$20 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
View map of 1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20onblackplease
Single
The Tables
Jun 25, 2014

Gooood Stuff

I like this place quite a bit. I like it before it was renovated though also. It's location cannot be beat and even though its tripled in price in the last 5 years, the shrimp cocktail is still the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew Traveler
Friends
Ft. Wayne, Indiana
Jun 16, 2014

Right on Fremont St.

The Golden Gate was right for what I was looking for. It was just at the end of Fremont St. and the price was right. Walk out the front door right into the Experience. The room was small but perfect since I just needed it for sleeping for 4 nights. It's not a fancy hotel on the strip but it is just right if you need a room on Fremont. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont St. Has it all. It has plenty of restaurants, bars,entertainment, gambling, people watching, all within a few blocks. Just a short taxi or bus ride from the strip. Walk a few blocks east of Fremont and check out Container Park. You will be glad you did.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q Travel
Couples
Burbank, CA
May 24, 2014

Great Deal!

Hotel was nice, with a unique history, service top notch, room designed in a modern style with some of the original 1906 fixtures still in tact, comfy bed and location right on the Fremont Street Experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$5 free slot play for hotel guests when signing up for their free 1906 Member card

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chatakat
Couples
Texas
Mar 25, 2014

Ok . . . but not great

Built im 1906 we expected issues. We had a remodeled room and the street noise wasn't a problem. The bathroom is extremely small and at night there was limited warm water. Mornings had plenty of hot. Tub was stained and sink had cracks. Nothing that "ruined" the room but when you tacked on the resort fee we could have stayed elsewhere for the same amount. If we couldn't get another room we would go back but will shop around. We knew it was small, old and dated so can't really complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freeont Street is itself pure entertainment but is NOT a place for kids of any age. We saw parents covering their kids eyes, saw teenagers gawking at pole dancers and preteen girls drinking in the moves made by those dancers. Come on folks - leave the kids home!!

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KyraJDread
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2014

Awesome

I really enjoyed my stay. Not a fan of the small bathroom and horrible view but everything else was amazing. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful I would DEFINITELY stay AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Los D
Couples
Twentynine Palms, California
Dec 10, 2013

Quick weekend away... on the cheap.

Like the title says, this was a hasty get away and we thought it would be nice to save on the hotel and spend on the shows and tables... with that said here are the pro/con and some in betweens. Pros 1. Location is great if you are looking to see “old” Las Vegas. It’s out the door and you step on Fremont St. 2. Had to of been the absolute nicest bed I’ve slept in. 3. The best-looking dealers on Fremont St., serious distraction while playing the tables. Cons 1. The room is literally the size of a coat closet. 2. Sound travels all through the hotel, so in a place like Fremont st. on the weekend… enough said. 3. You pay a “Resort Fee”, but it’s hardly a resort… no pool, no spa, no peace, no quite… no rest, no relaxation. 4. All the good shows are on the strip not Fremont. 5. The staff could have been more knowledgeable and helpful. In between 1. It’s definitely an “older crowd” that hangs around this area, which is surprising how much noise they can make at 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A touch of Las Vegas Day Spa. If you're looking for a great massage, in a professional, clean and relaxing environment, and not resort prices then check it out. It’s definitely a hidden gem.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.L. from California
Single
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2013

You get (slightly more than) what you pay for

Some quick hits: -- I got a solid room with a solid location and solid amenities. Didn't expect more, and could have easily gotten less. -- The convenience of a smaller hotel was fantastic, as everything -- vending, ice, elevator -- seemed close. -- With noise never a factor to me, I took a Fremont-facing room, and it was actually fairly quiet to me (have stayed at Tower 5 in the Quad -- above the Carnival Court -- and that was far louder even at a higher level). -- For the price, I didn't expect free coffee, so the $2 "K-cup" option was nice even if I didn't act on it. -- The staff was flawless at every turn. Much appreciated. -- If I could change one thing, the grout in the bathroom tile could use a good scrubbing -- especially in the shower. Definitely a bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shrimp cocktail remains the best. You must have it at least once.

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan2
Single
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 15, 2013

Great small room

The room was very clean and the furniture and look was fantastic. Very small but didn't need any more. Perfect for one night downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Washington Joe
Couples
tacoma Wa
Sep 19, 2013

needed 2 days away

The room was small but very neat and quite comfy. Being Vegas, it was what was expected, not exactly a room to spend time in, but nice enough for a few hrs sleep. The only real problem we had was a problem with the shower. Water temp was impossible to regulate, swung from near scalding to cold without touching the faucets. The history of the place made it fascinating. Fit with its 2 star rating. Not bad at all for a SHORT trip on the cheap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
docvet
Single
draper,utah
Sep 11, 2013

good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top