$11 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
View map of 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
94 reviews
Awesome on a Budget

Great place if you dont need all of the goo-gaas of a large resort. Smaller hotel gets you closer... See full review

  • Vegasshane
  • Jan 28, 2015
Nice stay

Nice stay in LV. Price was great. A little bit far from the strip if you do not have a car to... See full review

  • xixi
  • Mar 14, 2015
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 94
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taximan
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Good value

Overall good. Don't actually know room cost because it was a package. Could use in-room microwave and coffee maker. Also a desk. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your Las Vegas hotel doesn't offer free airport shuttle, you can take the city bus (RTC) to the strip or downtown for $2.00.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegasshane
Business
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

Awesome on a Budget

Great place if you dont need all of the goo-gaas of a large resort. Smaller hotel gets you closer to all of the action on freemont street. The Staff was the most excellent part. No matter if your a big time player or a nickle poker player. Every staff member makes you feel welcomed all of the time. A great piece of vegas history..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Fun weekend trip

We have always wanted to stay on Fremont Street so we chose Golden Gate based on the great price. The first night we checked in pretty late and the only room they had faced Fremont St. Great view, but very loud!! The next morning they put us in a room on the much quieter side of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any questions we had. The room was small, but had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gr8REagent
Business
Chino Hills, CA
Nov 16, 2014

Good enough, but a step away from great.

The place looks great, hotel staff was awesome. Now once the finances are right I hope they update/completely remodel the bathroom. Bring flip flops to take showers in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm booking a room here again next year for LIB festival, hopefully it won't be sold out now that I mentioned this.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBML
Business
Lake Havasu, AZ
Oct 13, 2014

Good for a night

Room was small and noisy but location and price were worth it. The furnishings were new and modern but the bathroom needed updating. Overall it was comfortable place to stay and the casino was generous or we were just lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck Gotti
Business
Wisconsin dells, wi
Sep 27, 2014

Fremont street experience!!

The room was the perfect size for me n my wife, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the current events in the area. The best part about ur hotel is that it's right on Fremont st!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travler1285
Business
Las Vegas
Sep 3, 2014

Last minute

Needed a place last minute. Staff was very accommodating. Unique and older

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q Travel
Business
Burbank, CA
May 24, 2014

Great Deal!

Hotel was nice, with a unique history, service top notch, room designed in a modern style with some of the original 1906 fixtures still in tact, comfy bed and location right on the Fremont Street Experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$5 free slot play for hotel guests when signing up for their free 1906 Member card

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chatakat
Business
Texas
Mar 25, 2014

Ok . . . but not great

Built im 1906 we expected issues. We had a remodeled room and the street noise wasn't a problem. The bathroom is extremely small and at night there was limited warm water. Mornings had plenty of hot. Tub was stained and sink had cracks. Nothing that "ruined" the room but when you tacked on the resort fee we could have stayed elsewhere for the same amount. If we couldn't get another room we would go back but will shop around. We knew it was small, old and dated so can't really complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freeont Street is itself pure entertainment but is NOT a place for kids of any age. We saw parents covering their kids eyes, saw teenagers gawking at pole dancers and preteen girls drinking in the moves made by those dancers. Come on folks - leave the kids home!!

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KyraJDread
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2014

Awesome

I really enjoyed my stay. Not a fan of the small bathroom and horrible view but everything else was amazing. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful I would DEFINITELY stay AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top