$14 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Perfect location

Perfect location and value for money.. I'll stay there again in 2015. See full review

  • Spartacus
  • Aug 18, 2014
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasekopf
Business
St. George, Utah
Oct 19, 2010

Love this hotel stay all the time.

I love to stay here when I come to Vegas on business. The rooms are small but comfortable. Plus the staff is very friendly. Breakfast downstairs is fantastic. I have stayed all over vegas and this hotel is cleaner and more comfortable than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 13, 2010

excenllent stay

very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Covina, CA
Aug 29, 2010

What a MESS!

Well, first off, the Parking Valet advised us that he wouldn't charge us to park the car, but don't tell anybody but he accepts tips; valet parking is a free service offered by the hotel. When we got our keys to the room, went in and found someone sleeping in the room. OOPS! sorry is what we got from the lobby clerk; rooms are small; bathroom noisy. Just not a very good place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago area
Aug 5, 2010

I thought I was to stay at the Nugget

A very small room, very outdated. Not a pleasent bathroom, though clean. Glad my wife was not with me. I really thought I was to stay at the Golden Nugget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Centro, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Nice Room

Nice location, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Jul 27, 2010

Bare Minimum

Checked in and LEFT the hotel for the remainder of my stay. Its right on Fremont street, but honestly, that area sucks. I headed back towards the Strip and ended up dozing off in a friends' hotel rather than pony up $40 for a cab ride back to the ghetto and my tiny room. Partially my own fault for booking a hotel on Fremont, but it was so cheap for a weekend rate, better to try it first. Small casino, NO extra amenities basically, few eatery options, and the front desk staff... HA! Could use some training in that department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ohio smith
cleveland, oh
Jul 24, 2010

good deal

very good location. right on fremont. very clean. nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

freemont street experience

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ohio smith
kent, ohio
Jul 23, 2010

good value at low internet prices

overall good. some of the rooms on the third floor,east side have a little of a noise problem. they're adjacent to an alley with dumpsters from the hotels and casinos. also , the rooms on that wall are not very cool in the summer heat. mine was fair, but a man down the hall said his was hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

the Golden Gate is famous for it's shrimp coctail

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jul 23, 2010

Las Vegas Club

Bathroom looked unsanitary. Lamps were not plugged in. alarm clock was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breakeven
Apache Jct, AZ
Jul 7, 2010

4th of July Fremont St Experience

This was the first time I've stayed in downtown Las Vegas instead of the strip, and it was the first 4th of July holiday. I stayed at the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino and was happy with the accommodations. The great thing about the Golden Gate was the location. Just walk out the front doors and you're under the Fremont Street Experience. All of the other casinos were within walking distance. Three stages were set up along Fremont street with live entertainment not to mention the Fremont St Experience itself every 30 minutes. The Little River Band played in concert the night before the 4th. It was a great time. The only negative about the Golden Gate was the noise. The room was next to the alley way and at about 4 am in the morning, the trash truck came to collect the trash and banged the container several times and made a lot of noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best buffet was at the Fremont hotel and casino!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search