$11 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
109 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
Gooood Stuff

I like this place quite a bit. I like it before it was renovated though also. It's location cannot... See full review

  • 20onblackplease
  • Jun 25, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 109
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeff Dean
Business
Yuma, Az
Apr 17, 2013

Good value for the price

I asked to have a room over looking Freemont St. so i could see and hear the live music. I was great for me, the weather turned windy and cold so i enjoyed the bands with a great view from my room, and once the weather was nice I could walk out t=of the hotel right on to Freemont St. and enjoy all it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EMMelendez
Business
Annapolis, MD
Oct 7, 2011

Not what I expected

Hotel was really old. Rooms small. Poor TV channel lineup. No free internet and no table/desk/chair to work on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lill
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Bad experience

I could have got a better place to stay for $60 per night at Holiday Inn, and or a motel. The Golden Gate's room was very small, there is no bath tub, the stand up shower was very small, I could hardly move around inside. I don't believe the maid sanitize the toilet. My first night, I woke up itching on both of my back thighs. Our room was next to the live band, and we could not get any sleep, or have a moment of peace. The Golden Gate Hotel very sting. Other casinos did not sting as bad and people were smoking as well. When I entered the room, I thought, they had giving me a smoking room. They charge for coffee, they did not offer any complimentary to their guest not even a shuttle to the strips. I would not recommended this Hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your car broke down, don't let the CHP call the towing for you. CHP will call a towing company that will charge $220 per hour. Call around and compare the price.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lill
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Bad experience

I could have got a better place to stay for $60 per night at Holiday Inn, and or a motel. The Golden Gate's room was very small, there is no bath tub, the stand up shower was very small, I could hardly move around inside. I don't believe the maid sanitize the toilet. My first night, I woke up itching on both of my back thighs. Our room was next to the live band, and we could not get any sleep, or have a moment of peace. The Golden Gate Hotel very sting. Other casinos did not sting as bad and people were smoking as well. When I entered the room, I thought, they had giving me a smoking room. They charge for coffee, they did not offer any complimentary to their guest not even a shuttle to the strips. I would not recommended this Hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your car broke down, don't let the CHP call the towing for you. CHP will call a towing company that will charge $220 per hour. Call around and compare the price.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasekopf
Business
St. George, Utah
Oct 19, 2010

Love this hotel stay all the time.

I love to stay here when I come to Vegas on business. The rooms are small but comfortable. Plus the staff is very friendly. Breakfast downstairs is fantastic. I have stayed all over vegas and this hotel is cleaner and more comfortable than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasekopf
Business
St. George, Utah
Oct 19, 2010

Love this hotel stay all the time.

I love to stay here when I come to Vegas on business. The rooms are small but comfortable. Plus the staff is very friendly. Breakfast downstairs is fantastic. I have stayed all over vegas and this hotel is cleaner and more comfortable than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top