$12 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
78 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
I probably would stay here again

Overall I had a great experience. The only downside was that there was only valet parking during... See full review

  • naturel
  • Dec 7, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler chick
Business
Azusa, Ca.
May 24, 2010

best location, but small rooms.

this is by far the smallest and the oldest hotel I have seen and experienced in vegas. I mean motel 8 or the other small name motels are better than this. Not to put this hotel down. Coz am really not a picky traveler. But come on do some adjustments. Maybe like the bathroom and add a table by the window. So, the guest can enjoy the view and a cup of coffee in the morning. I really did not had a hard time sleeping thru the noise. In my neighborhood I hear so much noise til 3AM. With a little help of alcohol downstairs by the bar I slept thru the noise like a baby. My husband was up til midnight, but he slept thru it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

downstairs next to the hotel registration is a good snack place. open 24hrs and serving their famous Shrimp cocktail for $1.99. I cant have shrimp(allergies) but my husband had 4 glasses of those. He seemed to enjoy it. Everything else is walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
silvia2222
Business
Glendora, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

horrible

Filthy, small room, left to find another hotel asked for my money back they told me I had to go through orbits for Credit. Most disgusting hotel I've ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maggs
Business
Montebello
Feb 13, 2012

Would not recommend

We understand 1st availability and although we were given a 1 bed accomadation instead of a double bed room we were okay with it...However the room was like an oven the thermostat was set and locked at 70 degress but it felt like 90 degrees did call the front desk staff brought over a window fan but that did not help at all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Binions great deals on dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prock96
Business
Kahuku,HI
Feb 14, 2012

Too much smoke and noise

Didnt know that this hotel was that terrible. It was old and run down. I don't smoke so it bugged me out a lot that the room smelt like smoke and the noise you could hear from the downstairs was loud. So we left and got a hotel at the Las Vegas Hotel.. A lot better for your buck if you know what I mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago area
Aug 5, 2010

I thought I was to stay at the Nugget

A very small room, very outdated. Not a pleasent bathroom, though clean. Glad my wife was not with me. I really thought I was to stay at the Golden Nugget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 23, 2007

Hotel from Hell and then some!!

WE had to wait at least 25 min before we could approach the check-in counter. We finally checked-in to our room and the cigarette ashes were about a quarter of an inc thick on the dingy furniture. It was so bad a went back to the check-in counter and asked for another room. We got a room on the 3rd floor which was a little bit better. The next day my wife couldn't get out of the hotel room fast enough. The hotel rooms are sprayed woth some sort of deoderant in order to kill the smell of the cigarette smoke and the mustyness of an old hotel. I will never stay at the Golden Gate Hotel ever again nor would I recommend it. They should emplode it ASAP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 5, 2009

Terrible hotel

The Room is very small and the sheet is dirty!! The garbage area is right below the window. Never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 27, 2010

Bare Minimum

Checked in and LEFT the hotel for the remainder of my stay. Its right on Fremont street, but honestly, that area sucks. I headed back towards the Strip and ended up dozing off in a friends' hotel rather than pony up $40 for a cab ride back to the ghetto and my tiny room. Partially my own fault for booking a hotel on Fremont, but it was so cheap for a weekend rate, better to try it first. Small casino, NO extra amenities basically, few eatery options, and the front desk staff... HA! Could use some training in that department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, CA
Aug 29, 2010

What a MESS!

Well, first off, the Parking Valet advised us that he wouldn't charge us to park the car, but don't tell anybody but he accepts tips; valet parking is a free service offered by the hotel. When we got our keys to the room, went in and found someone sleeping in the room. OOPS! sorry is what we got from the lobby clerk; rooms are small; bathroom noisy. Just not a very good place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killeen,tx.
Nov 29, 2010

Got What I Paid For.

The Golden Gate Hotel rooms are Small and old The bathroom is very small a big person would'nt fit in the bathroom itself the shower was so small i had to stand sideware to get wet.I don't know if all the shower is like this or just that one ,but ,i will pay the extra cost to stay in other hotel then the golden gate.overall i had fun with my family from hawaii,they stayed at main street hotel.I will stay there on my next trip to Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top