$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Tropicana Express

3 stars
View map of 2121 South Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Express

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD value traveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV.
May 10, 2011

Birthday get-away

This is an above average hotel overall. Rooms are clean and properly-sized. They have a variety of restaurants offering good food at a reasonable price. What got my impression though is the inability of the front desk person to exhibit good customer service even if it's just a 'customary' one. She commented that I got a 'cheap' price and seems to admonish me for using a 'debit' card even though I assured her that I have more than enough funds (what this discrimination about debit cards? I don't trust credit card companies anymore and by using a debit card, shouldn't it be more reassuring since the traveler knows there is enough funds in there?)I informed her that it is my birthday get-away and got no response (not even a customary birthday greeting). I asked for an option to upgrade and she seemed baffled that I didn't chose this when I made my 'online' reservation. She gave me my key cards and off I went. Overall, my stay at the Tropicana is 'reasonably priced': I got the vacation experience commensurate to the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an abundance of other dining options outside the hotel. There's an In & Out Burger right next to the hotel. and about a 10-minute walk is the Laughlin Shopping Outlet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SOCAL
May 5, 2011

why call to confirm

After booking months in advance, calling a week in advance to confirm my room request, non-smoking, Trop still drop the ball! All casino's gouge you during an event but if they drop the ball after gouging you why should you return after the event. I paid triple the casino rate for bad service. Never again, last time Laughlin!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cjpanda1
Business
spokane,wa
May 2, 2011

will not go there again

we will never go hear again,we were put in a smoking room,when asked about it they said the non smoking rooms were booked 2 months ahead well i booked far ahead also plus we stayed there longer then we should,we told the casino avi about this they said come on over we give ya room half price and a non smoking room so we canceled and went to avi ,wish we would have talked to avi sooner,avi very nice place much better also free internet not $9.99 a day like tropicana charges

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZRider
Business
Bagdad, AZ
May 1, 2011

My Favorite in Laughlin

Attending the Laughlin River Run, when I decided to stay here on a Wednesday night. Super easy to reserve. Pulled in and found a parking place super quick. Check-in was a breeze. Straight up to the room. Some day I will have to try one of the towers that has a view of Casino Blvd. Clean room. Check-out was a breeze too. My favorite place to stay in Laughlin. Rooms were not available for Thursday - Saturday. Just as well, the price was more than 6 times what I paid for the Wednesday Night. Supply and Demand.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy, In.
Apr 6, 2011

It is not Vegas

The hotel is starting to show its age. Rooms are starting to look rundown. We had carpeting with bad stain,cable is limited.Toilet ran and the menu at buffet is the same. Harrah's is a better option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las vegas
Apr 5, 2011

Rundown

This place is rundown. All the elivators are in poor condition and breakdown frequently. The rooms smell and the bed is very uncomfortable. The tv for your room is a 15 year old 13 inch tube style. Very out dated rooms with no room service or amenity guides because their are none. No Gym no Spa no room service. Overall Fail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Mar 30, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Arrived at the Tropicana Express with another couple. The receptionist was very accommodating and upgraded us and placed us in adjoining rooms. Our room was small, but clean and the beds were comfortable. No refrigerator in the room. Ate our dinner at the Italian Restaurant in the Hotel. Price was very reasonable and everybody loved their meal. Had breakfast, also at the Hotel, which was convenient and good. I would stay at the Tropicana Express again since it's within walking distance of the other casinos. There is a hotel shuttle available every half hour for those who prefer that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an outlet mall, with many great brand name stores, a couple of blocks from the Tropicana Express.........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fond Du Lac, WI
Mar 29, 2011

Great Value

Best value for the money I spent. The only problem I encountered was the constuction on Casino Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Golden Valley, AZ
Mar 28, 2011

Great service. Friendly staff

Relax - nothing was missing - about the same as previous stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Express

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Mar 19, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

gambling was OK, but many machines were broken Front Desk personnel was RUDE, RUDE,RUDE!...Customer service training is really needed. Buffet staff was friendly Elevator lines were outrageous after checking in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top