$14 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
72 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
Gooood Stuff

I like this place quite a bit. I like it before it was renovated though also. It's location cannot... See full review

  • 20onblackplease
  • Jun 25, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern Utah
May 24, 2010

Cozy and Clean

The price was right. The rooms were small but not our priority. The hotel has a lot of history which was fun to learn about. The buttermilk pancakes in the restaurant was great. Noisy but we understood that being on Fremont Street that would be the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler chick
Azusa, Ca.
May 24, 2010

best location, but small rooms.

this is by far the smallest and the oldest hotel I have seen and experienced in vegas. I mean motel 8 or the other small name motels are better than this. Not to put this hotel down. Coz am really not a picky traveler. But come on do some adjustments. Maybe like the bathroom and add a table by the window. So, the guest can enjoy the view and a cup of coffee in the morning. I really did not had a hard time sleeping thru the noise. In my neighborhood I hear so much noise til 3AM. With a little help of alcohol downstairs by the bar I slept thru the noise like a baby. My husband was up til midnight, but he slept thru it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

downstairs next to the hotel registration is a good snack place. open 24hrs and serving their famous Shrimp cocktail for $1.99. I cant have shrimp(allergies) but my husband had 4 glasses of those. He seemed to enjoy it. Everything else is walking distance.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bv1
Mesa, AZ
May 9, 2010

Good hotel for the price

Overall this hotel is a great place to stay for the price. The service is excellent. The rooms are small yes, but comfortable. Our room overlooked Fremont Street, and yes it was noisy, but the band stops playing around 2 and then honestly you can't hear it over the AC fan. Besides, Vegas isn't for sleeping! The bathrooms were slightly outdated, but still a fun place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pool at the Golden Nugget is amazing and there is a bar right there at night, so you can relax poolside and have a few drinks.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BiggDaddy62
Lancaster, Ca 93535
Mar 22, 2010

Travel experience

My wife and I had a great time at the Golden Gate. It was like being in a time capsule. It takes you back to a time long forgotten. There was plenty of shops and other casinos that we visited. All were right next to the Golden Gate. If you want to get away and have a good time visit the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for the specials every hotel and casino there on Fremont has different specials

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Feb 6, 2010

Historical,clean, good price

Saw the show (Fremont street).Went to the strip Drove to Hoover Dam. As for the room ,a small refrigerator would be nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, Oregon
Oct 23, 2009

LOVE this place!

My husband and I and two other couples stayed here when we went to Las Vegas to get married. We booked our room at $19.00 per night! We could have stayed anyplace we wanted to, but we both really really like the Golden Gate Casino for gambling and their restaurant is always wonderful. Our room had a very comfortable bed and beautiful furnishings. The bathroom is REALLY small and really needs to be updated but it definitely served it's purpose for sure. We could not hear outside noise at all and we had a room facing the busy street but slept just fine. Of course, our sleeping hours ran from about 4:00 in the morning until about 10:00 in the morning. Room service did a great job on our room and we did not have any issues with cleanliness. We had everything we needed and did not need to make any calls for service. The restaurant had WONDERFUL food as always and the cost was way cheaper than other restaurants. We had chicken dinner and it was awesome. I recommend it. The bar in the casino always had great bartenders and they did not hassle me at all in the morning when I would go down with my coffee cup and a book to read a little before my husband awoke; unlike some of the other casinos that will not let you sit at the bar unless you order a drink. The check in went so fast! And the lady that checked us out was extremely friendly. I don't remember her name but she was an older woman and knew a lot of history about the hotel and Fremont Street Experience. If you want a clean room and you do not want to break into your gambling budjet to go to Vegas, stay at the Golden Gate Hotel! You will not be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a LARGE room and a not very comfortable bed for over $100 per night then stay someplace else on Fremont. This hotel was exactly what we wanted. Charm and clean and not a lot of money. It is not plush and upscale, but it is a wonderful place to stay. TOP SERVICE GREAT VALUE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at The Golden Gate Hotel restaurant. You will not beat the prices or the quality and quantity of food.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LdeeJ
Warner Robins, GA
Oct 15, 2009

Nice place to sleep and shower

Room was small but adequate. Bathroom very small but also adequate. For the price you pay for the rooms they are excellent. I love to stay downtown as it is much more peaceful than the strip. No card flippers downtown and very few solictors trying to get you to do a timeshare. If you want to go to another casino you just walk out the door and in less than a minute you are there. You can't do that on the strip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The cafes in Golden gate are both great. Shrimp for 99 cents you can't bet with a player card and one point. The cafe in the front of the casino is very, very good for breakfast and very reasonable. Pancakes and hashbrown are VERY GOOD.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hagridmagic
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Cheap and old HOTEL

The location was great and very cheap. But you get what you pay for. The rooms are really small, smelly and too, too old!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Medic
Honolulu, HI
Sep 17, 2009

Great little hotel

Cute hotel in downtown near the Fremont Experience. The staff was friendly and eager to assist and please. The room was cozy, perfect for one person with a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV. The diner had a great breakfast with lots of local patrons. Great place to be rest at after a long day of shopping and gambling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fremont Experience is right outside the casino doors.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lover
az
Sep 14, 2009

cheap not terrible

Well Its nice to be right on the old strip buttttt this hotel is so old the water in the shower was hat cold to scolding in seconds. The casino is small tight and smells like sewer.It would be ok if you didnt need your room to much.Its cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search