$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

4 stars
View map of 129 East Fremont Street, POB 2016 /89125, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
2476 out of 2476
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 17, 2009

old room a dissappointment

The lobby and ground level are beautiful. check in was pleasant. The room we were sent to was a huge disappointment. It was dimly lit and smelled strongly of eucalyptus. It was quite dated. I went to the desk and told them the scent was unacceptable. To their credit they gave us a slightly updated room on a higher floor in the south tower. It had a flat screen TV and better lighting. The bad news was that this room also had a different scent in the AC unit but at least it was much milder and less oppressive. The pool area was fabulous. All we had to do was walk out the door to participate in the Freemont Street experience. They have a good buffet for $20.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

forget the bus tours and rent a car. YOu'll make out better and have more fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nowhere
Oct 16, 2009

Freemont

Same

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas Baby!!!
Business
Riverside, CA
Oct 14, 2009

Great Downtown Resort

The room was clean and well maintained. the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Inver Grove Heights, Mn
Oct 14, 2009

Vegas stay

I really like staying at the Golden Nugget. We just love the downtown atompshere. The freemont experience, the entertainment outside was excellent. Their is so much to see at night and the casinos are so close downtown. The securtiy is excellant, we feel very safe downtown and the freemont street is so clean and kept up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiny E
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 14, 2009

Golden Nugget worth its weight in gold

My wife and I traveled to Las Vegas for a wedding and stayed at the Golden Nugget for two nights. Overall, we had a great stay. From the airport we took the Gray Line shuttle into downtown. I highly recommend this as an affordable alternative to taking a taxi. Our cost for the round trip (to and from the airport) was about the same cost as a taxi going one way. The exterior of the Golden Nugget seems a little old, but its much nicer when compared to some of the older, smaller casinos/hotels in the area like Fitzpatrick's. Check-in took a long time, but the staff was friendly and gave us a coupon book good for discounts on food and beverages throughout the hotel's dining venues. The room was a little small. But seeing how we spent very little time in the room, it was more than sufficient for our needs. The pool area is great. Our niece and nephew loved the pool slide which passes through an enclosed shark tank. The two of them spent hours at the pool. Other than that, there is not a lot for kids to do at this hotel. The close proximity of the Golden Nugget to the Freemont Street Experience was great. Definitely try to check this out while you are in Vegas. Checkout was pretty smooth, except there was a problem with my bill. I found an extra substantial charge on my final bill and brought this up to the checkout attendant's attention. He gladly corrected the mistake without any hassle and removed the mysterious charge. Once again, my wife and I took the Gray Line shuttle to the airport. When you go to the airport to travel home on a Monday MAKE SURE YOU GET THERE 3 HOURS EARLY. This is not an exaggeration. Security and check-in are so backed up you might miss your flight if you do not budget adequate time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Freemont Street Experience located just outside the casino entrances of the Golden Nugget. Its free and happens every night at the top of every hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Exceeded Expectations

I was very pleased with our stay at the Golden Nugget. Here are what we like of this hotel: (1) the Pool is beautiful. Though it is small, it is very modern. I like the shark tank.Unfortunately it was cloudy and chilly the day we decided to go in the pool. (2) the buffet is good and priced just right; (3) the room is just perfect size for myself, my wife and a toddler. It is nicely decorated and very clean. I love the bed and the pillows. The only thing was the on-going construction. You can hear the noise early in the morning.I wouldn't give it a 5-star rating. A 4-star is more appropriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to go in other hotels' buffet to have a meal. Their buffet is good and priced just right. The selection is not too big so it doesn't get too overwhelming and you don't tend to over stuff yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Great time had by all

All the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hint is for the waitress we had on Thursday, October 8, 2009 in the Cafe. She didn't speak real good english and she was not knowledgeable about the different wines. Example: I asked her for a wine list and was told i would have to purchase the whole bottle and that they didn't sell it by the glass. ANY WINE. so as I looked around every other table had just purchased a glass not the whole bottle. So I asked her about the house wine and she told me the same thing. I could not have just a glass I had to purchase the bottle and they didn't have a wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun times
Business
Lynnwood WA
Oct 11, 2009

Love the remodel!

We had a great time! Only bad customer service was at check in and that was because he was "over" trying to please. We were not picky and told him as such, just wanted into our rooms, and he kept asking our preferences over and over trying to please, all he did is make us mad. The new pool area is excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the bus to the strip! Will save you all kinds of money and give you a chance to see alot more of Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
piedmont, oklahoma
Oct 8, 2009

great room and casino

great stay. no problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chain
Business
Goettingen, Germany
Oct 8, 2009

Golden Nugget

Very nice hotel, super pool area. Dining was ok, but the wine offered with it was a desaster (and expensive). The room was perfect except for the shower which was leaking and always flooded the whole bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top