$21 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
76 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
A Good Experience

Had never stayed in the Downtown Area before, normally staying on 'The Strip' but have to say, was... See full review

  • Ol' Pop
  • Sep 22, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killeen,tx.
Nov 29, 2010

Got What I Paid For.

The Golden Gate Hotel rooms are Small and old The bathroom is very small a big person would'nt fit in the bathroom itself the shower was so small i had to stand sideware to get wet.I don't know if all the shower is like this or just that one ,but ,i will pay the extra cost to stay in other hotel then the golden gate.overall i had fun with my family from hawaii,they stayed at main street hotel.I will stay there on my next trip to Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alain R
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 29, 2010

I'm a new fan of the Golden Gate!

I started reading about the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino before coming out to Vegas. I really hoped that I would be happy with it, but to be honest, I prepared myself to be dissappointed. Although a friend of mine told me it was a very bad place to stay, all of the reviews said that it was "Las Vegas's last hidden gem" and that it's like traveling back in time and enjoying the deals of the original Las Vegas. This trip has been eye opening, because the reviews are absolutely right. You may not be living in elegance, but you'll have a clean, well decorated room, a VERY comfortable pillow top bed, and all the Shrimp Cocktail you can handle. It's not often that my expectations are exceeded and this is really one of those times. The staff is proud that this is the oldest hotel in town and they reward you for knowing the 1906 secret. This tiny little establishment is located on the corner of Main and Fremont Street in old Las Vegas. Many people don't even consider staying in old Las Vegas, but since staying on Fremont Street last July, I find myself having no interest in going to the Strip anymore. Here, you can still get inexpensive food, a free light show, "The Fremont Experience", lots of free live entertainment that's actually very good, and the ability to have a VERY inexpensive vacation. Many people can't eat at a restaurant for two for the amount of money I've spent to get here, rent a hotel, and have a blast! I've heard people say that you can't get deals in las Vegas anymore, yet I have seen 4 buffets that are $7.00 or less in the past day. There are 99 cent food deals all over Las Vegas too (but keep in mind, these are treats...not health food.) You can come to Vegas and spend a huge amount of money and live in elegance, but if you want a quick fun trip, you really can do it for prices that make you feel like you're in Old Las Vegas. I've been here more than 20 times, and I've stayed at elegant hotels but what I find is, you're paying a lot of money for a room you walk into and then leave for many many hours. So, you're paying for a room that you're seeing for a couple of short hours. Save your money for when you're awake...The Golden Gate is a true Historic find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont is right outside the front door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lttrave
Business
los angeles,ca
Nov 26, 2010

Great Price

If you are staying for one night its okay. The price is good. The room we got was next to the main street, it was noisy but tolerable. Overall room was neat and clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. The nice part is that you get free vallet parking, and the hotel is within a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasekopf
Business
St. George, Utah
Oct 19, 2010

Love this hotel stay all the time.

I love to stay here when I come to Vegas on business. The rooms are small but comfortable. Plus the staff is very friendly. Breakfast downstairs is fantastic. I have stayed all over vegas and this hotel is cleaner and more comfortable than most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 13, 2010

excenllent stay

very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, CA
Aug 29, 2010

What a MESS!

Well, first off, the Parking Valet advised us that he wouldn't charge us to park the car, but don't tell anybody but he accepts tips; valet parking is a free service offered by the hotel. When we got our keys to the room, went in and found someone sleeping in the room. OOPS! sorry is what we got from the lobby clerk; rooms are small; bathroom noisy. Just not a very good place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago area
Aug 5, 2010

I thought I was to stay at the Nugget

A very small room, very outdated. Not a pleasent bathroom, though clean. Glad my wife was not with me. I really thought I was to stay at the Golden Nugget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Nice Room

Nice location, great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 27, 2010

Bare Minimum

Checked in and LEFT the hotel for the remainder of my stay. Its right on Fremont street, but honestly, that area sucks. I headed back towards the Strip and ended up dozing off in a friends' hotel rather than pony up $40 for a cab ride back to the ghetto and my tiny room. Partially my own fault for booking a hotel on Fremont, but it was so cheap for a weekend rate, better to try it first. Small casino, NO extra amenities basically, few eatery options, and the front desk staff... HA! Could use some training in that department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ohio smith
Business
cleveland, oh
Jul 24, 2010

good deal

very good location. right on fremont. very clean. nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

freemont street experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top