$16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
605 reviews
Clean, quiet and perfect location

Right at the beginning of Fremont St, El Cortez offers great gaming and quiet, clean and affordable... See full review

  • CCandcw
  • Nov 30, 2014
Good value

The room was fine. Friendly staff. Restaurant was great value. Looking forward to next trip here. See full review

  • frank46
  • Nov 25, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (605)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
605 out of 605
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Carrington
Business
San Bernardino,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Awesome Getaway

I had never stayed in Downtown Vegas before. The El Cortez was really cool. The room was huge, we had an excellent view from the 8th floor facing Las Vegas blvd. The staff was friendly. I did get the Fremont Experience, more than once it was so neat. Free concerts, vendors, impersonators, I liked way better than staying in the newer casinos. We stayed at the stratosphere the year before last and it was ok. But man the El Cortez was So much better than any other place I stayed in Vegas. Cheaper, Cleaner, more friendly. It's not a busy as the strip, you can do more and not feel closterfobic. There is a cool coffee shop across the street, must see their record collection.I had a great time.We stayed for 6 night and enjoyed myself a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to Down Town Vegas and walk around. If you go to a time share..or are asked to go to one. Look for [...], he was awesome we got 8 free tickets and all kinds of stuff. He really blessed us and saved us some money.Plus Casino hop all around for fun book, which saves you money on food and drink..Plus sign up for all the players clubs, you get free stuff at most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

Las Vegas Vacation

The El Cortez was very comfortable, the tower room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and a chair and love seat. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes. The location was very good as it was really only one short block from the Fremont Steet Light Experience and there were restaurants very close as well as the ones on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus stop is a short walk and you can ride the bus to the strip if you desire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 2, 2007

GREAT GETAWAY, VERY CASUAL, FRIENDLY!

This was our first trip to Vegas and will ALWAYS stay at the El Cortez...Wonderful staff, very friendly felt just like family. We went to the strip to the bigger & better hotels & casinos... too much traffic & lost our butts on the slots! At the end of the day, came back hometo the El Cortez & won our money back! The slots are great at El Cortez, rooms clean and comfortable, great view. it is in old Vegas downtown, a few rougher streets, but still wonderful time on Fremont street. Would recommend to all. Can't wait to visit it again, Thanks El Cortez!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

short walk from Fremont street casinos, and casino in hotel is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fremont fanatic
Business
Eugene,OR
Jul 29, 2010

Fremont Fanatic

The Tower rooms are larger and as nice as any in Vegas.For what it is worth, there are more security guards in and on the property than cocktail waitressess. There is no pool, but the room rate more than makes up for it. Highly recommend !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cafe food -- try sharing the fajitas -two cannot finish and the Rib Eye steak -- is the absolute finest ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2007

very helpful

My room at the El Cortez was very clean. The maid was very friendly and helpful. The registration desk informed me of several options forservices. The staff in and out of the casino were very good hosts. I have enjoyed my stay, and would use this hotel again in the future. The only thing that I would change about the room is the ws area. I think the sink area should have a door for privatcy. I like that the hotel was close to the public trangsportation terminal, this made it easy to travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jilian's Hotel was next to El Cortez, I found entertainment that was not casino related here. In this hotel I found a movie theatre, bowling alley, and game room. All a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 12, 2007

An Excellent Las Vegas Experience

Have stayed at the El Cortez a number of times over the past several years. The tower rooms are probably as nice as any in the downtown area. The coffee shop is always open and the food, although not spectacular, meets most of my expectactions. Overall a nice mix of locals as well as those from out of town. The staff is down to earth and pleasant. It appears that the property renovations are now in their final stages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Fremont Experience is 2 blocks from the hotel and the Deuce (city bus) to the strip stops 1 block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Nothing super fancy, but., a great deal and a clean comfortable room.

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times before and have only stayed in the Vintage rooms and the Pavilion rooms. The rooms at this hotel have been recently renovated within the past couple years and you can get some great deals here. The rooms are updated and the beds are comfortable. Once again I am not speaking of the Tower Rooms as I have never stayed in them. The bathrooms are a bit small, but, what do you need them for? If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep at a great value, this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

Wiil return

I had a great stay at El Cortez. My friend had a room a the San Francisco Hotel down the street from me. My room was much nicer. Yes... Cigarette smell was bad... but it seemed to be bad anywhere I went in Vegas except the high end hotels on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Deuce. The Deuce bus runs up and down the strip every 6 minutes. Only 5 bucks for 24 hours! What a deal! The Deuce stops a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Chiller
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 3, 2010

Great Hotel Service.

Had a great stay, problem with room lock and engineer had to repair. manager of hotel john commped me extra day. hotel desk did a great job . [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont Experiance a half block away. deli across the street. more restrants accross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 19, 2008

My review of El Cortez Hotel & Casino

The El Cortez was a most deliightful surprise since I never expected to find accommodations that were so very satisfrying and reaswonable. Previous experience in getting Vegas accommodations was somewhat disappointing since I expected more than I got. Definitely on any return trip and stay over I shall seek firstr the El Cortez and HOPE. Not really in the city long enough to check out the environment and surroundings. Another time,perhaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top