$19 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
75 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
A Good Experience

Had never stayed in the Downtown Area before, normally staying on 'The Strip' but have to say, was... See full review

  • Ol' Pop
  • Sep 22, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KyraJDread
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2014

Awesome

I really enjoyed my stay. Not a fan of the small bathroom and horrible view but everything else was amazing. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful I would DEFINITELY stay AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Los D
Twentynine Palms, California
Dec 10, 2013

Quick weekend away... on the cheap.

Like the title says, this was a hasty get away and we thought it would be nice to save on the hotel and spend on the shows and tables... with that said here are the pro/con and some in betweens. Pros 1. Location is great if you are looking to see “old” Las Vegas. It’s out the door and you step on Fremont St. 2. Had to of been the absolute nicest bed I’ve slept in. 3. The best-looking dealers on Fremont St., serious distraction while playing the tables. Cons 1. The room is literally the size of a coat closet. 2. Sound travels all through the hotel, so in a place like Fremont st. on the weekend… enough said. 3. You pay a “Resort Fee”, but it’s hardly a resort… no pool, no spa, no peace, no quite… no rest, no relaxation. 4. All the good shows are on the strip not Fremont. 5. The staff could have been more knowledgeable and helpful. In between 1. It’s definitely an “older crowd” that hangs around this area, which is surprising how much noise they can make at 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A touch of Las Vegas Day Spa. If you're looking for a great massage, in a professional, clean and relaxing environment, and not resort prices then check it out. It’s definitely a hidden gem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.L. from California
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2013

You get (slightly more than) what you pay for

Some quick hits: -- I got a solid room with a solid location and solid amenities. Didn't expect more, and could have easily gotten less. -- The convenience of a smaller hotel was fantastic, as everything -- vending, ice, elevator -- seemed close. -- With noise never a factor to me, I took a Fremont-facing room, and it was actually fairly quiet to me (have stayed at Tower 5 in the Quad -- above the Carnival Court -- and that was far louder even at a higher level). -- For the price, I didn't expect free coffee, so the $2 "K-cup" option was nice even if I didn't act on it. -- The staff was flawless at every turn. Much appreciated. -- If I could change one thing, the grout in the bathroom tile could use a good scrubbing -- especially in the shower. Definitely a bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The shrimp cocktail remains the best. You must have it at least once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan2
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 15, 2013

Great small room

The room was very clean and the furniture and look was fantastic. Very small but didn't need any more. Perfect for one night downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Washington Joe
tacoma Wa
Sep 19, 2013

needed 2 days away

The room was small but very neat and quite comfy. Being Vegas, it was what was expected, not exactly a room to spend time in, but nice enough for a few hrs sleep. The only real problem we had was a problem with the shower. Water temp was impossible to regulate, swung from near scalding to cold without touching the faucets. The history of the place made it fascinating. Fit with its 2 star rating. Not bad at all for a SHORT trip on the cheap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
docvet
draper,utah
Sep 11, 2013

good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Writerbynature
Lake Havasu, Arizona
Aug 16, 2013

Simple but good for the Price

The room was decorated with Hollywood Glam, the bed was decent enough. The room was rather small, had a view of the air conditioners that cooled the casino, and the bathroom was tiny. A pretty sucky shower that i spent 20 minutes trying to find the correct temperature for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeff Dean
Business
Yuma, Az
Apr 17, 2013

Good value for the price

I asked to have a room over looking Freemont St. so i could see and hear the live music. I was great for me, the weather turned windy and cold so i enjoyed the bands with a great view from my room, and once the weather was nice I could walk out t=of the hotel right on to Freemont St. and enjoy all it has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cash for gold san diego
LAS VEGAS
Oct 24, 2012

IN A LITTLE BOX

So here you are and you get what you pay for old small rooms with views of nothing so called re model i can trow un even paint on the wall and paint white tile black not good at all no no food deals 18.00 for a sammy and 3.00 for a coke mistake was on me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay their

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apso
fort Mohave
Aug 28, 2012

fun for two

My husband and I stayed for three nights the rooms were small but very comfortable. Perfect for a young couple like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mob museum was amazing $18 for over 18 there is also student, resident, and senior discounts that rang even liver in price. Also under 18 is cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top