$11 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
View map of 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
94 reviews
Awesome on a Budget

Great place if you dont need all of the goo-gaas of a large resort. Smaller hotel gets you closer... See full review

  • Vegasshane
  • Jan 28, 2015
Nice stay

Nice stay in LV. Price was great. A little bit far from the strip if you do not have a car to... See full review

  • xixi
  • Mar 14, 2015
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 94
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WickedCakes
Business
Menlo Park
Jan 24, 2015

One Night Stay

I'm not sure how they figure who stays in the rooms near Fremont Street (near the Stage right outside the hotel), if it is due to single person or because you booked the room so cheap? I'm just thankful I had my earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not sure if you can request it when booking or maybe when checking-in, but ask for a room AWAY from Fremont Street, unless you don't mind the vibration and noise coming from the outside Stage in your own room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ol' Pop
Business
London UK
Sep 22, 2014

A Good Experience

Had never stayed in the Downtown Area before, normally staying on 'The Strip' but have to say, was pleasantly surprised at the 'enjoyment' factor and the energy of the Freemont Street Area. Rowdy, exuberant fun- a good experience and cannot be beaten for value seekers. Also there were frequent buses available at $20 for a three day pass with 'The Strip' only thirty minutes away (if required).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need to book a car for a stay in Vegas, public transport is very effective.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20onblackplease
Business
The Tables
Jun 25, 2014

Gooood Stuff

I like this place quite a bit. I like it before it was renovated though also. It's location cannot be beat and even though its tripled in price in the last 5 years, the shrimp cocktail is still the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
andres1894
Business
georgia
Jun 9, 2014

it was not really good

the room was small, it didn't have neither microwave nor refrigerator, the rooms look old but in good maintenance, the hotel didn't have amenities, it is located in the old downtown just in front of the fremont street which is really cool, a lot of casinos, bars, and shows in friday nights; but if you want to go to the las vegas strip, that i'm pretty sure that you will want, you have to use some kind of transportation, because it is some miles far. also you have to pay 100 dollars, and they said that i would get the money back in 5 business day, and at the check out i had to pay 26 dollars of resort fee, and i had not idea that i had to pay for that. i recomend if you are a tourist, it is better to stay in a hotel in las vegas strip, it is more confortable and easy to visit the most popular places in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

O show, cirque du soleil

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.L. from California
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2013

You get (slightly more than) what you pay for

Some quick hits: -- I got a solid room with a solid location and solid amenities. Didn't expect more, and could have easily gotten less. -- The convenience of a smaller hotel was fantastic, as everything -- vending, ice, elevator -- seemed close. -- With noise never a factor to me, I took a Fremont-facing room, and it was actually fairly quiet to me (have stayed at Tower 5 in the Quad -- above the Carnival Court -- and that was far louder even at a higher level). -- For the price, I didn't expect free coffee, so the $2 "K-cup" option was nice even if I didn't act on it. -- The staff was flawless at every turn. Much appreciated. -- If I could change one thing, the grout in the bathroom tile could use a good scrubbing -- especially in the shower. Definitely a bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shrimp cocktail remains the best. You must have it at least once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan2
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 15, 2013

Great small room

The room was very clean and the furniture and look was fantastic. Very small but didn't need any more. Perfect for one night downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
docvet
Business
draper,utah
Sep 11, 2013

good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Writerbynature
Business
Lake Havasu, Arizona
Aug 16, 2013

Simple but good for the Price

The room was decorated with Hollywood Glam, the bed was decent enough. The room was rather small, had a view of the air conditioners that cooled the casino, and the bathroom was tiny. A pretty sucky shower that i spent 20 minutes trying to find the correct temperature for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cash for gold san diego
Business
LAS VEGAS
Oct 24, 2012

IN A LITTLE BOX

So here you are and you get what you pay for old small rooms with views of nothing so called re model i can trow un even paint on the wall and paint white tile black not good at all no no food deals 18.00 for a sammy and 3.00 for a coke mistake was on me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay their

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ron61
Business
MO
Aug 2, 2012

Fremont

Excellent value for enjoying downtown Las Vegas. Bed was small and kind of wore out, but when I went to bed it did not matter. Had valet parking only which is ok if you want to ride the bus or just walk every where. I prefer to drive so parked my car at another motel. If you want to sleep before midnight it could be a little loud, but that was not an issue with me. Over all the room served it's purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top