$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Resort on Mount Charleston

3 stars
2275 Kyle Canyon Road, Las Vegas, NV 89124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
23 reviews
Leaving Las Vegas

Arrived late, restaurant had already closed. Reserved room with balcony and upon arrival found it... See full review

  • doctor feelgood
  • Jun 24, 2014
Nice hotel

This was a nice resort, the only thing that I disliked was that it was very far from Las Vegas... See full review

  • Angie73
  • Jun 9, 2014
Experience the New Resort on Mount Charleston, Event and Conference Center! Only 30 minutes from Downtown Las Vegas and located high in the crisp clean air of the Toiyabe National Forest, you will find majestic mountainous surroundings, breathtaking views and a variety of outdoor activities year-round. Are you interested in getting married, or hosting a family or business event at the hotel? We offer full-service event coordination to help plan your perfect affair.

A Resort Fee of $9.95 plus tax per night will be assessed at the front desk. Resort fee includes in-room coffee, 2 bottles of Mt. Charleston Water, wireless internet, parking and 24-hour access to the wet and dry saunas.

The hotel does allow pets however there is a maximum of two dogs allowed per guest per night with a maximum weight of 25 pounds. The cost is 25 USD per dog per night plus any applicable tax. Management reserves the right to refuse aggressive dog breeds or dogs that are noisy and/or uncontrollable.

Hotel Map

36.2642 -115.6037
Area served
Las Vegas
Nearby airports
LAS - 42 miles
Area description
Mountaintop resort 30 min from downtown Las Vegas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Resort on Mount Charleston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Resort on Mount Charleston Rooms

Standard King or Queen
Standard rooms with premium features! You can relax in your well appointed room and sleep soundly in our quality beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Charleston: 2.5 mi
  • Cathedral Rock Trail: 2.5 mi
  • Spring Mountains National Recreation Area: 5.1 mi
  • Calico Hills Trail: 13.3 mi
  • Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area: 13.3 mi
  • Arroyo Golf Club: 16.3 mi
  • Red Rock Resort Spa and Casino: 16.8 mi
  • Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort: 17 mi
  • Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts: 17.1 mi
  • TPC Las Vegas: 17.5 mi
  • Badlands Golf Club: 17.7 mi
  • Durango Hills Golf Club: 18.3 mi
  • Rampart Casino: 18.5 mi
  • Suncoast Hotel and Casino: 18.6 mi
  • Highland Falls Golf Club: 18.7 mi
  • Mount Charleston: 2.5 mi
  • Cathedral Rock Trail: 2.5 mi
  • Spring Mountains National Recreation Area: 5.1 mi
  • Calico Hills Trail: 13.3 mi
  • Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area: 13.3 mi
  • Arroyo Golf Club: 16.3 mi
  • Red Rock Resort Spa and Casino: 16.8 mi
  • Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort: 17 mi
  • Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts: 17.1 mi
  • TPC Las Vegas: 17.5 mi
  • Badlands Golf Club: 17.7 mi
  • Durango Hills Golf Club: 18.3 mi
  • Rampart Casino: 18.5 mi
  • Suncoast Hotel and Casino: 18.6 mi
  • Highland Falls Golf Club: 18.7 mi
  • Angel Park Golf Club: 18.8 mi
  • Floyd Lamb Park at Tule Springs: 19.3 mi
  • Painted Desert Golf Club: 19.4 mi
  • Canyon Gate Country Club: 19.5 mi
  • Darling Tennis Center: 19.6 mi
  • Palm Valley Golf Course: 19.6 mi
  • Santa Fe Station: 20 mi
  • Bettye Wilson Soccer Complex: 20 mi
  • Mini Gran Prix: 20.8 mi
  • College of Southern Nevada: 22 mi
  • Clark County Shooting Park: 22.5 mi
  • Spring Valley: 22.5 mi
  • North Las Vegas Airport: 23.1 mi
  • Arizona Charlie's Decatur: 23.2 mi
  • Rhodes Ranch Golf Club: 23.3 mi
  • University of Nevada School of Medicine: 23.4 mi
  • Texas Station: 23.4 mi
  • Aliante Golf Club: 23.6 mi
  • Southern Nevada Zoological-Botanical Park: 23.6 mi
  • Las Vegas Zoo: 23.6 mi
  • Aliante Casino and Hotel: 23.7 mi
  • The Gardens at the Las Vegas Springs Preserve: 23.9 mi
  • Nevada State Museum: 23.9 mi
  • Alan Bible Botanical Garden: 23.9 mi
  • Las Vegas Chinatown: 24.7 mi
  • The Orleans: 25 mi
  • Palms Casino Resort: 25.1 mi
  • Orleans Arena: 25.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Hotel and Casino: 25.1 mi
  • Silverstone Golf Club: 25.3 mi

