$14 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
79 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
I probably would stay here again

Overall I had a great experience. The only downside was that there was only valet parking during... See full review

  • naturel
  • Dec 7, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 79
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naturel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 7, 2014

I probably would stay here again

Overall I had a great experience. The only downside was that there was only valet parking during the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Court75
Business
Omaha, Ne.
Aug 25, 2014

The Golden Gate

I was under the impression that I was staying at the Golden Nugget, this is what I had discussed with the gentleman making all of my arrangements. Somehow I was sadly mistaken. The Golden Gate has nothing to offer. It is a cracker jack box size of a room. The veiw outside my window was pipes. There's no pool, weight room, breakfast in the morning, etc. The worst vacation that I have ever had in my life. Highly disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Down town always has something going on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moejazzman
Business
San Diego ca
Jul 7, 2014

you get what u pay for

The rooms are small ,can't open the restroom door all the way toilet right behind it it does offer free WiFi but kicks you out every time and when u leave it ask for you to log in to it ,room is clean the ask you for a 20 dollars for every night u stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lttrave
Business
los angeles,ca
Nov 26, 2010

Great Price

If you are staying for one night its okay. The price is good. The room we got was next to the main street, it was noisy but tolerable. Overall room was neat and clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. The nice part is that you get free vallet parking, and the hotel is within a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 13, 2010

excenllent stay

very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, CA
Aug 29, 2010

What a MESS!

Well, first off, the Parking Valet advised us that he wouldn't charge us to park the car, but don't tell anybody but he accepts tips; valet parking is a free service offered by the hotel. When we got our keys to the room, went in and found someone sleeping in the room. OOPS! sorry is what we got from the lobby clerk; rooms are small; bathroom noisy. Just not a very good place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 5, 2009

Terrible hotel

The Room is very small and the sheet is dirty!! The garbage area is right below the window. Never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ace of base FA
Business
Santa Barbara Ca.
May 5, 2009

One of the stays ever

I had a great tmie every was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

arcade was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top