$19 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

2 stars
1 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
75 reviews
good job

I enjoyed myself and had fun good location and everything was right there for me to walk See full review

  • docvet
  • Sep 11, 2013
A Good Experience

Had never stayed in the Downtown Area before, normally staying on 'The Strip' but have to say, was... See full review

  • Ol' Pop
  • Sep 22, 2014
We're proud to be Las Vegas' most historic hotel and casino. Established in 1906, our family-owned boutique hotel-casino offers a friendly, intimate atmosphere that's reminiscent of classic times long forgotten by corporate mega-resorts. All guest rooms have been recently renovated and in 2008 we were named the "Best Downtown Hotel" by the Las Vegas Review Journal. We're located at One Fremont Street where you can simply step outside our door into the excitement of the Fremont Street Experience - Las Vegas' most dynamic street scene crowned with a 10-story, 4-block long dazzling overhead light show and bustling with street performers, special events and free concerts. Then there's our shrimp cocktail. It's the original that started a Las Vegas tradition nearly 50 years ago - and it's still named "Best of Las Vegas" year after year! We offer charming, newly renovated rooms, a full-service casino and delicious food in Downtown Las Vegas' most historic and welcoming environment. If you've ever wondered what Las Vegas was like in the Roaring 20s or the Rat Pack era, then experience the Golden Gate Hotel & Casino - where Las Vegas started and the Fremont Street Experience begins! Guests must be at least 21 years of age to stay at the Golden Gate. Effective for stays on 8/19 and beyond,the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino will implement a $20 per night resort fee which will include free WI-FI, a $10 off voucher, per person, per night for any on the shows at the D (based on availability) and free local and toll-free calls.

Hotel Map

36.1717 -115.1463
Area served
Las Vegas - Downtown
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located in Downtown Las Vegas on Fremont Street and the corner of Main Street. Step out of the casino and right onto the Fremont Street Experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
All guest rooms have been recently renovated.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0 mi
  • La Bayou: 0 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.1 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.1 mi
  • California Club: 0.1 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.2 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.3 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.3 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.4 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.4 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.5 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.6 mi
  • The Western: 0.6 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 0.8 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.9 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 1 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 1 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 1.1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1.1 mi
  • Cashman Field: 1.1 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.6 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Du-pars Restaurant
Du-pars Restaurant - Open 24 hours a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck Gotti
Wisconsin dells, wi
Sep 27, 2014

Fremont street experience!!

The room was the perfect size for me n my wife, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the current events in the area. The best part about ur hotel is that it's right on Fremont st!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ol' Pop
London UK
Sep 22, 2014

A Good Experience

Had never stayed in the Downtown Area before, normally staying on 'The Strip' but have to say, was pleasantly surprised at the 'enjoyment' factor and the energy of the Freemont Street Area. Rowdy, exuberant fun- a good experience and cannot be beaten for value seekers. Also there were frequent buses available at $20 for a three day pass with 'The Strip' only thirty minutes away (if required).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need to book a car for a stay in Vegas, public transport is very effective.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travler1285
Las Vegas
Sep 3, 2014

Last minute

Needed a place last minute. Staff was very accommodating. Unique and older

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Court75
Omaha, Ne.
Aug 25, 2014

The Golden Gate

I was under the impression that I was staying at the Golden Nugget, this is what I had discussed with the gentleman making all of my arrangements. Somehow I was sadly mistaken. The Golden Gate has nothing to offer. It is a cracker jack box size of a room. The veiw outside my window was pipes. There's no pool, weight room, breakfast in the morning, etc. The worst vacation that I have ever had in my life. Highly disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Down town always has something going on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moejazzman
San Diego ca
Jul 7, 2014

you get what u pay for

The rooms are small ,can't open the restroom door all the way toilet right behind it it does offer free WiFi but kicks you out every time and when u leave it ask for you to log in to it ,room is clean the ask you for a 20 dollars for every night u stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20onblackplease
The Tables
Jun 25, 2014

Gooood Stuff

I like this place quite a bit. I like it before it was renovated though also. It's location cannot be beat and even though its tripled in price in the last 5 years, the shrimp cocktail is still the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew Traveler
Ft. Wayne, Indiana
Jun 16, 2014

Right on Fremont St.

The Golden Gate was right for what I was looking for. It was just at the end of Fremont St. and the price was right. Walk out the front door right into the Experience. The room was small but perfect since I just needed it for sleeping for 4 nights. It's not a fancy hotel on the strip but it is just right if you need a room on Fremont. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont St. Has it all. It has plenty of restaurants, bars,entertainment, gambling, people watching, all within a few blocks. Just a short taxi or bus ride from the strip. Walk a few blocks east of Fremont and check out Container Park. You will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
andres1894
georgia
Jun 9, 2014

it was not really good

the room was small, it didn't have neither microwave nor refrigerator, the rooms look old but in good maintenance, the hotel didn't have amenities, it is located in the old downtown just in front of the fremont street which is really cool, a lot of casinos, bars, and shows in friday nights; but if you want to go to the las vegas strip, that i'm pretty sure that you will want, you have to use some kind of transportation, because it is some miles far. also you have to pay 100 dollars, and they said that i would get the money back in 5 business day, and at the check out i had to pay 26 dollars of resort fee, and i had not idea that i had to pay for that. i recomend if you are a tourist, it is better to stay in a hotel in las vegas strip, it is more confortable and easy to visit the most popular places in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

O show, cirque du soleil

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q Travel
Burbank, CA
May 24, 2014

Great Deal!

Hotel was nice, with a unique history, service top notch, room designed in a modern style with some of the original 1906 fixtures still in tact, comfy bed and location right on the Fremont Street Experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$5 free slot play for hotel guests when signing up for their free 1906 Member card

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chatakat
Texas
Mar 25, 2014

Ok . . . but not great

Built im 1906 we expected issues. We had a remodeled room and the street noise wasn't a problem. The bathroom is extremely small and at night there was limited warm water. Mornings had plenty of hot. Tub was stained and sink had cracks. Nothing that "ruined" the room but when you tacked on the resort fee we could have stayed elsewhere for the same amount. If we couldn't get another room we would go back but will shop around. We knew it was small, old and dated so can't really complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freeont Street is itself pure entertainment but is NOT a place for kids of any age. We saw parents covering their kids eyes, saw teenagers gawking at pole dancers and preteen girls drinking in the moves made by those dancers. Come on folks - leave the kids home!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top