$24 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
View map of 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KyraJDread
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2014

Awesome

I really enjoyed my stay. Not a fan of the small bathroom and horrible view but everything else was amazing. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful I would DEFINITELY stay AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Los D
Business
Twentynine Palms, California
Dec 10, 2013

Quick weekend away... on the cheap.

Like the title says, this was a hasty get away and we thought it would be nice to save on the hotel and spend on the shows and tables... with that said here are the pro/con and some in betweens. Pros 1. Location is great if you are looking to see “old” Las Vegas. It’s out the door and you step on Fremont St. 2. Had to of been the absolute nicest bed I’ve slept in. 3. The best-looking dealers on Fremont St., serious distraction while playing the tables. Cons 1. The room is literally the size of a coat closet. 2. Sound travels all through the hotel, so in a place like Fremont st. on the weekend… enough said. 3. You pay a “Resort Fee”, but it’s hardly a resort… no pool, no spa, no peace, no quite… no rest, no relaxation. 4. All the good shows are on the strip not Fremont. 5. The staff could have been more knowledgeable and helpful. In between 1. It’s definitely an “older crowd” that hangs around this area, which is surprising how much noise they can make at 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A touch of Las Vegas Day Spa. If you're looking for a great massage, in a professional, clean and relaxing environment, and not resort prices then check it out. It’s definitely a hidden gem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.L. from California
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2013

You get (slightly more than) what you pay for

Some quick hits: -- I got a solid room with a solid location and solid amenities. Didn't expect more, and could have easily gotten less. -- The convenience of a smaller hotel was fantastic, as everything -- vending, ice, elevator -- seemed close. -- With noise never a factor to me, I took a Fremont-facing room, and it was actually fairly quiet to me (have stayed at Tower 5 in the Quad -- above the Carnival Court -- and that was far louder even at a higher level). -- For the price, I didn't expect free coffee, so the $2 "K-cup" option was nice even if I didn't act on it. -- The staff was flawless at every turn. Much appreciated. -- If I could change one thing, the grout in the bathroom tile could use a good scrubbing -- especially in the shower. Definitely a bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shrimp cocktail remains the best. You must have it at least once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan2
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 15, 2013

Great small room

The room was very clean and the furniture and look was fantastic. Very small but didn't need any more. Perfect for one night downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Washington Joe
Business
tacoma Wa
Sep 19, 2013

needed 2 days away

The room was small but very neat and quite comfy. Being Vegas, it was what was expected, not exactly a room to spend time in, but nice enough for a few hrs sleep. The only real problem we had was a problem with the shower. Water temp was impossible to regulate, swung from near scalding to cold without touching the faucets. The history of the place made it fascinating. Fit with its 2 star rating. Not bad at all for a SHORT trip on the cheap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
docvet
Business
draper,utah
Sep 11, 2013

good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Writerbynature
Business
Lake Havasu, Arizona
Aug 16, 2013

Simple but good for the Price

The room was decorated with Hollywood Glam, the bed was decent enough. The room was rather small, had a view of the air conditioners that cooled the casino, and the bathroom was tiny. A pretty sucky shower that i spent 20 minutes trying to find the correct temperature for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeff Dean
Business
Yuma, Az
Apr 17, 2013

Good value for the price

I asked to have a room over looking Freemont St. so i could see and hear the live music. I was great for me, the weather turned windy and cold so i enjoyed the bands with a great view from my room, and once the weather was nice I could walk out t=of the hotel right on to Freemont St. and enjoy all it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cash for gold san diego
Business
LAS VEGAS
Oct 24, 2012

IN A LITTLE BOX

So here you are and you get what you pay for old small rooms with views of nothing so called re model i can trow un even paint on the wall and paint white tile black not good at all no no food deals 18.00 for a sammy and 3.00 for a coke mistake was on me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay their

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apso
Business
fort Mohave
Aug 28, 2012

fun for two

My husband and I stayed for three nights the rooms were small but very comfortable. Perfect for a young couple like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mob museum was amazing $18 for over 18 there is also student, resident, and senior discounts that rang even liver in price. Also under 18 is cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top