$16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
582 reviews
first time in vegas

Very clean, valet was great too, inexpensive...great ppl all over See full review

  • mocha74
  • Jul 25, 2014
Pleasantly Surprised

I'm born & raised in Vegas. I wanted to get a room that was closer to my mother-in-law who we were... See full review

  • Alicatrt
  • Jul 21, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • Steakhouse, 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls and steakhouse fare in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop café. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking, a complimentary bottle of wine (two glasses if a single) upon purchase of dinner for two in the Flame Steakhouse, free entry into the daily slot tournament, and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
The Flame Steakhouse
The Flame's ambient lighting and live piano music provide a comfortable atmosphere in this classic setting offering the finest Prime Rib and New York steaks along with a variety of beef, chicken, and seafood entrees. The Flame's wine list will entice the oenophile with variety and pricing. The Flame is open from 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM Wednesday thru Sunday.
New Restaurants
Subwa

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (582)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
582 out of 582
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smarter and wiser NOW!!
San Diego, CA
Feb 16, 2011

You get what you pay for

Drive up to Hotel is very nice. Staff is very nice as well. It ends there. No heat in the room. Had to call the staff to fix it more than once. Was charged for a phone call I did not make. [*] The clients who frequent there are also "seedy" at best. People yelling and screaming in the halls all night long. Very LOW RENT district type behavior. Anyone who knows Vegas grimaced when I said I had a reservation here. They were right. They renovated the rooms but needed to renovate the lobby , clients, and neighborhood as well. OMG what an absolute "hole in the wall" place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware, Not close to the strip, or anything for tourists other than seedy people who are laying in the street in a really bad part of town.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
myself50
berwick,pa
Mar 12, 2013

never stay there again

the staff was very rude when you needed help. i had to suffer with so much pain because i could not get any help from the staff. was greatful for the room but was treated like bad. i even saved them alot but not telling them i injured myself in their hotel but now i wish i didn't because of their ruddness. also ruined my anniversary. what a way to celebrate 20 years of marriage. thanks for the (no) mermories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nothing except don't go there

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brennan Miller
Omaha, NE, USA
Nov 9, 2011

El cortez

Vintage room was horrible. Room was cold, and the bathrooms were disgusting. No Elevator to rooms, had to carry luggage up stairs.. Horrible ventilation from cigarette smoke throughout the whole hotel.. I would never stay there again and would never recommend it. Overall bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 12, 2008

Slow to respond

The place looks nice from the outside, where most of the work is being done to attract, but since I had arrived late Monday night to room, I heard a noise through the night that I felt was annoying, (it souonded likeother rooms water running all different times of the night, upon inspection of sounds during the day I realized it was my room and the toilet was filling and draining on it's own). I asked a cleaning lady about it and she said to notify maintenance? Well at the end of the hall was a man with a radio, i asked if he was maintenance and he stated yes and called soemone on the radio about my room number and the problem, that night the problem still existed, matter of fact it was still there and I even told them how to fix the bad flapper to correct this problem, the hotel didn't seem to care, from the response I received from the desk girl. If you don't need a sound nights sleep then stay here, but if you wnat to be able to sleep stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont Street and the whole light show experience is but a half block away.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brainerd, MN
May 2, 2007

bad part of town

the area was so bad we did not stay at this hotel. we were scared to leave the car in the parking ramp, the ramp, casino area was filthy. graffitti and vagrants were everywere. the whole area was tore up with construction. very very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada
Jul 29, 2010

Terrible

Staff screwed up repeatedly and blamed the customers for it. Did not compensate for damages. They try to make you pay double by charging you during check-in and when you check-out. Keep your lawyer on speed dial!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIVERSIDE,CA
Aug 1, 2010

NO ROOM AT THE INN,[...]

AFTER DRIVING 12 HOURS FROM MONTANA AND HAVING ALL OUR LUGGAGE UNLOADED FROM OUR VEHICLE AND STANDING IN LINE FOR 30 MINUTES TO CHECK IN, WE FIND OUT THE HOTEL IS OVER BOOKED, [...] WE ARE OFFERED A STAY AT THE SUPER 8 MOTEL ACROSS THE STREET(IF I WANTED TO STAY AT SUPUER 8 I WOULD HAVE BOOKED SUPER 8)[...] DECIDED TO JUST FINISH THE VACATION 2 DAYS EARLY AND DRIVE 3 PLUS HOURS HOME. AS WE DROVE SOUTH ON THE STRIP TO HEAD OUT OF TOWN (7:30 PM) A SIGN ON THE MANDALAY BAY MARQUE SHOWED ROOMS AVAILIBLE, SO WE CHECKED. $189 A NIGHT AND WE WERE IN. ENJOYED THE LAST 2 DAYS OF OUR TRIP AND MADE IT HOME SAFELY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

CHECK ALL ACCOMENDATIONS WITH THE HOTEL BEFORE ARRIVING AND MAKE SURE THEY HAVE ROOMS.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShldHaveStayedAtTropicana
Dallas, TX
Aug 1, 2012

Rude Staff

Staff on check-out was rude. Had noise problems with my room which only allowed me to get an hour of sleep my first night, and the hotel staff was not very helpful in resolving the problem. They even wanted to charge me to move me to another room! The rooms (both low-end and Cabana) were tiny, no room to move around, much less sit (except on the bed...). The wall color in the Cabana was an atrocious puke green. Plus, you have to walk across a busy main street to get to the Cabana from the Hotel, which is really exciting when drunk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Golden Nugget has an excellent seafood buffet for almost half the cost of the other buffets!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Aug 10, 2011

Very Disappointed : (

We went to a convention, the pictures shown are nothing at all like the hotel and we had problems checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
koz28044
lima, ohio
Aug 26, 2012

it sucks

we could not even use our room. we did not take credit card and they would not let us do a cash security deposit. 3 years ago i stayed at the palazzo / a much nicer top of the line hotel and only needed a $100 security deposit cash. i want my room money returned. we had to stay at a sleeze bag hotel that was filthy. we were up 30 some hours before we got a room wandering around downtown with our suitcases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search