$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

3 stars
View map of 500 N. Sierra Street, Reno, NV 89503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
834 out of 834
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 2, 2008

Unclean, old hotel for kids.

This was my first time at this hotel. It was extremely unclean. The beds were uncomfortable and old, and I wouldn't even step foot in the shower!! Let me tell you too, that I am not a clean freak myself, but this was gross! I found a pubic hair on one of my towels that I was going to wash my face with. The bed spread stunk and had obviously not been washed any time in the past year. The 24 hour family home cooked restraunt was not open at 12am. When asked, they said sorry, but we have doughtnuts. There was also no manager on site during this time to talk to. Lots of games for kids, but if you are looking for a casino, good food, or if you are there without kids, I do not suggest going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to other casinos?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rich 8139
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 23, 2007

WELL PAST IT'S PRIME

Circus Circus in Reno was quite a place - 30 years ago. But it's age is starting to show in outdated room decor and worn out facilities. While the location in downtown Reno is ideal, that is about the only positive comment I can make about my experience. MOST OF THE STAFF I RAN INTO WERE VERY NON-COnCERNED ABOUT BEING FRIENDLY, COURTEOUS OR HAVING A SENSE OF URGENCY. lOT'S OF younger employees and many recent immigrant staff were an indication that the hotel was trying desperately to fulfill staff needs. I tried the Buffet and the Cafe and found the food to be very Blasse. If not for convention and weekend events that filled the town, my guess is that the hotel would have difficulty filling the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While in the downtown area, take a short walk to the Truckee River, Their is a wonderful park along the banks with many dining and entertainment options along the way. The river itself makes a natural water park for floating, swimming, sliding etc for those who are young or young at heart. The price of admission is the best part..Free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super trrip!
Business
san jose,ca
Aug 20, 2009

OK for the price..

the hotel was kind of confusing, the entrance parking etc. no valet? no bag boys? had to carry all of our luggages and walk miles and miles to get to the main lobby. waited about 25 minutes to check in. ugh. stayed on the 27th floor i think. the room was decent. you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tins
Business
bakersfield, ca
Aug 1, 2009

needs a lot

the rate was cheap, the location was good, but... the air is really polluted in the building- our eyes started to hurt. The beds are comfortable, but the beddings are itchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Jan 24, 2010

WOULD CHOOSE ELSEWHERE

STAYED AT CIRCUS CIRCUS BECAUSE FRIENDS WERE ALREADY STAYING THERE FOR A CONVENTION WE WERE ATTENDING; HOTEL LOBBY WAS NICE;STAFF WAS FRIENDLY; REST OF HOTEL AND ROOM NEEDS TO BE UPDATED;ROOM WAS DIRTY AND OLD;FINGER PRINTS AROUND LIGHT SWITCHES; DIRT BUILD UP ON LEDGES AND IN CORNERS; BED SPREADS & WALL PAPER LOOKED TO BE 10 YEARS OLD WITH STAINS;THE WATER WAS VERY CLORINATED AND THE TOWELS WERE VERY ROUGH;SHEETS KEPT COMING OFF THE BED AS IF THEY WERE NOT LARGE ENOUGH, MATRESS PAD WAS 6 INCHES SHORT ON EACH SIDE AND FELT UNCOMFORTABLE; WE DONT GAMBLE MUCH BUT THE AIR IN THE CASINO WAS STALE AND NOT AS FRESH AS OTHER CONNECTING CASINOS. WILL STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE NEXT YEAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

MANY DINING PLACES ARE CONNECTED BY A FEW HOTELS UNDER ONE ROOF;FOOD WAS GOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MizzSwag
Business
East Bay, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Days Gone By

This hotel used to be a Reno go to! I liked this one and Harrahs on Virginia Street the best. When we first arrived at the hotel we didn't think much about service. We had been on the road and stuck in the worse possible traffic conditions for 8 hours. I had called the hotel prior to my departure to go over cancellation policy - obviously I had been keeping an eye on the weather and yet, the hotel tells me they are getting reports it will be clear. That's odd!!!! I get to the hotel and the service is okay. Check in, drop off bags, re-apply make-up, run a brush through my hair, and meet up with our friends at the bar. The cocktail waitress was beyond rude! Like we were bothering her. The next night same thing at the bar. We were gambling but, it took forever to get our "free" drinks from cocktail waitresses carrying attitude so, we decided to purchase. We buy our own drinks dumping more money into this place only to hear the bartender say [*] while throwing the lid to a blender when my paying customer friend ordered a daqauri. Now the funny part is we watched him make the drink and he put no rum in the drink and charged $7.50 for a short glass. We asked to have another drink made not complaining about price only that we knew the rum was not added and they did not use a pre-made mix. It was re-made after much arguing and being told we were incorrect by yet another staff member. Furious with the service our other friends went across the gaming floor to another bar... ordered the same drink and was given a much larger glass for less of a price. Both were Circus Circus bars!!!! They even shared bar tenders... Just like the hotel rotates dealers at tables...the bar rotated the staff. The stay was just not the same as it used to be. I know the economy is hard but, we are good, hard working, good tipping folks, and the service all weekend was as if these people hated their jobs and hated the customers. I don't know, just not the same. That or maybe it was always that way...I've just grown up. Any way, be careful when making reservations at this place... Harrahs is much better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Orbitz was the best price for this hotel though :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2007

My review of Circus Circus Hotel & Casino - Reno

Our room had blood stain on the bed. It was smoke scent in room. There was a missing table under a mirror. It did have a great view. It was a disappointment. I have allergies and I coughed for two days because of the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a casino on lower level but even a better casino/hotel that you can walk to where we discovered had a superior buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drdesert
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 22, 2010

Circus Circus Reno

The rooms were nice, but the TV's were very small. (19"). If you don't want to be around tons of kids, then it would be best to stay elsewhere. The elevators to the tower (6) were not all operational and there were lengthy waits at the floor and ground levels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Circus Circus Steakhouse is very good and every person in our party of 9 enjoyed their dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SanFranMom
Business
SF
Aug 9, 2011

just ok..beats staying in a motel

Dried food in the coffee maker, no batteries in the remote or room checkout keyboard, and stinky non smoking room that smelled like mildew.. $69 for a room on Saturday nt, guess I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Circus Circus Hotel and Casino - Reno

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster
Nov 28, 2008

I would prefered sleeping in my car, beds to soft

Beds were to soft, must be old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top