$34 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

2 stars
1401 Las Vegas Blvd So., Las Vegas, NV 89104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
71 reviews
Loved it!!

We got into town a little early n were able to check us in. I appreciated that very much! Will be... See full review

  • Stephanie Chavez
  • Aug 5, 2013
Superior value for money

We requested quiet, they put us on the top floor (noone above) and no noise at all. Large pool and... See full review

  • Desert R0se
  • Sep 30, 2013
Take an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip to experience everything that Vegas has to offer. Get married in the wedding chapel, or hit the casinos along the strip by taking the Deuce Bus which stops just outside this lodging. Business travelers appreciate close proximity to the Las Vegas Convention Center and Sands Expo Center. Walk to Freemont Street Experience to see Old Vegas, or visit Madame Tussauds three miles away. Find meals all day at the Florida Cafe onsite, or at hundreds of local restaurants. Enjoy the convenience of large-vehicle parking, book your next social or business event in the full-service meeting and banquet facilities, and take advantage of the copy and fax services. Refresh in the Olympic-sized outdoor pool, then head to your comfortable home office room or family suite, both including complimentary wireless Internet access. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 0.1 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.3 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 0.4 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.4 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 0.6 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 0.6 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 1 mi
  • Symphony Park: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 0.1 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.3 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 0.4 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.4 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 0.6 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 0.6 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 1 mi
  • Symphony Park: 1 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 1.1 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 1.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • La Bayou: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 1.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 1.2 mi
  • El Cortez: 1.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 1.2 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 1.2 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 1.2 mi
  • California Club: 1.2 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 1.3 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 1.3 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 1.3 mi
  • Fontainebleau Resort Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • The Western: 1.4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Country Club: 1.4 mi
  • LVH – Las Vegas Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Circus Circus Las Vegas: 1.5 mi
  • Riviera: 1.5 mi
  • Grand Slam Canyon Adventuredome: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.2

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la verne, ca
Apr 25, 2010

ugly

the hotel is dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
LA CA
May 10, 2011

BAD EXPERIENCE

Very Dirty! Housekeepers kept my eyeglasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas Couple One Night
Business
Fernley, NV
Sep 24, 2013

Just one night..

The view was great, and so is the price. That's about all the good I can say. Where to begin with the things that weren't good....? I read other bad reviews but still reserved a room here. I will never stay here again. Found pennies on the carpet- indicating maybe it wasn't vacuumed...? The water temp constantly changed from hot to cold in the shower, as others were using water...don't dare flush, lol. The bed was too hard, and very squeaky. We had to leave the fan running all night to drown out the people from the thin walls, but to have it on, we had to listen to the rattling it would make. We didn't even think about turning the overhead fan on due to the accumulated dust build up on each fan blade...gross. Very dirty...even my towel was super stained from lipstick, mascara...it made me wonder if the towel was even washed. Very nasty place, and I don't even have high standards when looking for a cheap place to crash. The staff is very friendly and helpful...had a hard time finding our room, and had to get some forgotten conditioner...they stocked it with two shampoos instead....the people are friendly. But again...will never stay here again. Oh and the parking lot for the motel is inconvienent and so is the location of entry into motel. Not worth the cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Freemont experience isn't far. If you decide to still stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Apr 22, 2009

The most awful room I ever stayed in.

The location of hotel was terrible. We were afraid to walk on the streets there. The room was terrible, the bedding was disgusting. Would have found another place only it was late. Could not sleep in the beds because they didnt feel clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Vergne, TN, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Not Good for family getaway

The air conditonioner in the hall did not work and it came on intermittenly in the room. TV had below average showing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend another hotel for your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield,Ca.
Sep 7, 2009

i would not recomend the dump to a herd

it is just a dirty stinky hole !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
utah
May 15, 2011

Slept on a board.

The beds were so hard that my husband decided to sleep on the floor, because it was more comfortable. I had to sleep on my back all night because my hips started hurting. It was in a not-so-nice part of town. We were first given a room that stunk bad like it had been closed up wet. A musky weird smell. Then had to change to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shiprock, NM
Jun 10, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly!!

We went to Las Vegas to attend a graduation, and we stayed an extra day. I needed to book a room close to Circus Circus and I called [...]and they recommended this hotel. The hotel was about 3 miles from our destination, which was way out of our way!! The hotel had a foul odor, the bathroom door did not shut, and there were no towels!! The night before, I got a room through another booking agency and they upgraded my stay to a 3 star hotel. Our stay there was very good, but when we entered this room that was booked for us through your company, we didn't like the look and location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu HI
Jan 5, 2011

Would not recommend it

The rooms were tiny and they would only give one queen bed unless we were willing to pay double for the room. They did not have enough towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tiefenbach
Aug 10, 2008

Very noisy, not well maintained

Very noisy room, dogs barking and babies crying all night long. Noise isolation closed to null. Rooms have a nostalgic touch, hotel needs urgent renovation. Good location to Las Vegas downtown and The Strip. Good bus connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Decent restaurant in hotel, short bus ride to attractions...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top