$19 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
693 reviews
It was a great value for my money

I payed next to nothing and it was a good hotel, so I gave it 5 stars. See full review

  • wes
  • May 23, 2015
Yearly holiday!

Excellent value accommodation in the heart of Freemont Street. Having previously stayed at The... See full review

  • Dave K
  • Apr 13, 2015

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Property features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Nearby attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Policies
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 693
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua L.
Business
N/A
Jun 27, 2015

Great cheap Getaway hotel

This is a great, cost friendly hotel. I have stayed here probably 10 times, and it is our go-to hotel to stay in down town when cost is a factor. The slot machines are good, its close to fremont street, and the alcohol is cheap. The bad is that the wifi is a joke, and shouldnt even be considered an emenity, and there is no pool, which would be really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charles K.
Business
Westminster
Apr 6, 2015

Hidden Gem in Las Vegas

Travelling to Las Vegas for trade shows over 36 years, 3 visits at least a year, wow, what a gem! My overseas friend from Hong Kong suggested that I use this hotel. Wow, the best little gem in Las Vegas. Family and independently owned, I discovered where it is the oldest hotel in Vegas, in old town. All the amenities you need, I always rent a car in Vegas so the 8 minute ride to the convention center was no bother. nice small bars around, all great prices. Staff especially were helpful, took time to speak to you, answer questions. Ample parking. Will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Joe
Business
Tujunga
Mar 26, 2015

Incredible time Downtown

This hotel and the cabana suites are a terrific value. The area around the hotel is much safer than the old days and I felt comfortable walking at night. Staff was very nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raymond s.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Great for business stays

I stayed at the Cortez for 6 nights. My stay in the towers was very relaxing. Quiet. And Private. Cortez is close enough to Fremont street and yet away from honky Tonk Only issue with hotel is it did not have the entertainment or food specials that is says on its outside signage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Case King
Business
Huber Heights
Jan 18, 2015

Fifth time staying

If you like old town and Freemont St this hotel is one block away. The rooms were clean and nicely remodeled. The only warning for handicapped travelers is that the vintage or oldest part of the hotel has no elevators. All the new sections are fully handicap accessible and room descriptions on line clearly state if the room is in the vintage section or the newer cabana areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

One block from Freemont St about the only free attraction in Vegas. The area is well patrolled with shops casinos and restaurants.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael P.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

It's a quiet little spo

Great value for your money if you plan on staying downtown. Truly a fun little spot to stay in if you're only looking to get some rest. Would stay there again, we enjoyed our stay. Spacious rooms, decent amenities and an overall great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Book Early.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cassie T.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

El Cortez: Bed Bugs and Bad Service

What a nightmare, where to begin? I have bites all over me from bed bugs that were living in my hotel room. The staff, aside from one or two people, are uncaring and don't seem to know how to do their jobs. I asked the front desk for a couple of the complimentary bottles of water that are replenished when housekeeping comes in the room because I had the do not disturb sign on my door and missed them. The girl at the front desk, who claimed to be a supervisor and would not let me speak with her boss, rolled her eyes and made a big fuss over it, involving several people and taking up over an hour of my time. I did not end up getting water from them, which is ridiculous because a hotel is a SERVICE oriented business and it is absurd that I would have been treated so poorly over something so trivial. You would think that spending a couple hundred dollars on a hotel stay would entitle you to a bottle of water, or at least an apology if she was unable to accommodate my simple request. Had I sat at a machine and put a dollar in there would have been a drink person there in minutes handing me bottles of water. So ridiculous. Okay, so the bottled water thing was really upsetting, but seriously - the bed bugs? I now have a rash under my eyes that I wouldn't be surprised to find out was linked to these bites. I told the lady at checkout not to put someone in my room until they thoroughly cleaned it, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did. You couldn't pay me to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't bother, not worth it. Run away!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another Surface Interval
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 25, 2014

Great value!

The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. The Cafe in the hotel has great food at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe in the hotel has great food at a great price!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
.Tom
Business
New York, NY
Oct 20, 2014

Great Experience

I had a great experience at this motel. It is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
.Tom
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2014

Best Motel in Las Vegas

This is the best motel in all of Las Vegas, including the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top