$56 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Desert Rose Inn

2 stars
View map of 655 West 4th Street, 655 West 4th Street, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
20 reviews
fun

holiday weekend, great rates. helpful customer service See full review

  • meganstevens
  • Jan 23, 2015
labor day weekend

Got this room for the bbq rib cookoff in sparks. Cheap room and its nothing fancy. But it was very... See full review

  • gringo Loco949782w8q78
  • Sep 1, 2014

Want to keep it simple? The Desert Rose Inn, located in the heart of downtown Reno offers comfortable rooms with important amenities like mini-fridges and free Wi-Fi. The property features a seasonal outdoor pool and coin laundry. Enjoy a location within steps of all the major casino resorts in Reno.

Location

Located in the heart of downtown Reno on West Fourth Street, walking distance to major casinos.

Rooms

Standard rooms at the Desert Rose Inn offer homey décor, one king or two double beds, TV with HBO and ESPN, mini fridge, free Wi-Fi and free local calls. Upgrade to a standard or spa suite and enjoy a full living room with microwave and Jacuzzi tub.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of downtown Reno
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Nearby attractions
  • Sands Regency hotel (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of Nevada Reno (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service available for a fee
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Amtrak (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Reno Tahoe International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Desert Rose Inn Rooms

Two Double Beds NS
Description not provided
One King Bed NS
Description not provided
One King Bed Suite NS
Description not provided
One King Jacuzzi Suite NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Casino
Night club
Skiing
Children's activities
Golf
Boating
Cross country skiing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
FAX
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.8 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.8 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 1.9 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.2 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.6 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 15 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bball dad66
Business
stockton,ca
Jun 29, 2012

ick

this place was like a residence motel. Sketchy people walking around at all hours. GROSS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raymund Magadia
Business
sun valley california
Apr 30, 2013

not good

there is no one on the front desk even when you call always answering machine when you leave a message they dont call back....i only stayed for 1 night and i'm trying to call to cancel the 2 days or maybe credit back atleast a day but no answer or call back....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rgolf
Business
sacto.cal
Jul 3, 2010

low rates,no extras,pool not in use,yuck

upon arrival,staff could not find reservation. said he could not help us. we called booking agent,they talked to him, we finally got our room after some time.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCMM
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Yikes.

It was within walking distance to the main Virginia St strip of nicer places, but it was a motel straight out of the 60s or 70s. Definitely did not feel like the safest of places. For like 20 bucks more or even 30 bucks more, I would've rather stayed at a nicer place. It was very old and run down looking inside the room and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 21, 2007

No Pets PLEASE!

The Desert Rose Inn staff was very friendly and nice when we checked in. When we walked into the lobby there were signs saying that pets were allowed with a $50 deposit. My wife is VERY ALLERGIC TO PETS. After we had been in the hotel room for less than 10 minutes, my wife's pet sensitivies kicked in and we left the hotel to have dinner. We stayed out of the room until 2:30 AM because my wife didn't want to go back both for health reasons and we didn't really feel safe there. My wife had a horrible headache and upset stomach for two days after we left the hotel and it really put a damper on the first vacation we've had in 7 years! There was also no iron, ironing board, breakfast, no restaurant nearby. We were forced to check out after one night and the management was very nice about letting us go without charging us for the second night, but label us very dissastified customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Reno casinos and food

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Single dad with kids
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Didn't have my room when I arrived

When I arrived at the hotel with my daughters the receptionist informed me that they were overbooked and they did not have a two bed non smoking room as I requested and which I had paid for through [...]. My choices were a smoking room which the person in front of me had declined and the receptionist said was horrible or a room with one king bed and a couch. I have a double bed at home and this king bed was far smaller than my double. My daughter ended up sleeping on a sticky fake leather couch. The room is old and the bed is lopsided and small. The sheets are old. The room itself was clean, but old. I will make every effort to make my reservations earlier and stay at The Sands or Circus Circus (they were full this time so I chose this instead, pretty disappointing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Circus Circus is only two blocks away. The kids love it.

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosienear
Business
near Paso Robles,Ca.
May 31, 2010

close to wedding

i never take shampoo or lotion with me,because there is always some in the rooms,so i had to go without ,and there was no coffee in the lobby or pots in the rooms. but when we got there,their prices were less than you charged me.you charged my credit card $333.40 and their price was $251.90.I would like to get the difference back please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ong walk or short drive

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wizardz
Business
El Granada, CA
Apr 14, 2014

A nice inexpensive place to stay

Friendly, attentive staff. Acceptable amenities for the price. Plenty of parking. Walking distance to downtown. Only downside really was the cigarette smell from previous occupants of this non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno for the Casino
Business
Oakland, California
May 29, 2012

Basic, Decent, Fine

The Desert Rose is a basic roadside motel and serves as a fine base for staying in Reno for several days. Easy to get to from the Casino's, no hassle, clean-enough rooms and nice staff. In all, fine value for the money. I would start to get stir crazy staying here more than 3 days, but for a long weekend it's good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous37
Business
not USA
Nov 17, 2012

Convenient and value

It was in a cluster of similar motels, and was close to all of the facilities which I was accessing. I walked from Amtrak, and walked to express buses (5-6 blocks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A chain diner, a San Francisco branch featured in the film 'American Graffiti'.

Back to menu Return to top