything has been either changed or spruced up (the exceptions being the bowling alley, the Round Table Pizza, the movie theater, and the arcade). The location is still really good for the traveler who wants convenient access to Reno's sights, but isn't looking for a casino crawl; the GSR is a 10 minute drive from downtown. The casino area isn't loud at all, so it's actually sort of relaxing. There is also a non-smoking area close to the front desk. The pool has a "sand beach" which is really cool, and cabana rental (both at an affordable and slightly more expensive "VIP" rate). There really isn't a "deep end", so it's good for kids. The crowd is pretty varied, so again...good for families. No party scene here. We only had the breakfast buffet at the GSR, which was passable. Nothing particularly special, but we didn't get sick and the service was good, so that's good enough when you're talking buffet. The staff was extremely friendly; it was perhaps the easiest check-in experience I've had in years. The arcade is probably the only part of the GSR that could use a little improvement; the variety of games isn't very impressive and many of them were out of order. That's sort of a bummer because my six year-old son could really only find two or three games that he could enjoy...and that's a bummer for GSR because he has a Dad that likes video games too, but if there isn't much variety, I'm not going to spend a lot. In short, it was a good stay, particularly if you are traveling with your family and you want more to do than just gamble. It was nice to have the option of seeing a movie, playing some skee-ball, bowling, or going to the pool, all within reach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

On the corner of Mill & Kietzke (less than a mile away) is an excellent restaurant called Thai Nakorn. Best Thai food in Reno, period.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laina83
Couples
Sacramento, ca
Oct 9, 2014

perfect romantic getaway

We were upgraded for free and our room was really nice. We also got comped passes to the nightclub which was surprisingly a good time. The only problem we had is that we got there later 10:30 pm and the nicer restaurants were closed. Otherwise we had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you don't try to go out to dinner too late because only the cantina will be open.

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lover1995
Family
Yreka
Oct 6, 2014

Family trip

Hotel was great, but I asked for non-smoking rooms and I was not able to get one. I was not compensated in anyway. I have a kid with severe allergies and he is now sick from our family vacation weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandee123
Couples
Grass Valley, Californi
Oct 5, 2014

Reno or Bust

Room very nice and clean. Great having shuttle from airport. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hithereee
Family
Orlando
Oct 3, 2014

Good hotel

Overall my stay was good. You can play casion whole day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Reno traveler
Couples
N. NV
Sep 29, 2014

Family trip getaway

This is one of our favorite Reno, NV hotel destinations because it is so conveniently located, has undergone significant remodeling without being disruptive to hotel guests and all of the key amenities. Worth a repeat visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Sierra Resort Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mhgjd
Family
madison, Wi
Sep 25, 2014

definitely use it again for price and convenience

We stayed one night on our way to the airport the next morning and glad we did. It was inexpensive, room was clean and very nice, had an excellent meal in the hotel, and it's practically next door to the airport, perfect for making our 6 am flight. easy check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top