$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Eldorado Hotel Casino

4 stars
View map of 345 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Eldorado Hotel Casino

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
420 out of 420
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hello Betty
Business
Chicago, il
Mar 24, 2014

last minute fees

i was getting away for a long weekend and i had budgeted for the get away. unfortunately, extra processing fees, taxes and other fees, ie, city capital, resort and tax on the resort fee in the amount of an extra $108. That was frustrating and I felt misled in the price of my trip. It left a bad feeling about the Eldorado and disappointed it was not included in the "grand total".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RevMonster
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 2, 2014

A Fairly Disappointing Experience

I booked the Eldorado through this travel site and got a really good rate for a non-smoking king or two queen sized beds. However, when we arrived, the front desk notified us that we could not have a non-smoking king, or for that matter, two queens, but they did have two full-sized beds in a non-smoking, which would have been - I guess - ok. But then they also informed us that for an extra thirty dollars, we *could* have two queens in a nonsmoking room in the deluxe floors, meaning above the 18th floor. Because we had no intent of getting into a smaller bed (we were there for the USBC Championships!), we agreed to pay the additional cost. However, that essentially ended any advantage we got booking via the travel site , and also eliminated any reason for us to stay at the Eldorado versus other, better properties. The room was ok, nothing special, and clearly not a 'deluxe.' The bed was reasonably nice, but the floor was average. The bathroom was ok, but not in the least 'deluxe.' What was especially disappointing in the so-called deluxe room was the lack of a microwave or refrigerator, and the in-room coffee was of the dishwater class. Final insult: there is a weight-sensored device holding ridiculously overpriced bottles of water, and other snacks. You are warned that if you even pick up one of the five-dollar cans of candy coated chocolates with letters on them, the weight sensor will automatically charge your room for the snack. It's the same for the 'fridge in the room - it also has charges attached to it if you open the door. Those two devices clearly have some risk that I don't care to incur while staying in an allegedly 'deluxe' hotel room. On the whole, I am very disappointed in Eldorado for the experience. I probably won't book there again - regardless of however many times the casino sponsors the USBC Championships.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Noix
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 6, 2014

average Reno casino

My stay was fine, nothing extraordinary. It's a big Casino hotel, which is not my favorite environment. It needs a facelift, as do a lot of things in Reno. Friends stayed at a similar hotel nearby for much less. The lobby staff was very nice. There was substantial delay in locating the reservation because they had my name spelled completely wrong. I don't know the cause of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 1, 2011

My Experience

Not Family Arrange

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
samonsonite man
Business
southern cali
Feb 17, 2011

dont go west of the el dorado

had court business so was really good location to downtown. staff was friendly. for breakfast had the huveos rancheros which is a dish i eat frequently being from cali only it had no pork huh. when i asked the hispanic waiter about this his reply was "different huh." it was in fact tasteless and i had to immediately proceed to the restroom stat. these hotels in reno are barely hanging on. west of the hotel is know as the seedy area although it's all become pretty seedy. they state hispeed wifi available but there is a charge if you use your own laptop, however on the flat screen tv in room it is available free of charge just note no flash player or ur favorite downloads. overall i would go again worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk the river just watch out for the homeless

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 1, 2010

This isn't a deluxe room

good experience but wrong room reservation and wouldn't make it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Im2quiet
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 20, 2010

Clean but Generic Rooms

Room and public areas were very clean. Hotel spaces were small and cramped. My pet peeves are the lack of free wifi and the mandatory Nevada Hotel/Casino "Resort" fee. On the plus the hotel is well situated and easy to maneuver. Staff was friendly. I generally stay at the large hotels away from downtown. Eldorado won't be my first choice in the future but it is a recommendable alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sun valley, ca
Aug 31, 2009

great clean room, tv on small side

For the price you really can't do better. The room was very clean. My room had a king sized bed along with a couch, which I thoigh was nice. The tv was on the small side and the wireless internet was not included for free. I also loved the buffet (cheap and good). I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hopeful Traveler from L.A.
Business
North Hills, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Expected much more...

This hotel is in the heart of Reno gambling/restaurant district in the middle of many other casinos and is within walking distance to a variety of other establishments....that is the plus...I would walk to the others if I were you! The other plus is a very nice housekeeping staff and they took care of us and our room throughout the stay. Always clean, always fresh towels and supplies as needed. Always a pleasure to come back from downstairs or being out for awhile and the room looked great! The third plus is that the valet and bellhop service was excellent, friendly, nice, helpful, even the bellhop brought our lost luggage up immediately upon receipt ringing us early a.m. as we had wanted. The valet brought our car and took our car promptly and were always friendly...the support staff in general is great. But the rooms were extremely outdated, I felt like I had stepped back in time, and the beds were very uncomfortable. My husband and I were remarking, probably one of the worst rooms we have stayed in that we can remember. The other deficiency was front desk...upon late arrival due to flight delay we were given different room accomodations in a very matter of fact manner, with no usual hotel helpfulness, such as, well since you didn't get your room we will give you this coupon for a breakfast, or something. Very disappointing... When we were checking out a day early, there was little "sympathy" for our family emergency but just a comment that we were on a package deal...we did not expect any type of refund, but we did expect common courtesy and care.... The breakfast Buffet and staff serving were FANTASTIC...don't miss this breakfast buffet, you can eat low carb, low sugar, anything and everything, or if you want to indulge, that too...I was able to stay on my eating plan there...and the waiter/waitress staff were incredible, always there, always drink refills, getting new plates, silver etc ALWAYS FRIENDLY and courteous...if you don't stay at the Eldorado, it is still a great buffet... The Tivoli on the other hand, well, I would stick to the buffets...or some coffee shop down the street. While my cobb salad and hubby's sandwich were tasty and fresh, the wait staff was awful...Yes it was busy, but...I sat for about 30 to 40 minutes(maybe more, I was tired and delirious by then) before receiving my cup of coffee and then only because we had to flag down the waiter to get it...he forgot one cup of coffee...It was late, I was tired, it would have been nice...but wasn't...I would have happily endured the long wait for food if I had coffee. Then the coffee was only refilled once when we found and flagged down the waiter..very frustrating. We would probably try it one more time, but with pretty low expectations... The coffee cart in the morning was a very nice touch and loved stopping there before taking off places...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stick to Buffets here, I am not a buffet person, I like a sit down restaurant where I am "pampered," but it's not going to happen at the Eldorado, and the buffet you can accomplish something else, enjoyment and sticking to your diet..lots of fruit and protein items...enjoy it all! Also, please tip, this wait staff worked very hard and were very friendly, they deserve it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eldorado Hotel Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flying out from Tahoe
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 31, 2011

Great Value for a stop over

We were just staying here to fly out of Reno airport in the morning. Very good for our purpose. Has an airport shuttle that leaves every 30 minutes. Rooms were clean. The bellhop took over 40 minutes to deliver our luggage to our room. This put us in a rush to find dinner. The kitchens closed earlier than I would have liked on Sunday night. We were rushed to eat. Security guards at the elevator doors asking to see room keys to allow you up to your room were rude but provided the safety you want at a hotel. Reno did not appear to be a low crime destination. Besides the bellhop and kitchen everything else was great. Easy checkin/out process. Beds comfy. Hotel connected to 3 other casinos so you never have to go outside if you don't want to. Great value for the deal we got on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top