$15 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Egg Sis
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Charmed

Visiting El Cortez is an experience you would picture straight out of an old classic movie. My boyfriend and I were impressed by the style and vintage vibes that radiated out of this "2 star" goldmine. Our room was on the second floor; which was easily reached by foot up a flight of stairs that is fashioned in a Hollywood glamor decor (seriously rad). Our room was not your typical Vegas hotel room! Beyond the main room was a large enclosed balcony space with pop-out windows that let you see and feel the weather and also allow visual entertainment of the street drunks strolling toward downtown Fremont. El Cortez is more than worth the price and only a small way from the strip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Great Value and Location

The El Cortez was a great bargain for staying in Vegas during the weekend. Nice downtown location. Some will tell you being one block from Fremont Street Experience is a little scary but my wife and I did not encounter any problems day or night. Good budget slots and table games in the casino and we both like casino hopping which is much easier downtown. We stayed in a Tower room which was a good size with a nice sitting area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison
May 25, 2008

Small Town Feel, Big City Service

This was my second stay @ The El Cortez. I met my parents there since we flew in and out of Vegas for a nine day Utah National Park and Grand Canyon trip. I arrived our first night @ 1 am and was greeted warmly. The bellmen, valets and all staff were more than helpful. My parents had eaten that evening @ Roberta's Restaurant and raved about the food, the attentive service, as well as the reasonable prices. On our return trip we were close to exhausted after our week of National Parks, but were made to feel so welcome and very well taken care of. Our bellman even went and took care of a room change for us @ check in after a minor mix up on our room. We were treated to a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal @ Roberta's that evening. We enjoyed a great, generous meal with the same servers my parents had their previous trip. We also received books with gaming coupons that I used the next day after enjoying an extra hour as I requested a delayed checkout without a question. I've read and heard some less than favorable reviews about downtown accomodations concerning safety/quality and our experiences @ The El Cortez couldn't have been better. Don't buy into the hype about the strip. I can do without the chaos and crazy prices, nonstop traffic, noise, and mania. Give me The El Cortez any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC Ukester
Business
Kansas City
May 6, 2011

Great place great deal

Played 5c poker machines Used the freebies in the funbook Walked 1/2 hour each day Ate pizza at little shop 1/2 block away Bought cheap soda pop at dollar store next door Wish they had free WiFi, clipped $5 at El Cortez Kiosk to get my SouthwestAir boarding pass 24 hours previous to departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ Bound
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 11, 2010

I'm Pretty Tired. I'm Going Home Now.

The 4th of July weekend was a blast. I did the usual stuff like watch the fireworks and had BBQ plus saw the fountains at the Bellagio, the free concerts and Viva Vision shows on Fremont Street plus celebrated our freedom with tens of thousands of my fellow Americans and friends from around the world. A clean and comfortable room was available at the El Cortez at a great rate which freed up holiday cash so I could do more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

At Flamingo and Eastern there is a buffet called Buffet@Asia. Lunch is $9 drinks included. I like it maybe you will too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stuttgart, *
Oct 29, 2008

ecellent value

The tower rooms at the El Cortez are large, well appointed and clean. They include sofa, tea table roll top desk and a large flat screen TV. There are only two elevators for 15 floors so sometimes there is a rather long wait. The restaurant, Roberta's, is in my opinion the best in the downtown area. This is a downtown hotel so don't expect the glitz of the strip. But if you are satisfied with a friendly fun-atmosphere, you will like the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every hour on the hour in the evening there is a showing of the Fremont street experience. Don't miss it. On weekends there is an open air rock concert. There is a lot going on evenings on the Fremont street pedestrian walkway. And everything is free!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 22, 2007

Confortable beds

We stayed at the El Cortez Casino and Hotel for 3 nights. It is located a block from the Fremont Street Experience where most of the downtown casinos are located. Service was good, the room large and the beds very comfortable (something I almost never say). The bathroom tub/shower was shorter than it should be (if you have a husband over 6 ft.) which was a disappointment considering the Tower rooms were recently renovated. Amenities in the room were good and the window sitting area with a small couch was a nice touch for the price. Service was prompt and the casino small enough to navigate easily. There are several restaurants (we ate breakfast there daily) and had great ice cream sundaes one evening........ A free shuttle is provided to go to the airport on every day except Saturdays but the bell hop ordered us transportation (a different shuttle) and it arrived on time for our departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katkc
Business
Arizona
Dec 11, 2010

Great stay at Elco

Our 1st stay at EL Cortez and it was wonderful. The staff are freindly and attentive. The Cafe is yummy. The rooms are large by downtown standards. The beds were comfy and we had a perfect view of the strip. 2-4-1 martinis every night! And the Flame has terrific food (try the garbage salad, NY strip, and the mac n cheese!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

ACG coupon for Flame and 2-4-1 martinis every day. Also great value and food at Cafe Cortez

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Jul 30, 2007

My Trip

It was great. Room was nice and clean. I would just add a hair dryer for the women and a swimming pool. Overall friendly staff and a great hotel. Love the old-style rooms too. I'll recommend it to my teacher friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything. Casinos, restaurants, walgreens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,Tx.
Jul 25, 2011

Great for the price( five stars)

When we first checked in, we asked for a room closer to the elevator on the top floor. A very friendly check in clerk with long blond nice hair took care of us nicely. Sophia,the room cleaning lady, was the best. She went out of her way to take care of us(I hope you pay her well).She is an asset to your great service. The only problem I had was when I requested an Iron and board, I never received it from the Room attendants office, even though she said she would deliver one. We will be back,beside that one person dropping the ball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top