$15 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
599 reviews
TWO THUMBS UP.

my stay at the El Cortez was fanstic. My room was wonderful, clean, spacious. I enjoyed my stay and... See full review

  • Charles Super Happy
  • Aug 11, 2014
first time in vegas

Very clean, valet was great too, inexpensive...great ppl all over See full review

  • mocha74
  • Jul 25, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • Steakhouse, 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls and steakhouse fare in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop café. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking, a complimentary bottle of wine (two glasses if a single) upon purchase of dinner for two in the Flame Steakhouse, free entry into the daily slot tournament, and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
The Flame Steakhouse
The Flame's ambient lighting and live piano music provide a comfortable atmosphere in this classic setting offering the finest Prime Rib and New York steaks along with a variety of beef, chicken, and seafood entrees. The Flame's wine list will entice the oenophile with variety and pricing. The Flame is open from 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM Wednesday thru Sunday.
New Restaurants
Subwa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (599)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 599
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mocha74
elk grove, ca
Jul 25, 2014

first time in vegas

Very clean, valet was great too, inexpensive...great ppl all over

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The strip was awesome

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicatrt
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 21, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I'm born & raised in Vegas. I wanted to get a room that was closer to my mother-in-law who we were visiting, so I chose the El Cortez on Fremont street. The hotels on Fremont are older, so I was a bit worried about staying here. Wow, what a nice surprise the hotel room was very nice & exceeded my expectations. There isn't one bad thing I can say about the room. The price wasn't bad either. The workers at the reservation desk & Cafe Cortez were friendly. Of course if your staying on Fremont you have to go to the Fremont Experience, what a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The new party place in Vegas. Not good place to bring children under 18.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shan111
corvallis
Jul 20, 2014

Okay for nice trip

The room was clean but had a slight mothball smell. I would stay again if I was on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coaltal
Chicago
Jul 15, 2014

El Cortez Hotel

Great location near Fremont St. Hotel is dated but a bargain. If you just need a decent place to lay your head and don't care about glitz...this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nholb
san diego, ca
Jul 8, 2014

30th Stay

I normally love this hotel, but not this time! Was given a handicapped?? room and it stunk! Staff who fixed remote was the rudest I've ever encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Endobird
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect location for Fremont Experience

I thought the location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying Fremont and all it has to offer. The table limits are perfect for the El Cortez. Everything is very reasonable. My couple problems I had were that the check-in process was incredibly slow, even with 3 people checking people in. Also, the dealers weren't friendly. They seemed they were burnt out. I work in a casino as a floor supervisor and after seeing the way some of these dealers dealt and handled customers, I would have made sure these issues would have been addressed. Apart from those two situations, everything was great. You're maybe a mile walk from Pawn Stars. About 2 miles from the Stratosphere. And 3 from Circus Circus. If you're looking for a cheap ways to shave $ off your trip, look to stay at the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heart Attack Grill!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manron
Deming,NM
Jun 29, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of the strip,witch is fantastic at night. The room was large,and the chairs were big enough for a big person like me to sit in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeremiah EDC
Las Vegas Nevada
Jun 24, 2014

Won't be back

It could have been better, for the price I guess I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hennessy tavern

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vbcoachb
Westminster, CA
Jun 22, 2014

Perfect wayside stop while traveling

Needed an inexpensive stopover on a long motorcycle trip. Fit the bill perfectly! Clean comfortable room, (I'm 6'10" and the bed fit!) Easy to get to, free attached hotel parking. One block over from the "Freemont Experience" (Had never seen it before!) Friendly staff, reasonable restaurants. Will definitely stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmishelle
los angeles , ca
Jun 14, 2014

finally over

Check in was a headache .... Arrived at 10 did not get my room key Until 3pm. Valet was extremely rude sign posted read valet and hotel check in yet the guy demanded me to move my car. Then he sped off in someone else's car. (Exact reason I dont do valet they dont respect your car) hotel staff were not friendly except one person very nice lady. Room was not clean no covers or towels... I heard many great things about this hotel but i guess i came on there bad day and i probably wont come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown / fremont st.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search