$29 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

3 stars
View map of 2000 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
5837 out of 5837
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 17, 2009

Not bad

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Nothing that special, and inconvenient to the rest of the strip, but the price was right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The double-decker city bus was a good way to get around. They offer all-day passes during the week days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picky Bathroom Girl
Business
San Mateo, CA
Nov 3, 2009

An oldie and kinda goody!

We were in Vegas for the weekend only and this was the first time staying at the Stratosphere. We didn't need stay in the room very long and only needed it to get ready and sleep, but the room was very dim and poorly lit. There was a small mirror on the dresser and no full length mirror, so I stood on a chair to see myself. I am picky about bathrooms and was grossed out by ours. It is in serious need of remodeling. The showerhead had some grimy stuff, plus hard water spots. The housekeeper didn't clean the room the first day, so I had to call to get more towels. The second day, she cleaned, but in the process, took my travel size bottle of Aveda shampoo, which kind of irked me. The coolest thing about the hotel is the view from the tower and we got free access to that. It's kind of far from the life of the strip, which I didn't mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the view from the tower is awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new York.ny
Aug 4, 2011

trip

Pool and the lounge area.I was not aware of all the hidden fees.hotel is far from the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Need to have a free shuttle ro.the strip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis, in
Oct 27, 2009

The ride of your life at the tip top

My iron did not work in the room when I checked in hotel. But room service did come right away and brought me another iron. That was great also the room was OK and service was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the ride on top look great was not able to ride cause they charged 15.99 to go to the top. Looked like fun and scary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bullhead City, Arizona
Nov 1, 2009

A bargain hunter's hotel

This was a great choice for a group of ladies right out of college that need a bargain but still want to have a blast. The topless pool on the top floor was a great haven for one of us for tanning and relaxing while the price was great to be able to have money left over to go out at night. Very close to Fremont street but too far away from the strip to walk and kind of in a tougher neighborhood. If you plan on walking most everywhere, do it before dark. We ended up spending a lot more on cabs than we originally budgeted but it was fine since I saved so much booking the hotel anyway. Good casino, not too many kids, and they gave us a wonderful room with strip view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus that runs up and down the strip if you are alone or in a group of less than 4 as it is cheap to get down to the strip and back if you have a few extra minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 26, 2011

Vegas getaway

Hotel was great had to upgrade room was not happy with the view. But hotel staff accomodated me with a great room for a reasonable price. Best trip I have taken in a long time there was so much to do in 1 week we wished we could have stayed longer . Can't wait to return again for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hot Dog in the freezer
Business
L.A.
Jul 9, 2010

Thank you

Generally good. We are not smokers, that means the smell of cigarettes was a little disturbing. Of course it is a cassino, but it is bad, if you meet at the entrance people, who do not care they are smoking and blowing smoke to the face of others' non-smokers face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 28, 2010

quick booking not always smooth

[...]They gave us a complementary upgrade. Room was clean the bed was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 29, 2009

las vegas trip

Area didnt seem safe, but overall the hotel stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stratosphere Casino Hotel and Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegas 20-something Tourist
Business
Minnesota
Jun 17, 2009

Pros and Cons

We checked into the hotel on a Wedenesday and left on Sunday. The hotel check-in process took about 20 minutes from start to finish. You get a decent book of coupons when you check in that can be used all over the hotel. Be forewarned that there is a $7.50 resort fee that they charge for each day that is not included in the rate that you pay prior to checking in. However, we didn't mind paying it once we found out that it allowed us to go to the top of the tower and use the pool and exercise room for free. It also allowed you to get 2 for 1 rides on the attractions on the top. The room that we received was a limited view room, but overall it was very nice. It had large king bed with updated decor and linens. The tub was very deep and it was nice to have to vanity outside of the tub/toilet area. Housekeeping was great within our room. We crossed two time zones so we left our room by 9:30 each day. When we would return around lunch time, our room had already been cleaned! We even had an added bonus that our room was outside of the elevator door. That was a nice bonus because we did A LOT of walking! That would be my only complaint about the Stratosphere. It is located at the north end of the strip and the closest hotel is the Sahara. The estimated mileage from the Strat to the New York, New York is about 3.75 miles. We love walking so my husband and I did this trip and back about three days out of our trip. The walk wasn't bad, but there are some areas that seem a little seedy. However, we were never approached or bothered on our walk--even in the evening. A typical cab ride to the middle of the strip is about 14-15 dollars. There are also other methods of transporation-the monorail and the duece. If you like buffets, this is the place to go. They had a deal going on that your paid $20 for the day and you could eat off of the buffet all day! The other resturants within the Strat were also not badly priced at all--even by Vegas standards. Roxy's Diner was also a very fun little resturant with some entertainment. Drink prices if you were not gambling were a little spendy ($9 for a frozen drink at the pool), but there were also several little gift shops on and around the property that sold liquor. They also had a bottomless happy hour from 4-8 that was advertised. One of the best things that we did in the hotel was go to the top of the observation deck. That was truly a sight to see--and it was free. We tried out the picture service that they offred and it wasn't badly priced at all. We even bought a package. Overall--I was pleased with the Stratosphere. It was a nice hotel for a very reasonable price (avg $50/ anight). The only thing that I would suggest is to bring your own car or get out your comfy walking shoes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The front desk doesn't do a good job and letting you know what is all upstairs. There are several little shops upstairs as well as some dining areas if you don't feel like a sit-down dinner. There is a pretzel place, a Mexican restrurant, and a McDonalds. There were a few days that we wanted something quick so we would just head upstairs. There is also a Fat Tuesdays up there. If you are into the big drinks (and refilling them), make a stop here. There are several other Fat Tuesdays on the strip so you will have better luck getting them refilled at the cheaper price. If all else fails, there is also an IHOP right down the street =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top