Dining

A Cut Above
Whether you are looking for breakfast, lunch or dinner, the reasonably priced menu at A Cut Above features a great selection of steaks, chhicken, and delicious appetizers. With a great view of the surrounding mountains, you stay cozy and warm by the restaurant's fireplaces.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for The Resort on Mount Charleston

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
captwhiffle
Fresno, CA
Apr 12, 2010

Disappointing Experience

The location is lovely, and I'd love to explore this area in the future. Unfortunately the "resort" provides little in the way of a resort experience. None of the restaurants and bars were open when we arrived (admittedly somewhat late at about 9:30 am) and when we left (so no breakfast). The room was very small with low ceilings, and the place charges a resort fee for parking, Internet, and sauna. As there were hardly any cars in the lot and we opted not to use the sauna, I wasn't happy paying this fee. Outside our room was a pile of ice someone apparently spilled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, AZ
Mar 19, 2010

Escaping Vegas Nightlife

There are two complaints that I have..one the heaters do not work properly in the rooms..since you are 17 miles up in the mountains with snow..you would think that the heaters would be great...not the case our room never heated up to above 70 and that was after we switched rooms because our first room heater did not work at all. The second was unless you put a sign out saying maid service they do not come into your room to even collect the used towels or empty the trash..mind you we did not even have the sign on the door saying do not disturb.. I have never been to a hotel where that has happened..that was very upsetting. Also if you expect to use your cell phone or use internet this is not the hotel for you.. You only receive cell phone service by their front door which they will tell you that.. They charge a resort fee which will cover your cost of internet but since you can not get a signal at all that is a waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, AZ
Mar 19, 2010

Escaping Vegas Nightlife

There are two complaints that I have..one the heaters do not work properly in the rooms..since you are 17 miles up in the mountains with snow..you would think that the heaters would be great...not the case our room never heated up to above 70 and that was after we switched rooms because our first room heater did not work at all. The second was unless you put a sign out saying maid service they do not come into your room to even collect the used towels or empty the trash..mind you we did not even have the sign on the door saying do not disturb.. I have never been to a hotel where that has happened..that was very upsetting. Also if you expect to use your cell phone or use internet this is not the hotel for you.. You only receive cell phone service by their front door which they will tell you that.. They charge a resort fee which will cover your cost of internet but since you can not get a signal at all that is a waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff and Becca
Las Vegas
Feb 23, 2010

mt. charleston lodge

I hate to complain but there was a blood stain on the sheet and a small dog across the hall that really wanted out. The shower had several LONG black hairs on the walls. The good side was the breakfast was great (in the lodge) I liked the onsite bar as well. The views outside were beautiful with the mountains and all the snow. The front counter girl was very nice and personable and there were no other issues to speak of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skiing and mountain scenery all very close.

Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff and Becca
Las Vegas
Feb 23, 2010

mt. charleston lodge

I hate to complain but there was a blood stain on the sheet and a small dog across the hall that really wanted out. The shower had several LONG black hairs on the walls. The good side was the breakfast was great (in the lodge) I liked the onsite bar as well. The views outside were beautiful with the mountains and all the snow. The front counter girl was very nice and personable and there were no other issues to speak of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skiing and mountain scenery all very close.

Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
HI
Jan 8, 2010

Good looking hotel but service lack

Just stayed for a day at the hotel with the family to enjoy the snow in the area. The hotel was nice and cozy but checking in took a long time. The nice front desk employee did her best to work the busy front desk and folks waiting at the snack/coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
HI
Jan 8, 2010

Good looking hotel but service lack

Just stayed for a day at the hotel with the family to enjoy the snow in the area. The hotel was nice and cozy but checking in took a long time. The nice front desk employee did her best to work the busy front desk and folks waiting at the snack/coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momagerof3
NV
Dec 31, 2009

The Resort at Mt. Charleston

This is my first time writing a review. I felt compelled to write this review in hopes that it will be a wake up call to the ownership of the resort. We arrived on Sunday December the 27th. The parking lot was loaded with trash. Everywhere you looked was garbage! As you approached the front entrance the ponds were partially frozen but again loaded with trash. Once inside the overall grandness of the lobby was quickly diminished by all the trash! The lobby was disgusting! It was full of dirty styrofoam cups and food wrappers everywhere. I MEAN EVERYWHERE! It looked like it had not been picked up in weeks. Ewwwwh...it was gross! I was fearful of the rooms. The formal staircase again loaded with nasty cups, the video games at the top of the stairs had candy and trash everywhere. The stairwell to the rooms was nasty. Much to our surprise the rooms were clean and nice. We had beautiful views of the mountains. Feeling relieved we made reservations at the restaurant for 7:30 that night. We spent the rest of day playing in the snow and disgusted when we got the grounds and lobby. We were promptly seated at 7:30. As you can guess the restaurant dining room was not clean. Most of the tables were not bussed. The fabric on the chairs needs to be replaced as they were loaded with grease stains. We never saw any wait staff until 8:05 for our drinks. Then they did not take our food order until about 8:40. Now I could give them the benefit of the doubt for slow service but there was only 5 tables occupied and three were already eating when we arrived. So it is with a heavy heart that I give them 2 stars but only for the nice rooms. Otherwise I would not even give them a rating at all. All the grandeur of the resort was stripped away once you stepped foot in the parking lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momagerof3
NV
Dec 31, 2009

The Resort at Mt. Charleston

This is my first time writing a review. I felt compelled to write this review in hopes that it will be a wake up call to the ownership of the resort. We arrived on Sunday December the 27th. The parking lot was loaded with trash. Everywhere you looked was garbage! As you approached the front entrance the ponds were partially frozen but again loaded with trash. Once inside the overall grandness of the lobby was quickly diminished by all the trash! The lobby was disgusting! It was full of dirty styrofoam cups and food wrappers everywhere. I MEAN EVERYWHERE! It looked like it had not been picked up in weeks. Ewwwwh...it was gross! I was fearful of the rooms. The formal staircase again loaded with nasty cups, the video games at the top of the stairs had candy and trash everywhere. The stairwell to the rooms was nasty. Much to our surprise the rooms were clean and nice. We had beautiful views of the mountains. Feeling relieved we made reservations at the restaurant for 7:30 that night. We spent the rest of day playing in the snow and disgusted when we got the grounds and lobby. We were promptly seated at 7:30. As you can guess the restaurant dining room was not clean. Most of the tables were not bussed. The fabric on the chairs needs to be replaced as they were loaded with grease stains. We never saw any wait staff until 8:05 for our drinks. Then they did not take our food order until about 8:40. Now I could give them the benefit of the doubt for slow service but there was only 5 tables occupied and three were already eating when we arrived. So it is with a heavy heart that I give them 2 stars but only for the nice rooms. Otherwise I would not even give them a rating at all. All the grandeur of the resort was stripped away once you stepped foot in the parking lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Resort on Mount Charleston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas/San Antonio
Dec 29, 2009

You cant imagine it till you see it.

We had a great experience at the hotel. I traveled with my parents and my wife. The hotel was pretty much what I expected. The chef at the restauraunt was very good and friendly, we must have chatted with him at our table after breakfast for 30 minutes. The food was also quite good, I recommend the biscuits and gravy. The location was good, half way up the mountain and only a 15minute drive from Lee Canyon where you can play in the snow all day or ski. The one complaint I have is that the hotel seemed to be missing a maintence person, as there was trash in the frozen pond in the front and that the main bathrooms in the hotel lobby were not upkept throughout the day. Trash everywhere and they smelled very bad, but with that exception everything else was exceptional. They even let us check in early, 9am, when we arrived instead of waiting till 3. Great place to spend holidays with loved ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

There is nothing to do in the area, no shops or restauraunts, but luckily the hotel restauraunt is excellent.

Back to menu Return to top