$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Desert Rose Inn

2 stars
655 West 4th Street, 655 West 4th Street, Reno, NV 89503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
22 reviews
labor day weekend

Got this room for the bbq rib cookoff in sparks. Cheap room and its nothing fancy. But it was very... See full review

  • gringo Loco949782w8q78
  • Sep 1, 2014
What a great find.

I loved my stay! The bed was soooo comfortable. The staff that I interacted with was friendly and... See full review

  • supreme procrastinator
  • May 5, 2014
A homey, family-friendly value stay in downtown Reno with free Wi-Fi

Want to keep it simple? The Desert Rose Inn, located in the heart of downtown Reno offers comfortable rooms with important amenities like mini-fridges and free Wi-Fi. The property features a seasonal outdoor pool and coin laundry. Enjoy a location within steps of all the major casino resorts in Reno.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of downtown Reno
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Location

Located in the heart of downtown Reno on West Fourth Street, walking distance to major casinos.

Rooms

Standard rooms at the Desert Rose Inn offer homey décor, one king or two double beds, TV with HBO and ESPN, mini fridge, free Wi-Fi and free local calls. Upgrade to a standard or spa suite and enjoy a full living room with microwave and Jacuzzi tub.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Amtrak (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Reno Tahoe International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Sands Regency hotel (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Reno Livestock Events Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of Nevada Reno (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service available for a fee

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Desert Rose Inn Rooms

Two Double Beds NS
Description not provided
One King Bed NS
Description not provided
One King Bed Suite NS
Description not provided
One King Jacuzzi Suite NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Casino
Night club
Skiing
Children's activities
Golf
Boating
Cross country skiing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
FAX
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.8 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Wingfield Park Amphitheater: 0.4 mi
  • Knitting Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Bowling Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nevada Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Reno Aces Ballpark: 0.8 mi
  • National Automobile Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Terry Lee Wells Nevada Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Wilbur D. May Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lawlor Events Center: 1.1 mi
  • Reno Events Center: 1.2 mi
  • University of Nevada, Reno: 1.2 mi
  • Anthropology Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Mackay Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Nevada Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Rancho San Rafael Regional Park: 1.5 mi
  • Reno Rodeo Cattle Drive: 1.5 mi
  • Virginia Lake Park: 1.9 mi
  • Truckee River Walk: 1.9 mi
  • Ultimate Rush Speed & Thrill Park: 2.2 mi
  • Reno-Sparks Convention Center: 3.1 mi
  • Sierra Safari Zoo: 8 mi
  • Reno Air Racing Association: 9.6 mi
  • Galena Creek Park: 12 mi
  • Mt. Rose Ski Resort: 15 mi
  • Animal Ark: 17.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosienear
Business
near Paso Robles,Ca.
May 31, 2010

close to wedding

i never take shampoo or lotion with me,because there is always some in the rooms,so i had to go without ,and there was no coffee in the lobby or pots in the rooms. but when we got there,their prices were less than you charged me.you charged my credit card $333.40 and their price was $251.90.I would like to get the difference back please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ong walk or short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BIRTHDAYMOM
Business
SACRAMENTO,CA
Apr 6, 2010

THE HOTEL WAS AWSOME

I REALLY LOVED THE HOTEL IT HAD EVERYTHING THAT I NEEDED. ITS A REALLY GREAT PLACE TO GO AND STAY AT FOR BUSNESS, FAMILY, COUPLE. OVERALL LIKED IT. OH YEAH LOCATION WAS GREAT NEAR SOO MANY STUFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck-ee
Business
Duluth, MN
Mar 18, 2010

Jacuzzi suite ala 1970's

I paid for a regular room but was upgraded to a jacuzzi suite as all the other rooms were taken! The front desk guy didn't seem to like this - too bad. The room decor was seriously dated but so cool! Looked straight out of the 1970's - I could picture this room in the movie "Casino". But it was GIGANTIC and the bed was ENORMOUS. The jacuzzi was a little worn looking but it worked so hey, cool! And there was a little refrigerator & microwave. Plus TWO tv's - gigantic analogs that got about NINTY channels. It was very quiet at night as well. The worst part was the carpet was FILTHY and destroyed a pair of my socks. Fun time though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

casinos only a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Single dad with kids
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Didn't have my room when I arrived

When I arrived at the hotel with my daughters the receptionist informed me that they were overbooked and they did not have a two bed non smoking room as I requested and which I had paid for through [...]. My choices were a smoking room which the person in front of me had declined and the receptionist said was horrible or a room with one king bed and a couch. I have a double bed at home and this king bed was far smaller than my double. My daughter ended up sleeping on a sticky fake leather couch. The room is old and the bed is lopsided and small. The sheets are old. The room itself was clean, but old. I will make every effort to make my reservations earlier and stay at The Sands or Circus Circus (they were full this time so I chose this instead, pretty disappointing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Circus Circus is only two blocks away. The kids love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harmless Lovable Little Fuzzball
Business
Near San Francisco, CA
Dec 28, 2009

Okay for the price

Staff was very accomodating on requests for extra pillows and microwave. Room was somewhat small but very clean... Did smell like cleaning products when we first got there, had to let room air out. Bedding was warm and mattresses were very comfortable especially given that all in our group have bad backs. Some scummy characters in the area and loud noises but it seemed to quiet down by around 10-11pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MODESTO, CA
Oct 1, 2009

WOW

WOW, WHEN I FIRST WENT TO CHECK IN THE CLERK ASKED ME IF ME AND MY FRIEND WERE STRIPPERS, THEN WE HAD A CREAPY CORNER ROOM, THE A/C HAD DUCKED TAPE ON IT, THE SCREEN FOR THE WINDOW WAS KNOCKED OFF, THE FRIDGE HAD NO PLACE TO PLUG IT IN TO EXCEPT TO THE PLUG IN THE BATHROOM SO EVERYTIME SOMEONE HAD TO USE THE RESTROOM THEY COULDNT FULLY CLOSE THE DOOR BECAUSE OF THE CHORD AND THEY HAD TO WALK OVER THE FRIDGE. IT WAS NOT WORTH THE MONEY AT ALL!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbitz survice charge is awful
Business
central valley, CA
Sep 14, 2009

It was okay

It was good we got a room after quit a wait at the front desk. While waiting we over heard how much cheaper the customers room was compared to our ORBITZ price. Really disappointed when explained that orbitz charges more than if we made the reservation ourselves. The walk to the strip is so short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coalinga
Aug 31, 2008

The morning manager went out of his way to check us in early. Very friendly.

I liked this hotel. I plan on staying there again and again. The staff is very courteous. The room was comfortable and I rested very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Casinos within a half mile distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy
Aug 31, 2008

Friendly and Good

The hotel was near the downtown attractions and the manager was very helpful to us when we got there. He gave us very good advice on what to do in town.The rooms annemeties were basic and the WIFI signal was very weak but overall we had a pleasant stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 7 mins to virginia street which is the main downtown area where all the casinos are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Suisun, CA
Jul 27, 2008

Great

I was very satisfide at the price and the room was very clean I was by myself it was quite and not far to walk to the casino downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I walked downtown to eat the food was cheaper and also very good and the mini mart a couple of doors down was good for snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top