$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

New York-New York Hotel & Casino

4 stars
View map of 3790 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
2085 out of 2085
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andy Z
Business
Denver
Mar 31, 2012

Not a good experience - staff issues

Traveling with two daughters who were looking forward to using the pool that was located steps away from our elevator, we were surprised to learn on our day of arrival that the pool was undergoing renovations, i.e. heavy construction equipment demolishing the pool. However, there was no mention of this construction in the hotel's Property Brochure shown on its website. Rather, the hotel's Property Brochure talked about the pool and three hot tubs that were available along with food/drink service. But, the hotel had lots of drink coupons printed up for the inconvience of not having the pool available. So, they print up and hand out coupons but can't put that information prominently on their website? You can use the pool over at their related properties. Thanks, instead of walking out of our elevator to the pool, you can take a 25 minute walk to any of these fine places - it's not the same. If I had known there was no pool available, I would have made my reservations at one of those hotels. And, maybe those hotels have efficient maid service. Leaving one of our rooms at 10am, we returned to the room around 6pm to find that our room had not been visited by Housekeeping. A quick call to Housekeeping showed the hotel is really on the ball - don't worry, we can have your room serviced sometime between 10pm and 2am. Are you kidding me? They acted like I was the strange one suggesting that they get someone to clean the room. Of course, they also suggested I give them a call the next day - that way they could ensure the room would be cleaned. I should call Housekeeping to tell them to clean the room? We ate at restaurants at other hotels and received great service and enjoyed fine food. Our late dinner at one of the hotel's restuarants resulted in a two hour ordeal after my daughter was served a dish that wasn't even close to what she ordered, i.e. overcooked to the quality of shoe leather. The manager genuinely seemed appalled at what had come out of the kitchen and made sure my daughter had a fresh steak done right and comped the meal - but, sitting there watching my daughter eat alone is no fun. The next day after checking out, we went to another hotel restaurant for a, we thought, quick lunch before heading to the airport. At 2pm, the restaurant was probably 15-20% full. Forty minutes after ordering and repeatedly being assured our food was coming, we were served two dishes that obviously been sitting under the heat lamps (soggy/falling apart for one; another hot on the top, cold on the bottom; cold fries all around) for a while. Oh, the pancakes were good and hot. Again, the manager recognized the problem and gave my wife a nice fruit plate (I'm guessing she realized that would come out rather quickly) and, two out of two for this hotel, comped us most of the meal. However, no one could or would tell us what the problem was. Hey, the roller coaster was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
APilcher
Business
Vancouver, WA
May 15, 2012

Broken Hearted

This trip was for the sole purpose of laying in the sunshine next to the pool. Bad part, it was closed!!! I called 3 weeks before our vaca to make sure it would be open because I had noticed on the website it said the pool opened May 1st. They assured me the pool opened on May 1st, what they didn't tell me was that it was under construction. They werent even going to tell me at check-in, but my sister had already arrived, so I knew. They acted like I was out of line for being upset about the pool. The accomodations were NOTHING in comparison to the hike we had to take over the MGM to relax in the sun each day. I'll never stay at NYNY again. And the staff there need to remember that the customer is ALWAYS right. Horrible stay, no more Las Vegas trips to lay out in the sun, I'll stick to Palm Springs from now on!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
will23
Business
los angeles
Jun 22, 2012

Disapointment

i book my hotel at new york new york cuz the offer a complimentry buffle, but new york new york scam my buffle. cheap thing to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Customer
Business
Suwanee, GA
Oct 19, 2012

WORST HOTEL IN VEGAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where it asks would I recommend this hotel to a friend, I must say absolutely, positively not. My very first night at the hotel, my father and I went down to the casino and the strip for a few hours starting at about 4 PM. I had brought enough money for me to be able to safely play for our three day trip, and I hid it in a book in my suitcase and placed that book under another book. I told my father out loud only in our room what I was doing in case I forgot where I had put the money. We returned at 10PM tired from the flight and our time in the casinos. The next morning, I went to replenish my money for the day, and I noticed that the books were reversed from what I had last left them. The wrong book was on top, and the money was gone. We searched the room and found no trace of the missing money. It is my opinion that it was an inside job and that some sort of listening device was placed in the room. Security came up to check and verify the report we made, and despite saying that ""these things tend to have a happy ending," nothing was done to either compensate or show that anything was actually being done. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will personally never stay here again. My advice to travelers thinking about his hotel is to enter at your own risk. I only have an opinion of what happened, and based on my story, I will let you decide if you think I am right or wrong. The hotel and casino itself was not bad. The economy room reminds me of a slightly nicer courtyard by marriott, and the casino is about average size with normal games and several five dollar tables during the daytime. It would have been fine to have lost the money in the casino, but the fact that it was stolen out of my room made me spend most of my time elsewhere on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Brand Steakhouse (well worth every penny) in the Monte Carlo or play at the Bellagio, MGM Grand, Monte Carlo, or Caesar's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stayed too long
Business
West Coast USA
Aug 5, 2013

