$19 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
690 out of 690
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 9, 2007

Awesome value

You will totally get your money's worth at this hotel. Especially with the Fun Book that they give you when you check-in, you will be able to get a free breakfast, a free BlackJack play, a free slot play for $5, and a free Keno play. The room is pretty clean. The gambling is cheap here too. It has a dollar Roulettes and five dollar BlackJack tables. I was very satisfied with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Street light show at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 17, 2008

good choice

The El Cortez was over all a good choice. I was a little worried about the location but was over all satisfied. The room was smaller than I expected but still not bad. The only problem we had with the room was the shower didnt seem to of been cleaned recently. There was a lot of dirt in the tub as well as on the counters in the shower. The restraunt wasnt so nice. We were treated very badly and the servers were very rude and didnt seem to speak english. The hotel staff was very friendly and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

it was about a 15min drive to the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 30, 2008

Friendly, Clean and Great Value

The El Cortez was a very comfortable clean and friendly staffed property. From the moment of arrival the staff was great. The room was well appointed with lots of storage space, desk and a small seating area with a great view. The coffee shop & main resturant had very good food and service. It is located very near the Freemont Experience and other resturants and casinos and very accessible to Interstate 95.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont Street Experience and additional casinos and resturants are within a relatively short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 17, 2008

Reasonable

Price is right! Walking distance to Freemont Experience. Staff is very nice. Room service was prompt. Room very clean. I will be back. Food was okay. There are many other places to eat nearby so I won't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 27, 2008

very friendly

everytime i go to vegas i will alwayw stay there the employees are great and they met my every need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Great value for the money

This hotel was not one of the luxury hotels...but I didn't pay the money for a luxury hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and it was a great value for the money. We enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont street was a few feet away and there is anything you want there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 21, 2007

Very Comfortable

The El Cortez was very comfortable for the price I paid. I liked that there was a sitting area in the room and that the hotel had a casino in it. It was only a hop skip and a jump away form the Fremont experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Dec 18, 2010

cool hotel

Nice classically styled room. Good downtown location. Bargain and no service, resort fee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the WAX bus from the airport to downtown. Only $2.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honeoye Falls, NY
Aug 8, 2008

Good

Very nice place to stay.The room was always clean, all fixtures worked, restock of towels and shampoo, cheap gambling, food 24 hours at a resonable price, chinese buffet, and just one block from the other casinos. The staff were polite and wanted to help out, no problems at all and we stayed there 5 days. I would highly recommend this property. The only downside i could see at night it may be a bit scary for older folks walking back to the hotel, but we had no problems, oh yeah it was a strong smoke smell but that is normal in vegas and my cigars overpowerd it anyway. This is truly old vegas with no circuses, dances or cute lions, just gambling, drinking, and woman. verall rating: 9.5. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1 block from all downtown. The el cortez is at one end and you can walk to the other end ( The Plaza ). Best buffets and i know we ate them everyday twice a day.. Main street station and Golden Nugget. Cheapest for decent food is at the Plaza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winslow, AZ
Mar 3, 2009

Hidden Jewel

My wife and I agree that our stay at El Cortez was a stunning surpise and one of our most pleasant Vegas experiences. Its high visibility and easy on/off access from the freeway should be a plus for anyone unfamiliar with the city, though its location one block north of the Freemont experience is a far cry from the strip scene. Our room was upgraded at check-in, which made our already economically priced reservation all the more a bargain. Our room was very spacious, handsomely furnished, and extraordinarily quiet. We were struck by the easy professionalism of each and every staff member we encountered, from the personnel at check-in, to restaurant service, gift shop employeees; the list goes on. I do not recommend this hotel as a first Vegas experience. However, for the frequent traveler to Vegas who appreciates being away from the jostling crowds of the strip at the close of the day, El Cortez is as good as it gets. For my wife and I, El Cortez will henceforth be our first choice in reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top