$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
841 reviews
Wedding Anniversary

We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of the strip,witch is fantastic at night. The room was... See full review

  • manron
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Stay

Everything was perfect.would recommend this hotel to anyone. See full review

  • Klondike Mike
  • Jun 27, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • Steakhouse, 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls and steakhouse fare in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop café. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking, a complimentary bottle of wine (two glasses if a single) upon purchase of dinner for two in the Flame Steakhouse, free entry into the daily slot tournament, and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
The Flame Steakhouse
The Flame's ambient lighting and live piano music provide a comfortable atmosphere in this classic setting offering the finest Prime Rib and New York steaks along with a variety of beef, chicken, and seafood entrees. The Flame's wine list will entice the oenophile with variety and pricing. The Flame is open from 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM Wednesday thru Sunday.
New Restaurants
Subwa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (841)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
841 out of 841
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Apr 14, 2008

Great for singles.

The El Cortez is a great choice for the budget-minded traveller. The rooms are very clean and spacious, although the restrooms are very cramped. The location is conveniently located near Fremont Street and about an hour walk from the Strip for brave souls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The casino in the El Cortez is great for low limit tables and friendly dealers.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jun 20, 2007

Old Vegas with class

The El Cortez displayed lots of class form check in till checkout. The room did not have an iron and ironing board, but one was delivered immediately when i requested it. The bathroom was a bit small, but the view of the strip from the 6th floor tower room was perfect.The one block walk to Fremont St. was pretty easy and safe. Downtown is being spruced up pretty good. I'd stay at the El Cortez again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetotravel12
Charleston
Jun 10, 2014

Love this place

I have nothing but good things to say. I asked to be moved to a lower priced room because I like the location of it better. The staff was great, the room was great. The location of the hotel is good. Fremont street is expanding. El Cortez used to be outside the range of things on Fremont, but not so much anymore. I will return. Look, if you are going and want a very fancy room with a gorgeous view of the Las Vegas strip at night, then this probably isn't for you. If you are there to party in the downtown area and have a lot to see within walking distance, I'd recommend this every time. Evelyn at the front desk is awesome too.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you play Blackjack, try the video game in the El Cortez, It has $1.00 minimums, allows you to surrender and is easy to follow. If you like to play but don't like a $5.00 table or are inexperienced and want to play at a slower speed, try the video.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 2, 2007

Great for the money

We stayed Friday,Saturday,Sunday and Monday. We were so happy with the |El Cortez that we went back that weekend of October 7th and stayed that Sunday and Monday night again. We stayed in three different rooms in three different locations and they were all great. However we really enjoyed the Tower room. The location was great to see the strip and the light show without going far. Just a few blocks. I would stay again. All the rooms had nice furniture and were very roomy The Tower room has a sitting area also. Adequate space for hanging clothes in all the rooms and they all provided suitcase stands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown strip was just a short walk down the street

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Egg Sis
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Charmed

Visiting El Cortez is an experience you would picture straight out of an old classic movie. My boyfriend and I were impressed by the style and vintage vibes that radiated out of this "2 star" goldmine. Our room was on the second floor; which was easily reached by foot up a flight of stairs that is fashioned in a Hollywood glamor decor (seriously rad). Our room was not your typical Vegas hotel room! Beyond the main room was a large enclosed balcony space with pop-out windows that let you see and feel the weather and also allow visual entertainment of the street drunks strolling toward downtown Fremont. El Cortez is more than worth the price and only a small way from the strip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manron
Deming,NM
Jun 29, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of the strip,witch is fantastic at night. The room was large,and the chairs were big enough for a big person like me to sit in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 13, 2009

Home Away From Home

I went for a personal get away. My stay was excellent from check-in to check-out. All the staff treated me like they already knew me. The cleanliness was immaculate. I go to get breakfast from McDonald's (located at a short walk also) and when I return My room looks like I'm checking in for the first time every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Not only does the El Cortez have the best and friendly dealers, as well as the lowest entry bet levels with the best odds, but just a short walk to the next corner and you have the Duece, which is the bus that runs up and down THE STRIP and back, all night for $3 a trip.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 26, 2007

Nice casino layout, friendly bartenders, friendly dealers at the tables

Very nicely surprised. Had read previous reviews stating this hotel was a bit smokey and needing better air circulation. While my wife and I were there, the hotel was in the process of replacing all the carpet on the main floor which removed nearly all of the old smoke smell from the that level. By the time we checked out, three days later, you couldn't tell if someone had been smoking or not! Very friendly staff for the most part. Did run into one, I say one, old foggie at the customer service desk but, he was the only pimple on the place. Our room was clean and comfortable. I am looking forward to staying at the El Cortez again and very soon! Nice decor, very original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Street Experience is a short walk from the hotel, approximately two blocks. Lots to do, lots of dining options and loads of entertainment.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honeoye Falls, NY
Aug 8, 2008

Good

Very nice place to stay.The room was always clean, all fixtures worked, restock of towels and shampoo, cheap gambling, food 24 hours at a resonable price, chinese buffet, and just one block from the other casinos. The staff were polite and wanted to help out, no problems at all and we stayed there 5 days. I would highly recommend this property. The only downside i could see at night it may be a bit scary for older folks walking back to the hotel, but we had no problems, oh yeah it was a strong smoke smell but that is normal in vegas and my cigars overpowerd it anyway. This is truly old vegas with no circuses, dances or cute lions, just gambling, drinking, and woman. verall rating: 9.5. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1 block from all downtown. The el cortez is at one end and you can walk to the other end ( The Plaza ). Best buffets and i know we ate them everyday twice a day.. Main street station and Golden Nugget. Cheapest for decent food is at the Plaza!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Chiller
Las Vegas
Apr 3, 2010

Great Hotel Service.

Had a great stay, problem with room lock and engineer had to repair. manager of hotel john commped me extra day. hotel desk did a great job . [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont Experiance a half block away. deli across the street. more restrants accross the street.

Back to menu Return to top