$21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
633 reviews
Yearly holiday!

Excellent value accommodation in the heart of Freemont Street. Having previously stayed at The... See full review

  • Dave K
  • Apr 13, 2015
Hidden Gem in Las Vegas

Travelling to Las Vegas for trade shows over 36 years, 3 visits at least a year, wow, what a... See full review

  • Charles K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 633
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kingsterling21
Business
pomona, ca
Feb 6, 2014

Good times

Everything was grate. I'll visit this hotel agen. its grate to bring the family. we all had a lot of fun. i will come back to this hotel. i won a lot of money when i was there. it was even better because it was my birthday weekend. all in all it a grate place to stay for a low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You can win big at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Panguitch, UT
Aug 11, 2008

Very Friendly Hotel

The El Cortez Hotel was very comfortable, large rooms, desk w/table & chairs, 2 Q. beds, couch w/table. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area. It is downtown Las Vegas, & close to everything. We had a great time, the food was really good & we enjoyed it, and will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the downtown Las Vegas area on Fremont Street with the Fremont Street Experience, Lots of Casinos & Dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erric
Business
Dayton, OH
Dec 3, 2007

Very Comfortable and friendly

The El Cortez was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a seperat couch with view of downtown. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good -- it was vert easy to manuver throughout downtown Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The casino downstairs was very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 21, 2008

Old school Las Vegas

The El Cortez is a great value for the dollar. The single deck blackjack is still full pay and combine this with the royal match side bet makes this game one of the best if not the best to be found in Las Vegas today!We stayed in the tower queen room. The room is well maintained and well furnished. This casinio and hotel is not geared for a family vacation but for adults.The gaming is overall better here than on freemont. The atmosphere is that of the stepping back in time to the early 1960's. Do Not worry about it being too smokey in the casino both myself and my daughter are nonsmokers and had no problem what so ever.We stayed her for 5 nights and would recomend it to others highly. Your best bet is to rent a car during your stay for easy acesss to the strip or any where else you might want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spirit40rt
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

1st Las Vegas Casino lives UP to this TITLE.

Cafe is closed only 4am to 5:30 am for cleaning. Otherwise a 24 hour palace of adventure. Some slots such as "Fishing with an actual fishing pole" is extremely addictive, and you have to keep a pretty GQQD eye on your bankroll, as it can deplete quite quickly with it's frequent but meager payouts, but it is GREAT FUN. They offer one of those "What would you do for a KLONDIKE BAR" for any casino jackpot of over $25. However, you can always go across the street from the casino to the DELI (and buy one there for $2.99 and bring it back into the casino :~)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Binion Horseshoe Casino gives away the BEST "Free color photo with ONE MILLION USA dollars" making it MY #1 Las Vegas memory keepsake. It takes less than a minute total. BUT involves 3 steps. #1 Play the outside Free Binion Slot; #2 Play the Free inside Binion slot (50 feet straight into casino); #3 Take ALL the tickets that are handed to you and give them ALL to the Free Binion photo girl (She'll give YOU back ALL, but one). However one HUGE SUPER BIG hint is: if in a group of 2 to 12 people. Make sure everybody plays the slot (Let them know it truly take only 60 seconds ALL total) As you do group shots...insist that you have a different pose of the group for each member of the group that played the slot. OTHERWISE the casino will make one shot photo and duplicate it 2 to 12 times (You want ALL of those different poses, so you can scan and send out ALL the variety of FUN poses that the group created making this MOST MEMORABLE memorabilia of your trip to Las Vegas!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Apr 14, 2008

Great for singles.

The El Cortez is a great choice for the budget-minded traveller. The rooms are very clean and spacious, although the restrooms are very cramped. The location is conveniently located near Fremont Street and about an hour walk from the Strip for brave souls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The casino in the El Cortez is great for low limit tables and friendly dealers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison
May 25, 2008

Small Town Feel, Big City Service

This was my second stay @ The El Cortez. I met my parents there since we flew in and out of Vegas for a nine day Utah National Park and Grand Canyon trip. I arrived our first night @ 1 am and was greeted warmly. The bellmen, valets and all staff were more than helpful. My parents had eaten that evening @ Roberta's Restaurant and raved about the food, the attentive service, as well as the reasonable prices. On our return trip we were close to exhausted after our week of National Parks, but were made to feel so welcome and very well taken care of. Our bellman even went and took care of a room change for us @ check in after a minor mix up on our room. We were treated to a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal @ Roberta's that evening. We enjoyed a great, generous meal with the same servers my parents had their previous trip. We also received books with gaming coupons that I used the next day after enjoying an extra hour as I requested a delayed checkout without a question. I've read and heard some less than favorable reviews about downtown accomodations concerning safety/quality and our experiences @ The El Cortez couldn't have been better. Don't buy into the hype about the strip. I can do without the chaos and crazy prices, nonstop traffic, noise, and mania. Give me The El Cortez any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Dec 14, 2007

great value, very clean!

great value, very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

Las Vegas Vacation

The El Cortez was very comfortable, the tower room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and a chair and love seat. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes. The location was very good as it was really only one short block from the Fremont Steet Light Experience and there were restaurants very close as well as the ones on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus stop is a short walk and you can ride the bus to the strip if you desire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Carrington
Business
San Bernardino,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Awesome Getaway

I had never stayed in Downtown Vegas before. The El Cortez was really cool. The room was huge, we had an excellent view from the 8th floor facing Las Vegas blvd. The staff was friendly. I did get the Fremont Experience, more than once it was so neat. Free concerts, vendors, impersonators, I liked way better than staying in the newer casinos. We stayed at the stratosphere the year before last and it was ok. But man the El Cortez was So much better than any other place I stayed in Vegas. Cheaper, Cleaner, more friendly. It's not a busy as the strip, you can do more and not feel closterfobic. There is a cool coffee shop across the street, must see their record collection.I had a great time.We stayed for 6 night and enjoyed myself a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to Down Town Vegas and walk around. If you go to a time share..or are asked to go to one. Look for [...], he was awesome we got 8 free tickets and all kinds of stuff. He really blessed us and saved us some money.Plus Casino hop all around for fun book, which saves you money on food and drink..Plus sign up for all the players clubs, you get free stuff at most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top