$12 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
View map of 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antelope Valley ,CA
Jul 2, 2011

Great for couples

The hotel room was nice and clean, and we were right in the middle of all the action on Fremont St. Theres lots of stuff to do in the hotel and right outside and its close to the strip (15mins).I loved the stores and resturants that were only seconds away, very convenient! There was sooo much to do and see, the only complaint I have is that the hallways of the hotel smelt like a sewer and the room didnt have an iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we loved the buffet at the Fremont hotel.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent Location

We have been to Las Vegas many times, However this was our first time to stay on Fremont Street. We actually went to meet friends, gambling was not our focus. The hotel is very old, but very charming. The rooms are small but decorated nice. The beds are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You walk right out your door and you are on Fremont Street with many choices of entertainment.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wdm_emm
Business
Upland, CA
Dec 30, 2010

Good price and location

Downtown location and free valet parking are benefits of this hotel. Cozy and small hotel right on Freemont Street. Friendly staff and very nice room. ONLY downside is that the room was just off the Freemont Street Experience, and the outside noise was very loud. I would ask for a room that was not over looking that. Otherwise, the room was clean, comfortable, and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohio smith
Business
kent, ohio
Dec 9, 2010

excellent value

at $24 a night(sun.thru thur.) a great value. great location. walk out the door into the Fremont street experience. the Golden Gate is also famous for their $1.99 shrimp coctails

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

fremont street experience

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohio smith
Business
kent, ohio
Dec 9, 2010

excellent value

at $24 a night(sun.thru thur.) a great value. great location. walk out the door into the Fremont street experience. the Golden Gate is also famous for their $1.99 shrimp coctails

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

fremont street experience

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killeen,tx.
Nov 29, 2010

Got What I Paid For.

The Golden Gate Hotel rooms are Small and old The bathroom is very small a big person would'nt fit in the bathroom itself the shower was so small i had to stand sideware to get wet.I don't know if all the shower is like this or just that one ,but ,i will pay the extra cost to stay in other hotel then the golden gate.overall i had fun with my family from hawaii,they stayed at main street hotel.I will stay there on my next trip to Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alain R
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 29, 2010

I'm a new fan of the Golden Gate!

I started reading about the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino before coming out to Vegas. I really hoped that I would be happy with it, but to be honest, I prepared myself to be dissappointed. Although a friend of mine told me it was a very bad place to stay, all of the reviews said that it was "Las Vegas's last hidden gem" and that it's like traveling back in time and enjoying the deals of the original Las Vegas. This trip has been eye opening, because the reviews are absolutely right. You may not be living in elegance, but you'll have a clean, well decorated room, a VERY comfortable pillow top bed, and all the Shrimp Cocktail you can handle. It's not often that my expectations are exceeded and this is really one of those times. The staff is proud that this is the oldest hotel in town and they reward you for knowing the 1906 secret. This tiny little establishment is located on the corner of Main and Fremont Street in old Las Vegas. Many people don't even consider staying in old Las Vegas, but since staying on Fremont Street last July, I find myself having no interest in going to the Strip anymore. Here, you can still get inexpensive food, a free light show, "The Fremont Experience", lots of free live entertainment that's actually very good, and the ability to have a VERY inexpensive vacation. Many people can't eat at a restaurant for two for the amount of money I've spent to get here, rent a hotel, and have a blast! I've heard people say that you can't get deals in las Vegas anymore, yet I have seen 4 buffets that are $7.00 or less in the past day. There are 99 cent food deals all over Las Vegas too (but keep in mind, these are treats...not health food.) You can come to Vegas and spend a huge amount of money and live in elegance, but if you want a quick fun trip, you really can do it for prices that make you feel like you're in Old Las Vegas. I've been here more than 20 times, and I've stayed at elegant hotels but what I find is, you're paying a lot of money for a room you walk into and then leave for many many hours. So, you're paying for a room that you're seeing for a couple of short hours. Save your money for when you're awake...The Golden Gate is a true Historic find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont is right outside the front door!

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lttrave
Business
los angeles,ca
Nov 26, 2010

Great Price

If you are staying for one night its okay. The price is good. The room we got was next to the main street, it was noisy but tolerable. Overall room was neat and clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. The nice part is that you get free vallet parking, and the hotel is within a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasekopf
Business
St. George, Utah
Oct 19, 2010

Love this hotel stay all the time.

I love to stay here when I come to Vegas on business. The rooms are small but comfortable. Plus the staff is very friendly. Breakfast downstairs is fantastic. I have stayed all over vegas and this hotel is cleaner and more comfortable than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 13, 2010

excenllent stay

very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top