$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

2 stars
1401 Las Vegas Blvd So., Las Vegas, NV 89104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
71 reviews
Loved it!!

We got into town a little early n were able to check us in. I appreciated that very much! Will be... See full review

  • Stephanie Chavez
  • Aug 5, 2013
Superior value for money

We requested quiet, they put us on the top floor (noone above) and no noise at all. Large pool and... See full review

  • Desert R0se
  • Sep 30, 2013
Take an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip to experience everything that Vegas has to offer. Get married in the wedding chapel, or hit the casinos along the strip by taking the Deuce Bus which stops just outside this lodging. Business travelers appreciate close proximity to the Las Vegas Convention Center and Sands Expo Center. Walk to Freemont Street Experience to see Old Vegas, or visit Madame Tussauds three miles away. Find meals all day at the Florida Cafe onsite, or at hundreds of local restaurants. Enjoy the convenience of large-vehicle parking, book your next social or business event in the full-service meeting and banquet facilities, and take advantage of the copy and fax services. Refresh in the Olympic-sized outdoor pool, then head to your comfortable home office room or family suite, both including complimentary wireless Internet access. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

36.1553 -115.1488
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly

Nearby points of interest

  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 0.1 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.3 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 0.4 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.4 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 0.6 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 0.6 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 1 mi
  • Symphony Park: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 0.1 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.3 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 0.4 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.4 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 0.6 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 0.6 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 1 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 1 mi
  • Symphony Park: 1 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 1.1 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 1.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • La Bayou: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 1.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 1.2 mi
  • El Cortez: 1.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 1.2 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 1.2 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 1.2 mi
  • California Club: 1.2 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 1.3 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 1.3 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 1.3 mi
  • Fontainebleau Resort Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • The Western: 1.4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Country Club: 1.4 mi
  • LVH – Las Vegas Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Circus Circus Las Vegas: 1.5 mi
  • Riviera: 1.5 mi
  • Grand Slam Canyon Adventuredome: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.2

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grace Cao
East Lansing, MI
Jan 6, 2013

Overall Good

A little far from the central strip. But the transportation is convenient. There is a bus station right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike5512
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 10, 2014

Not bad

You get what you pay for, but overall not bad. Room was old but fairly clean, staff was friendly, it's in a decent part of town, but a not really on "the strip." Overall, I'd probably pay more to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DEtraveller
DE
Jul 7, 2014

barely ok

Far from the strip; You can hear noises from the adjacent room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yaya375
Baltimore
Jul 1, 2014

Mediocre hotel, mediocre price.

Not on the Strip! Regardless of what the address tells you. The rooms seem clean, generally with working AC which is essential in Vegas but the lobby/public areas are in need of serious dusting. Also, not the most helpful staff. I think you're better off paying the extra $30/40 per night and staying on the actual Strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vtech
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 8, 2013

Too far

Thought we would save staying here but ended up spending a lot for taxi service to go either to the strip or down town. Had to walk down to another hotel to get a taxi one night after waiting for an hour. Be sure you have a car if you stay here. had an issue with no towels also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desert R0se
Nashville, TN
Sep 30, 2013

Superior value for money

We requested quiet, they put us on the top floor (noone above) and no noise at all. Large pool and palm trees, great Cuban restaurant, and night club. Wedding chapel if you need one. Convenient to down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas Couple One Night
Fernley, NV
Sep 24, 2013

Just one night..

The view was great, and so is the price. That's about all the good I can say. Where to begin with the things that weren't good....? I read other bad reviews but still reserved a room here. I will never stay here again. Found pennies on the carpet- indicating maybe it wasn't vacuumed...? The water temp constantly changed from hot to cold in the shower, as others were using water...don't dare flush, lol. The bed was too hard, and very squeaky. We had to leave the fan running all night to drown out the people from the thin walls, but to have it on, we had to listen to the rattling it would make. We didn't even think about turning the overhead fan on due to the accumulated dust build up on each fan blade...gross. Very dirty...even my towel was super stained from lipstick, mascara...it made me wonder if the towel was even washed. Very nasty place, and I don't even have high standards when looking for a cheap place to crash. The staff is very friendly and helpful...had a hard time finding our room, and had to get some forgotten conditioner...they stocked it with two shampoos instead....the people are friendly. But again...will never stay here again. Oh and the parking lot for the motel is inconvienent and so is the location of entry into motel. Not worth the cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Freemont experience isn't far. If you decide to still stay here.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goons
las Vegas, NV
Aug 18, 2013

For the price its not that great!

The rooms needed more cleaning and remodeling. The outside pool was very dirty, the water had alot of dead bugs etc... You can hear everything the person next room to you is doing (sucks) but after all the place wasn't that awful either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goons
las Vegas, NV
Aug 12, 2013

better than expected

its away from everything but its not so packed with people on the streets. it Sure was better than i had in mind. their breakfast is pretty good. just the ice machine takes a while to operate properly but other than thay it was cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

there are some cheap restaurants close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie Chavez
El Paso Texas
Aug 5, 2013

Loved it!!

We got into town a little early n were able to check us in. I appreciated that very much! Will be using hotel when we do return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Las Vegas Strip

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crys
Orange County
May 29, 2013

Great getaway

I loooved the private little balcony we had! Perfect for an inexpensive yet good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Cuban

Back to menu Return to top

Change search