If you want New York, don't settle for a poor imitation

The hotel smelled bad the moment we entered.Not a good start. I actually smelled sewer gas while eating at a table in the Greenwich Village section. I don't know if that was intentional or not. The decor was not appealing to me. It did not remind me of New York, which I happen to like. There was no place to sit down except in a restaurant or at a gaming table. I'm sure this is intentional. The windows, doors and railings in public areas were filthy and got worse daily. There was no hand sanitizer to protect one from the hundreds of hands that had previously touched everything . Our room was clean however. The whole "pool experience" idea was repellant. It was standing room only in the pool, and it cost to use the pool. $72.00 for a lounge chair. Don't plan on having a conversation. There was no place but our room that was near quiet. The music was too loud and got louder in the evening. When the crowds increased on the weekend, the change machines ran out of money, the lavatories ran out of paper and there was no one tending to the increased usage. There are many other hotels in Las Vegas that are more appealing with nicer amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good shoes, and plan on walking a lot. The design is meant to confuse and obstruct. You'll spend a lot of time finding your way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 13, 2011

New York New York

The rooms are VERY DATED. The bed "linens" were a old polyester cover with thin sheets and blanket. Bathroom also very old appearing. Compared to similarly priced rooms(PH, Mirage, Monte Carlo, MGM), by far the worst quality of room. Cannot compare to Bellagio, Venetian, Wynn. In all seriousness, I've been in far superior rooms at Hampton or Holiday Inn Express. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 19, 2008

dissapointing

New York New York was our choice for our last night in Las Vegas, after 5 days at a different casino and a side trip to the Grand Canyon. Check in was fine, but the room smelled like smoke, had a broken toilet with urine in it, and a broken air conditioner. The carpet had signs of not being vacumed, a kachup packet and 2 quarters. Our options for changing rooms involved waiting again for the bell hop, which took 35 minutes, and then making the change, and all they offered us as compensation was 2 free drinks, and a free upgrade. Neither compensation was worth much to us since we were only there for one night and our plane was to leave at 5 am. In addition, it took too much of our time to negotiate everything. We were sent another one night free upgrade, but we won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are allot of food choices in the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JaRetta
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2007

Friendly Hotel

The New York New York hotel is a fun hotel. The rooms were okay, but we had to be moved because our air conditioner wasn't working. When they moved us we ended up in a room that smelled like stinky shoes. We told housekeeping, but I figure there wasn't much they could do. I think the smell was in the carpet. Also, when we got moved we ended up closer to the rollercoaster, which we were told closed around midnight & started up again around 11:00 a.m. We were usually pretty tired at night and didn't get back to our room until late, but we did try to nap during the day and it was a little difficult. In the mornings they started running practice runs around 9:00 a.m The atmosphere in the hotel was pretty good. I think if the room had smelled better, we might not have had such a problem with the hotel. The area where this hotel is located is very crowded at night. We did not like that at all. We made our way farther up the strip towards some of the older hotels and the area was much cleaner & had less people. When ever we come to Vegas again we will stay in the older area or in the downtown area. There is only one pool at this hotel and it is in the shade until around 12:30 - 1:00pm. It also closes at 7:00 pm which isn't to much fun for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nightlife in Vegas is as close as you want it and within a short or long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Oct 2, 2010

vegas trip

bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New York-New York Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
May 26, 2009

Disappointing

When we checked in we were given the cheaper room than what we had paid for. We paid extra for a view of the strip...what we got was a view of the intersection of Tropicana and Las Vegas Blvd obsured by the roller coaster, not worth an extra $20/night. The first room we were given had a faulty lamp, when I turned it on it bagan to sizzle and smoke...I quickly unplugged it. Had we not complained about the first room nor being what we paid for we would not have been moved to the room we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't pay extra for a view of the strip. And make sure you are given the room you paid for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top